Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing and quite wonderfull
I purchased this book after reading George Daniels fascinating obituary. I knew nothing about Mr Daniels before this so after some quick research on the internet this book seemed to be the one to read.

I came to this book with no watch knowledge but a large amount on engineering curiosity. My overriding feeling reading this book is the insanity needed to...
Published 19 months ago by M. P. Moy

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caution required
The book assumes considerable familiarity with watchmaking tools and some technical terms. It also refers to tools of a bygone generation, such as lathes driven by workshop shafting.
Published 16 months ago by J. M. Woodgate


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing and quite wonderfull, 10 Dec 2012
By 
M. P. Moy "Mal" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watchmaking (Hardcover)
I purchased this book after reading George Daniels fascinating obituary. I knew nothing about Mr Daniels before this so after some quick research on the internet this book seemed to be the one to read.

I came to this book with no watch knowledge but a large amount on engineering curiosity. My overriding feeling reading this book is the insanity needed to complete these stunning machines. I use that word with the gentlest of meaning. I had never before considered how the tiny was constructed or fully appreciate how astonishing mechanical watches are. The book does not hold back and from the first paragraph you are being taught how to make a world class watch. Soon however it all starts to make sense and with a few referrals to Wikipedia the processes and mechanisms are easily understood. The diagrams are perfect and show in detail the subtleties and beauty of the components. As I have never read any other watch book I cannot compare it but if I measure against the technical books I usually read I would have to put it at or near the top, it really is as close to perfection as you could ask for when writing about such a niche subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reference book for watchmaking, 23 Feb 2012
This review is from: Watchmaking (Hardcover)
What de Carle is to watch repair, George Daniels is to watchmaking.

One of the very few true masters of his trade, George Daniels describes in minute detail how to make every single component of a watch.

Even though if you don't plan to make your own watch, like me, it is still a great great for any watch enthusiast.

WatchGuy [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars precision and beauty, 25 Jan 2012
This review is from: Watchmaking (Hardcover)
George is a one off in that he is both an exceptionally skilled craftsman and and artist but is also so obviously unselfish in his willingness to share his creative inventions in the field of horology with the masses
The book is beautifully written and detailed even to the extent of illustrating in very clear terms for those with an understanding of intermediate mathematics,of how a clockwork precision timepiece actually works.

The insight into his workshop and the tools and metal working machinery he uses to fashion such original and beautiful watches is illustrated as an additional complement to the instruments themselves of which a number of delightful colour plates adorn the interior of the book.

All in all a delight to hold read and learn from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and very good amazon delivery services., 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watchmaking (Hardcover)
I bought this book on amazon.co.uk and i am very pleased by the information and by its quality.Big thanks
amazon for this opportunity to get such an amazing book.I highly recommend it to those who want to study the magic of a mechanical watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece!, 7 Jan 2014
By 
A. Deas (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watchmaking (Hardcover)
This is a really good book, documenting the process by which each part of a hand made automatic watch is produced.

In an age of mass production, CNC, Spark erosion, drum polishing etc, this book captures a fading art: the true craftsman making a top quality watch from metal bar. Model makers and those involved in small machines can learn so much from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an incredible resource., 6 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watchmaking (Hardcover)
This book explains how to build you own watch in simple steps. I will be using this as a reference for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watchmaking (Hardcover)
This is the very best! Written by the very best. (Excellent)²
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is probably a great book, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watchmaking (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for my father who is interested in watch making. I know very little about the subject, but leafing through it I can tell that this is an extremely exhaustive and well informed book. Excellent clear diagrams and the like. It's far bigger than expected and I'm fairly sure it'll be a while before I can buy my father another book on the same subject. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watchmaking (Hardcover)
First class, clear and concise. Really nice hardback with very clear pictures and diagrams, perfect for all skill levels.
This has to be one of the best watch makers books out there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for watch collectors, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watchmaking (Hardcover)
Comprehensive and the very unique source of the knowledge about how watches are manufactured and designed. Real mastepiece of writing on engineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Watchmaking
Watchmaking by George Daniels (Hardcover - 6 May 2011)
£36.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews