Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning
This sumptuous photographic portrait of Strangford Lough in all it's glory took care of half a dozen of this year's Christmas presents. The images are often breathtaking and the accompanying text is rich in detail, sometimes quirky and humorous, and above all well written. It may be in coffee table format but the book deserves to be read as well as browsed at leisure...
Published on 24 Feb 2008 by Michael Faulkner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Strangford - Portrait of an Irish Lough
Strangford Lough is without a doubt one of Ireland's most magical locations and this book does justice to the place... unfortunately only to some degree. It is nicely produced and the text short and informative. The pictures however are a bit too "documentary" for my taste, Alain Le Garsmeur's background as a press photographer shows. Don't get me wrong, the book contains...
Published on 14 Jun 2011 by Skellig


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 24 Feb 2008
By 
Michael Faulkner "Proofreader|author, The Blu... (Strangford Lough, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strangford: Portrait of an Irish Lough (Hardcover)
This sumptuous photographic portrait of Strangford Lough in all it's glory took care of half a dozen of this year's Christmas presents. The images are often breathtaking and the accompanying text is rich in detail, sometimes quirky and humorous, and above all well written. It may be in coffee table format but the book deserves to be read as well as browsed at leisure. Visually stunning, highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strangford: Portrait of an Irish Lough, 24 Aug 2010
This review is from: Strangford: Portrait of an Irish Lough (Hardcover)
This is a perfect present for anyone who loves Northern Ireland, and in particular Strangford Lough. With spectacular photograghs the viewer will be transported to this tranquil, beautiful part of the world and should be encouraged to visit with all it has to offer. Believe me when you buy this book you will not want to leave it down! I thoroughly recommend this fascinating book. It will give hours of pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book about a superb location, 1 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strangford: Portrait of an Irish Lough (Hardcover)
This is a superb collection of photographs of Strangford Lough, one of the most beautiful areas of Ireland and one which will be discovered by many more people thanks to this publication. Anyone who has been to the area has fallen in love with the scenery, particularly around the villages of Portaferry and Strangford between which a car ferry runs allowing many people a short journey with glimpses of the incredible wildlife of the lough. This book has been put together with loving care, and the accompanying text adds very interesting facts and anecdotes which enhance the images even to those familiar with the location. This is the book that Strangford Lough has been waiting for, one which truly does it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful evocation of the lough, 16 Mar 2012
By 
T. S. Dawson "Capn birds eye" (North UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strangford: Portrait of an Irish Lough (Hardcover)
I'm an ex-pat from the area and picked the book up on one of my infrequent visits back. Its just wonderful. I spent much of my youth in and around the lough, fishing, sailing and just exploring. Once I picked the book up I did not want to set it down - I was right back there. My only complaint is that if it gets too widely read, too many people will want to come and see it for themselves and the shores are already under pressure from Belfast commuters. I might have liked some additional references to follow up the interesting notes that go with the colour plates, but that's not to take away from a gem of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Strangford - Portrait of an Irish Lough, 14 Jun 2011
This review is from: Strangford: Portrait of an Irish Lough (Hardcover)
Strangford Lough is without a doubt one of Ireland's most magical locations and this book does justice to the place... unfortunately only to some degree. It is nicely produced and the text short and informative. The pictures however are a bit too "documentary" for my taste, Alain Le Garsmeur's background as a press photographer shows. Don't get me wrong, the book contains good photography but the input of a dedicated landscape and wildlife photographer would probably have lifted the book from good to outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Photography, 13 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strangford: Portrait of an Irish Lough (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book with glorious photography. The lough was photographed over the course of a year to provide the most beautiful imagery of natural beauty and wildlife, islands, buildings, skies, water of course and sea life. A great addition to anyone's collection and beautiful to look through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 6 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strangford: Portrait of an Irish Lough (Hardcover)
Beautiful photography accompanied by interesting text - bought for my ex-pat uncle who spent much of his childhood playing and fishing on the Lough - he absolutely adored it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strangford: Portrait of an Irish Lough
Strangford: Portrait of an Irish Lough by Ian Hill (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2007)
£15.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews