Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Book............
Fantastic, great, wonderful....these are the words you'll say once you've bought this book, it's an absolute must have for beginners and experienced quilters and patchworkers alike. It is well illustrated and extremely easy to follow. If your like me and very new to quilting it explains everything in easy terms, no jargon! The pictures are easy to follow too. There...
Published on 14 May 2003 by shirlivalentine

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
This is a good book for people who have some experience of patchwork quilting. As a complete novice I didn't find some of the explanations that helpful. I ended up borrowing other books from the Library - a couple of which were far better at demonstrating how to piece together patches and finishing the quilt, for example. The clue is perhaps in the title - it is more...
Published on 27 Aug 2010 by Wakatipu


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Book............, 14 May 2003
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Quilting and Patchwork Techniques (Paperback)
Fantastic, great, wonderful....these are the words you'll say once you've bought this book, it's an absolute must have for beginners and experienced quilters and patchworkers alike. It is well illustrated and extremely easy to follow. If your like me and very new to quilting it explains everything in easy terms, no jargon! The pictures are easy to follow too. There were lots of question I had and wondered about many things to do with quilting and this book helped with both. In essence, I would say if I could only own one book about quilting, this would be it. It offers everything you need and want to know. I would highly reccommend this book to anyone who has an interest in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


175 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for beginners and useful for internediate quilters, 16 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Quilting and Patchwork Techniques (Paperback)
This is an excellent introduction to the craft of patchwork and quilting. It is the first book I
ever read on the subject and it's one I keep going back to time and time again.
For absolute beginners just starting out on this absorbing hobby, basic terminology is
explained and the section on equipment to buy contains lots of useful advice. The step by
step account on how to design your own quilt and estimate the amount of fabric required is also very helpful.
Lots of different patchwork and quilting techniques are detailed in the book and the text is accompanied by many precise photographs and illustrations. The easy to follow instructions are most encouraging and you'll want to try out each new technique as soon as you turn the pages.
The more advanced patchworker will also find plenty of interest in this book, as special effects such as piping, prairiepoints, folded patchwork and much more is discussed.
Numerous types of applique eg stained glass, shadow, Hawaiin etc. are presented and instructions for different types of quilting, rotary cutting and speed piecing are also included.
The latter part of the book consists of a magnificent gallery of quilts in different styles. Each photograph is accompanied by the quilter's name, quilt size nd name and also a brief description of the piece. The gallery is a marvellous source of inspiration for any quilter.
I thoroughly recommend this book to both beginners and intermediate quilters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 29 Jan 2003
By 
C. Dicey "katexxxxxx" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Quilting and Patchwork Techniques (Paperback)
This is an excellent reference book, and one I refer to again and again! Very clear instructions, explanations and illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As A Complete Novice I AM So Glad I Bought This Book, 29 May 2007
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Quilting and Patchwork Techniques (Paperback)
Many books profess to being Encylopedia or Bible of this and that but few live up to the impressive title. I'm pleased to say this book does that by the bucket load. The book goes through the basic equipment, techniques, blocks and rotary cutting - with simple instructions and clear colour photographs. Slowly graduating to special effects, applique, quilting types (Italian, Sashiko, Trapunto, which I can only dream of aspiring to) and finshing with, appropriately, finishing. At the very end of the book are themes with fabulous examples of quilts designed and made by the 'great and good' in the quilting world, some of which can only be described as breath taking. Definitely a book for the beginner with inspiration for the 'graduate quilter' to try out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 27 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Quilting and Patchwork Techniques (Paperback)
This is a good book for people who have some experience of patchwork quilting. As a complete novice I didn't find some of the explanations that helpful. I ended up borrowing other books from the Library - a couple of which were far better at demonstrating how to piece together patches and finishing the quilt, for example. The clue is perhaps in the title - it is more of an encyclopedia than a beginner's workbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for beginnners: useful for advanced quilters., 16 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Quilting and Patchwork Techniques (Paperback)
This is an excellent introduction to the craft of patchwork and quilting. It is the first book I
ever read on the subject and it's one I go back to time and time again.
For absolute beginners just starting out on this absorbing hobby, basic terminology is explained and the section on equipment to buy contains lots of useful advice. The step by step account of how to design your own quilt and estimate the amount of fabric required is also very helpful.
Lots of different patchwork and quilting techniques are detailed in the book and the text is accompanied by many photographs and illustrations. The easy to follow instructions are most encouraging and you'll want to try out each new technique as soon as you turn the pages.
The more advanced patchworker will also find plenty of interest in this book, as special effects such as piping, prairie points, folded patchwork and much more is discussed. Numerous types of applique eg stained glass, shadow, Hawaiin etc. are presented and instructions for different types of quilting, rotary cutting and speed piecing are also included.
The latter part of the book consists of amagnificent gallery of quilts in different styles. Each photograph is accompanied by tquilter's name, quilt size and name and also a brief description of the piece. The gallery is a marvellous source of inspiration for anquilter. I thoroughly recommend this book to both beginners and intermediate quilters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for a complete beginner, 2 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Quilting and Patchwork Techniques (Paperback)
This book shows all different types of quilting techniques/ traditions and step by step assembly points. As I have never read about quilting before or tried it in practice I found explanations and photos very good to guide a complete novice through this very interesting craft.... The gallery at the end is very inspiring too! Happy quilting future buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Encyclopedia of Quilting and Patchwork Techniques, 5 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Quilting and Patchwork Techniques (Paperback)
This is a really lovely book. It goes through all the stages of making a quilt, even how to care for and store the finished item. The book begins with what tools are needed and then goes on to explain how to cut the fabric and then how to do various types of patchwork, followed by different forms of applique. The pictures are excellent and easy to follow as are the instructions. The book ends with pictures of finished quilts in lots of different styles. All in all this is a very informative book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look at the pictures and be inspired, 6 May 2009
By 
Mrs. A. A. Eastman (Pulborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Quilting and Patchwork Techniques (Paperback)
Have just finished the blocks for my second quilt- a 12inch log cabin- inspired by this book - for a king sized bed. Will be taking the the made-up blocks to my nearest quilt material suppliers in Dorking for advice on finishing. Would love to do a wave quilt next.This is a fantastic book for beginers with basic skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of techniques, 10 May 2011
By 
A. H. Ford "petiteamour" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Quilting and Patchwork Techniques (Paperback)
I have always thought of patchwork quilts as boring squares of fabric sewn together but not any more. In this book you will find an introduction telling you about the layers that make up a quilt, the equipment needed, templates, materials and how to work out the construction. Then techniques - blocks and their construction,4 patch blocks, 9 patch blocks, irregular blocks,log cabin. Courthouse steps, barn raising and sunshine and shadow are all mentioned and illustrated.Next is rotary cutting - making the basic shapes,speed piercing,seminole and string patchwork. Next come special effects. This is about what I call the twiddly bits i.e those things that raise a piece of work above plain, boring squares. The effects included are piping, wave panel and prairie points, Suffolk puffs, biscuit, folded star, cathedral window, crazy and English patchwork. Then come all the applique techniques including hand, machine, reverse, perse,shadow, Hawaiian and stained glass . The book also includes Italian quilting, sashiko and trapunto. The author gives instructions on setting the blocks, assembling, binding,display, maintaining and storing of quilts. There is a section about themes - traditions, new expressions, pattern and rhythm, texture and images. This last section (themes) is basically a gallery of several artists work with a brief description and techniques used. There is no resources list but you don't really need one since any tools required and fabric can be obtained easily on line. As a beginner I find this a smashing starting point. It doesn't go into so much detail that boredom sets in.There are all sorts of little tips scattered throughout the book.There are no projects but plenty of inspiration. I'm not sure how useful it would be to an experienced quilter but even then I should think it's good as a reference book. I love it and for me it's a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Encyclopedia of Quilting and Patchwork Techniques
The Encyclopedia of Quilting and Patchwork Techniques by Katharine Guerrier (Paperback - 1 Sep 2001)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews