Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed
This is a very helpful but quite technical document for a complete newbie like me to anything motor vehicle related. It has been good in for seeing how things should work.
Published on 16 Sep 2011 by me

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VW 1600 Transporter
This manual is concise so you need a good mechanical back ground to get the best use of it.
Published on 29 Nov 2008 by Bob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VW 1600 Transporter, 29 Nov 2008
This review is from: Volkswagen 1600 Transporter Owner's Workshop Manual (Service & repair manuals) (Paperback)
This manual is concise so you need a good mechanical back ground to get the best use of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is what it is, 27 Mar 2013
By 
Deanna1 (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volkswagen 1600 Transporter Owner's Workshop Manual (Service & repair manuals) (Paperback)
Content wise it was as expected however the quality of the manual is poor. It feels like it's been done on recycled paper (not a problem as such) and is a bit delicate. The cover is very thin and flimsy. I'd recommend photocopying the bits you really want to use whilst working on your Van as I don't think this book could take much handling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in the Quality of this Workshop Manual, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volkswagen 1600 Transporter Owner's Workshop Manual (Service & repair manuals) (Paperback)
I have not purchased a Haynes Workshop Manual for a few years but if this is an example of the current quality of them I will not be purchasing anymore.The manuals previously puchased were for cars from the 70's, 80's & 90's. In those days as an engineering apprentice and later a toolmaker I always felt that it was important to have the correct manual for any car I owned. This continued through the 80's & 90's until I owned cars on which home maintenance was virtually unecessary or impossible. This manual is printed on poor quality paper consequently the photgraphs and diagrams (in particular the wiring diagrams)are extremely difficult to see or follow. The soft cover has already curled almost back on itself after only a couple of days use. Perhaps hard back versions are still available, if they are then this would help the manual to at least be easier to handle with slightly greasy fingers. I even purchased a Haynes plastic wallet type protective sleeve from Halfords to protect it. This however will not improve the quality of the pages, photographs and diagrams which are the main reason we buy these manuals.Fortunately there are now better quality manuals available for most vehicles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: Volkswagen 1600 Transporter Owner's Workshop Manual (Service & repair manuals) (Paperback)
This is a very helpful but quite technical document for a complete newbie like me to anything motor vehicle related. It has been good in for seeing how things should work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Aug 2011
This review is from: Volkswagen 1600 Transporter Owner's Workshop Manual (Service & repair manuals) (Paperback)
To say my knowledge of mechanics is basic is an over statement but I find this book an excellent guide. It is very clear and concise and very easy to follow.
I would recommend it to anyone who wants to save money on those huge garage bills that inevitably come with owining a classic vehicle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be listed under Mystery., 17 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volkswagen 1600 Transporter Owner's Workshop Manual (Service & repair manuals) (Paperback)
Aha, the Haynes book of lies. Own a car, you're a driver, own the corresponding Haynes manual and you are a home mechanic - even if your exact model and year isn't featured - at all. I most enjoy the infuriating over simplification - Step 1 remove engine, Step 2 remove plastic cover, step 3 locate fuse, step 4 use long-nosed pliers to remove fuse, step 5 replace fuse, step 6 replace plastic cover, step 7 replace engine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a proper Haynes manual, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volkswagen 1600 Transporter Owner's Workshop Manual (Service & repair manuals) (Paperback)
This a cheap version of what I have had in the past and it didn't help with the clutch cable replacement at all OR the replacement of speedo cable - I recommend going to YouTube instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars haynes manual for bay vw, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volkswagen 1600 Transporter Owner's Workshop Manual (Service & repair manuals) (Paperback)
This book is great for direction but I will say it is the american version for which we didn't realise at the time of buying, so some of the words are for the American reader. The quality leaves a bit to be desired as the paper is too thin almost like baking paper in thickness so I would imagine if you were using this a lot it probably wouldn't last. For the careful occasional hobbyist it is informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volkswagen 1600 Transporter Owner's Workshop Manual (Service & repair manuals) (Paperback)
a must for my travels into europe, I am fast becoming the mechanic with this guide, and if I cant manage the job, at least I have a guide for whoever comes to my assistance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you need this if you have one!, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volkswagen 1600 Transporter Owner's Workshop Manual (Service & repair manuals) (Paperback)
You need to know your way round a car to get your head round this, but if you do, its invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Volkswagen 1600 Transporter Owner's Workshop Manual (Service & repair manuals)
£18.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews