Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as interesting as it is humourous
A very enjoyable read recounting a seat of the pants adventure born of frustration at the daily grind of office life. No slick production this trip , no eye to the DVD sales or TV show, just two guys with the guts to get off their backsides to live a little on their own wits & with the kindness of strangers to get them through.

No doubt an understanding of the...
Published on 5 Jun 2007 by Dave the Ulsterman

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story of a long bike journey
A dream come true for Geoff Hill and his companion Clifford Patterson - riding all the way from Chile to Alaska. Lucky guys!

Travel writer Hill shares his wonderful adventure with us in a mixture of road book and travel review. He tells us of the difficulties and pleasures of riding his Triumph over some of the best and worst conditions. He also gives us...
Published on 17 May 2007 by EFMOL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as interesting as it is humourous, 5 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Road to Gobblers Knob: From Chile to Alaska on a Motorbike (Paperback)
A very enjoyable read recounting a seat of the pants adventure born of frustration at the daily grind of office life. No slick production this trip , no eye to the DVD sales or TV show, just two guys with the guts to get off their backsides to live a little on their own wits & with the kindness of strangers to get them through.

No doubt an understanding of the deadpan Ulster sense of humour helps but is far from impenetrable.

He does indeed go on a little about missing his wife, so what? I would feel the same and it is just part of the overall package as much as his endless wonder at the beauty of the landscapes, the weather good & bad, the food, the people,etc.

A little reminder also to those of us who travel with preconceived notions of "national characteristics" only to find that most people utterly fail to live up to the stereotype.

Well done Geoff, I am ordering "Way to go" & would await any further books with interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant relaxing holiday read, 9 Mar 2011
By 
Trevor Magee (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road to Gobblers Knob: From Chile to Alaska on a Motorbike (Paperback)
Geoff Hill has written a tale of true adventure, I could just imagine being there with him, cracking up at his jokes, feeling homesick for "our wee country" and relishing the excitement of never knowing what was literally just round the next bend as we rode day after day from the bottom end of South America to Alaska. Travelling by motorcycle is dangerous enough but to attempt the Pan American trail with no back up or camera crew (unlike some others I could mention) takes a high degree of guts and indefatigable spirit which Geoff obviously has in bucket loads. Having been in Central America myself recently he perfectly captures what it is like to travel through places where the infrastucture and living standards are not up to Western norms but the people are so special. Finally, having also read his Sunday Times motorcycling reviews, I know that as well as being a good writer Geoff is a real biker and an encouragement for more of us old bikers to get on the road again and feel the wind in our faces and the sun on our backs. Well done Geoff and keep her lit! Take me with you the next time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Read, 1 Aug 2007
By 
Nigel Grace "HBiker" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road to Gobblers Knob: From Chile to Alaska on a Motorbike (Paperback)
An absolutely brilliant read. Not your normal motorbike rabblings. This was a great read from start to finish. So well written, very funny, full of interest and even very moving. Well done Geoff Hill. Happy and safe motorcycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story of a long bike journey, 17 May 2007
This review is from: The Road to Gobblers Knob: From Chile to Alaska on a Motorbike (Paperback)
A dream come true for Geoff Hill and his companion Clifford Patterson - riding all the way from Chile to Alaska. Lucky guys!

Travel writer Hill shares his wonderful adventure with us in a mixture of road book and travel review. He tells us of the difficulties and pleasures of riding his Triumph over some of the best and worst conditions. He also gives us anecdotes about the people and the places he stopped in. There's something here for travel fans as well as bike enthusiasts.

I have previously read "A Long Way Round" and Hill certainly slags Charley and Ewan off on several occasions - but very much in a good humoured sort of way. He did this trip without the back-up that Boorman and McGregor had.

One thing that did get tiresome for me is the incessant exaggerated humour, eg "When Francis Drake sacked Cartagena in 1586, it claimed unfair dismissal." (p 173). If you like this kind of humour, then you'll love this book. Lots of good fun and jokes, but it does wear you down after a while.

It's also clear that Hill loves his wife Cate - and he told us this many, many, many times. Not as bad as Charley and Ewan, but once would have been enough for me.

In summary, this is an enjoyable book that is light and easy to read. You don't have to be a biker to enjoy it, but it would probably be more interesting if you ride bikes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Geoff, 11 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Road to Gobblers Knob: From Chile to Alaska on a Motorbike (Paperback)
I really liked the first book and loved this one, just started on the next Adelaide to Adelaide journey.
Geoff and Cliff are a great team, I'd love to know what Cliff did next after falling in love with a girl in South America.
Roll on the next journey................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars liked it, 22 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Road to Gobblers Knob: From Chile to Alaska on a Motorbike (Paperback)
thought this was a good read

travel writting with good irish craick chucked in for good measure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brief review, 15 July 2007
This review is from: The Road to Gobblers Knob: From Chile to Alaska on a Motorbike (Paperback)
found the book better than the usual travel writing....... well written, with relentless humour (mostly funny in my head)....... its generaly brief about all the places visited and about the preperation of the venture... mister Hill turns on the poetic descriptions of certain times, places and feelings far less than i wish he had done..... if your looking for details for ideas to sort your own panamericana trip , this is weak in info, but it will inspire as it has me..... cant help love the mans spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, just brilliant!, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Gobblers Knob: From Chile to Alaska on a Motorbike (Paperback)
Jump on and ride pillion with Geoff and Clifford as they weave their bikes through lands where it is not safe to go out at night or during the day and where women are thrown off cliffs for being annoying. Fantastic book and looking forward to reading "Way to Go" and "In Clancy's Boots" next. Good stuff Geoff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reading!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Gobblers Knob: From Chile to Alaska on a Motorbike (Paperback)
I bought this book for my husband, who isnt a big reader, and he really enjoyed it. I give it 5 stars on his say so, its witty and humerous and kept him interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
after reading jupiters travels by ted simon i thought nothing else could compare, wrong! a riveting read which runs along with humour, despair and triumph, i loved it. excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Road to Gobblers Knob: From Chile to Alaska on a Motorbike
The Road to Gobblers Knob: From Chile to Alaska on a Motorbike by Geoff Hill (Paperback - 23 April 2007)
9.35
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews