Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2006
This is a delightful read. It's like a cross between Lillian Beckwith and Peter Mayle. Michael Faulkner writes with charm, wit and not a little self-deprecation of his life with Lynn and two dogs on the island of Islandmore in Strangford Lough on the east coast of Northern Ireland. It must have been very hard for him and his wife Lynn to survive with their two dogs on an island with no electricity in such a demanding location, and the difficult parts of their life are not ignored, but he still manages to convey the peace, beauty and harmony of "a life less ordinary". Local characters are brought to life and some insights are given of what it was like to grow up in Northern Ireland at the height of the Troubles as the son of Northern Ireland's Prime Minister.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2009
I know the author and his wife Lynn and received a copy of the book when it was first published. I bought 4 (now 5) to send to friends and family and everyone is enchanted by it. Michael is a wonderful author and Lynn an extrordinary artist. Can't wait for his next book. Having grown up in Northern Ireland I can almost feel the misty rain and smell the ocean when I read The Blue Cabin. I live near the sea in Playa del Rey California but the ocean doesn't have the same fresh smell of the Atlantic.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2007
I found this book to be a little gem; to be savoured slowly and mentally re-visited long after finishing. A gentle read which flows like the tides so inherent to the story. I would say essential reading for anyone who loves travel books, the sea and enjoys a good yarn.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2009
A very nice little book, recommended by a friend as we happened to sail past the blue cabin itself on a trip to Strangford Lough. I enjoyed the descriptions of the pleasures and perils of living by the seasons and the tides, and getting back to nature and the Good Life. Also, it gives hope that bankruptcy can have its upsides when one is forced to reevaluate one's life.

It only covered one exciting year in the author's life - I look forward to the sequel.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2007
The Blue Cabin is an intimate portrait of lives interrupted and renewed- by the rhythm of the tides. Faulkner's prose reminds one of a margarita cocktail-bittersweet, full of spirit, and edged in salt! Another round please.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
This book is a little gem and I love it. I live in Northern Ireland and remember Michael's father, Brian Faulkner, as the last Prime Minister before the 'Troubles' started. The book gives a whole new perspective on the man as husband and father as well as Michael's story of life on Islandmore. It can't have been easy at the beginning for Lynn and Michael but they just got on with it. He is a great storyteller and when he relates how he was caught in a small boat in the strong currents of Strangford Lough, you can taste the saltwater on your lips and worry with Lynn about his safety. If you enjoy this book, then look out for the sequel 'Still on the Sound'. The photographs are amazing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2007
The Blue Cabin is a charming biographical story of a bankrupted man who is forced to move to his family's holiday cabin on an Island in Strangford Lough. Michael, his wife Lynn and their two dogs juggle their every day dramas of living on an island, from wondering if there will be electricity to cook the Christmas dinner, to hoping the boat and only mode of transport hasn't drifted off in the night.

Faulkner moves between stories of life on the island, peppered with tales of the characters that live and work around Strangford Lough, to stories from his childhood and of his father Brian Faulkner, the last Prime Minister of Northern Ireland.

As the various doors of his life begin to close, Faulkner finds new doors opening offering something quite beautiful and unique. The simplicity of life on an island is very appealing. A wonderful, calm and inspiring book, if only we could all have an island retreat.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2007
This is a true must have read that will make you laugh, smile & cry all in a afternooon. Not only are you able to empathise with Michael and his wife Lynn but you are able to share the ups and downs of the journey they have made together. It gives an insight into closeknit family life which in todays society seems to be fading away and fast becoming a thing of the past. From its opening page to its last sentence this book keeps you enthralled and enraptured and begging to find out if they are still living by the tides on Islandmore. This book is a true gem and a rare find.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2010
A gentle read of island life and the surroundings and characters. Will read again when need something peaceful to read. What is missing however is the element of day to day life as experienced by the author and his wife.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
Michael Faulkner, son of Brian, loses his Sante Fe style furniture business and home in Scotland. Retreats to family cabin on an otherwise uninhabited small island in Strangford Lough, Ards Peninsula, Northern Ireland.

This is reading through a couple's challenging times, that part of the wedding vows that read, "for better or worse".

There are plenty of happy times -- the guests, the picnics, the sublime peace of the place. All the while checked by the harsher realities of no mains electricity or regular water supply, and a barely insulated house.

Faulkner writes in a simple yet effective prose. In few words and sentences, you're perhaps suddenly caught by the deep emotion involved.

The Blue Cabin is an enjoyable read, proving the adage of the road less travelled...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)