Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betweem the Hedges
Well what can i say? I`ve been a fan of Stephen`s work for many years (i buy his books without looking!) Between the Hedges is yet another masterpeice! The cover shot of Micheal Dunlop at Stranocum sets the standard for the whole book! The black and white shots at the front show how the basic early races set the foundations for what we enjoy toady. The quality of the...
Published on 30 Jun 2011 by freaky 46

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it's made out to be
I must say i was looking forwards to this book but far prefer Hard Roads. Seemed like the two photohounds were trying to get some glory for taking pictures and as much as i admire good photography i found there to be to much talk about themselves. I also found this book a little lacking in content and read it in one go. Not a bad book dont get me wrong and if your a...
Published on 1 Jan 2012 by SMr


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betweem the Hedges, 30 Jun 2011
This review is from: Between the Hedges: A Celebration of 40 Years of Road Racing (Hardcover)
Well what can i say? I`ve been a fan of Stephen`s work for many years (i buy his books without looking!) Between the Hedges is yet another masterpeice! The cover shot of Micheal Dunlop at Stranocum sets the standard for the whole book! The black and white shots at the front show how the basic early races set the foundations for what we enjoy toady. The quality of the colour shots and the text will keep you looking and reading for many years to come. Stephen Davison at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 23 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between the Hedges: A Celebration of 40 Years of Road Racing (Hardcover)
A superbly evocative book capturing the real spirit of the last 40 years of racing between the hedges. The authors photo's are truly impressive and have a power and prescence that demonstrate his real passion for the sport. The historic photo's capture a bygone age wonderfully and complement the modern images really well. As much a book for fans of high quality imaginative sports photography as road race nuts too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it's made out to be, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: Between the Hedges: A Celebration of 40 Years of Road Racing (Hardcover)
I must say i was looking forwards to this book but far prefer Hard Roads. Seemed like the two photohounds were trying to get some glory for taking pictures and as much as i admire good photography i found there to be to much talk about themselves. I also found this book a little lacking in content and read it in one go. Not a bad book dont get me wrong and if your a photographer this may be right up your street. It's a book you'd be better off borrowing rather than buying as i wouldn't want to re read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Number 1 Road Racing photographer, 3 Feb 2011
This review is from: Between the Hedges: A Celebration of 40 Years of Road Racing (Hardcover)
Absolutely amazing photogtraphy with some fantastic inside stories/insight behind the pictures.

All of Stephen's books are just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Between The Hedges Book, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: Between the Hedges: A Celebration of 40 Years of Road Racing (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book to own for the Motorcycle Enthusiast like myself and Husband. It was lovely to see photos of Joey Dunlop's family some of who we have met in Joey,s Bar In Ballymoney in Northern Ireland on a few visits. A good value for money book of good quality. A friend of ours ordered this book and he also liked it and enjoyed it very much. I bought this item as a present for my Husband and he really loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any Motor Cycling Enthusiast Should Love This!, 14 Aug 2012
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Between the Hedges: A Celebration of 40 Years of Road Racing (Hardcover)
Between The Hedges is a wonderful collection photos. These are partly the work of Stephen Davidson who started taking pictures in 1987and time wise this is extended back a further 20 years or so as it also draws on the archive of Clifford McClean. They both seem to have had the knack of capturing spectacular photographs of motor cycle racing and whilst the narrative is interesting it is somewhat brief and it is the pictures which are what is so exciting about this book.

The photos are mainly taken in the authors' native Northern Ireland, at the Isle of Man TT and at the Scarborough track. Some of the earlier ones are in black and white and have a distinctly vintage feel about them. A nice aspect of this book is that the illustrations are not all of racing action, as there are also some interesting shots of motor cycle racing characters. I particularly liked the picture of John McGuiness with his replica TT winning Honda which lives under the stairs in his Scarborough home!

Clearly no attempt has been made to save on printing costs as this volume is of a very good quality and quite rightly so in order to do justice to the photographs. I imagine that any motor cycling enthusiast will be delighted to receive this as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between the Hedges: A Celebration of 40 Years of Road Racing (Hardcover)
Book as described and delivered quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Between the Hedges: A Celebration of 40 Years of Road Racing (Hardcover)
An amazing photographic tribute to the crazy world of real roads racing :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one for the coffee table, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between the Hedges: A Celebration of 40 Years of Road Racing (Hardcover)
some very good photographs and a great insight into the history and world of motorcycle road racing. but just not quite as jaw dropping as I was expecting but overall a useful addition to any enthusiasts collection. most of the road races are covered NW200, Ulster grand prix, TT and olivers mount are all included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boyfriend loved it, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between the Hedges: A Celebration of 40 Years of Road Racing (Hardcover)
Bought this as a present and it has proven to be a good choice .Very nice photos in it and very well written .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Between the Hedges: A Celebration of 40 Years of Road Racing
Between the Hedges: A Celebration of 40 Years of Road Racing by Stephen Davison (Hardcover - 8 Nov 2010)
Used & New from: £12.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews