Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of 'The encyclopedia of acrylic techniques' by Hazel Harrison
I have not used acrylics before and this book was just what I needed. It is full of practical advice with step by step examples and it has been an invaluable supplement to my art classes. I would recommend this book to anyone who has not had a lot of experience with acrylics. I found it inspirational
Published on 24 May 2009 by Mrs. Mary Dudfield

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
Explaining with artists paintings, does not tell you how to do. All techniques are represented, but that is the most one can say.
Published 20 months ago by Marilou Vandierendonck


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of 'The encyclopedia of acrylic techniques' by Hazel Harrison, 24 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Acrylic Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Acrylic Techniques with Step-by-step Guidance on Their Use (Paperback)
I have not used acrylics before and this book was just what I needed. It is full of practical advice with step by step examples and it has been an invaluable supplement to my art classes. I would recommend this book to anyone who has not had a lot of experience with acrylics. I found it inspirational
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book for beginers, 1 Sep 2009
By 
Tapia Velasco Sergio (Rome, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Acrylic Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Acrylic Techniques with Step-by-step Guidance on Their Use (Paperback)
I've been painting for several years with oil painting and watercolors but I've never tried the new acrylic colors. That's why I was looking for a simple but complete guide for acrylic painting. I think this book accomplishes that goal perfectly giving you a complete panorama of the new possibilites acrylic painting provides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Encyclopedia of Acrylic Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Acrylic Techniques with Step-by-step Guidance on Their Use, 16 Nov 2007
By 
James Fraser "jazfraz" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Acrylic Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Acrylic Techniques with Step-by-step Guidance on Their Use (Paperback)
As a beginner to acrylic paints this book is ideal for me as it describes well the different techniques that can be employed. The many examples of completed paintings are also a great source of inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for newbies, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. R. Whitehead "Rae" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Acrylic Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Acrylic Techniques with Step-by-step Guidance on Their Use (Paperback)
I'm a newcomer to acrylic painting so this book has been an excellent resource. Really clear, helpful guide with excellent pictures. I'd recommend this book to newbies and the more seasoned artist alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent price for an "ideas" book for artists, 27 April 2011
By 
Barry Lees (Greenock, Strathclyde Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Acrylic Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Acrylic Techniques with Step-by-step Guidance on Their Use (Paperback)
While the author is honest in calling this book an encyclopaedia, it's a mini-encyclopaedia. It runs to 175 pages with index and is well-illustrated throughout. Like all such books, it is organised alphabetically, but this may not be the best way to introduce amateurs or hobbyists to the subject of painting with acrylics. It assumes that they know what acrylic paint is, what it should be painted on and what tools to use, for example.

The front and back covers (identical) show what the reader can assume to be sections from the book, but when I looked for "fantasy" as promised on the cover, it was absent from the A-Z layout of the text and also from the index.

I am sure, however, that the abundance of illustrations will inspire anyone to experiment with this painting medium, since acrylic paint is renowned for its bright colours which are particularly resistant to fading and I have no hesitation in recommending it to a beginner or to someone who has been painting in acrylics and is looking for a source of inspiration.

p.s. I have since found the "abstraction & fantasy" section of the book. It's the last four pages before the index and fits well with the overall feel of the rest (that is, it's brief, colourful and leaves the reader to their own devices).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Acrylic Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Acrylic Techniques with Step-by-step Guidance on Their Use (Paperback)
Explaining with artists paintings, does not tell you how to do. All techniques are represented, but that is the most one can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point, 24 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Acrylic Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Acrylic Techniques with Step-by-step Guidance on Their Use (Paperback)
This book is a good starting point for anyone delving into acrylic painting. It is refreshing to find a book that is not just a promotional platform for the artist author and their style of painting. The book is full of paintings and styles by a large variety of artists for inspiration and lots of information of techniques by the author herself.

My only critism, hence four stars, is the alphabetic style of the book which kind of makes it hard work, I know it's an encylopedia but this format does not sit well in a practical subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New to Acrylic Paints, 28 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Acrylic Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Acrylic Techniques with Step-by-step Guidance on Their Use (Paperback)
Read this very comprehensive book from cover to cover. Fantastic step by step instructions on all of the different styles to use in acrylic painting. Some fabulous paintings by artists towards the end of the book with descriptions of how they did them. I shall copy one or two and see how I do. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Almost identical to another book, 29 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Acrylic Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Acrylic Techniques with Step-by-step Guidance on Their Use (Paperback)
I had looked forward to receiving this book but was disappointed as I had also ordered the Acrylic Artists Bible. They were almost identical although supposedly by different authors. The illustrations etc werethe same and also the text. Please do not order both. I did return this one with no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive guide, 17 May 2011
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Acrylic Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Acrylic Techniques with Step-by-step Guidance on Their Use (Paperback)
As with all Hazel Harrison guides, this is a comprehensive overview, covering the full range of materials and techniques, with lots of photo-instructions and examples.
However, from a personal perspective, I wasn't very much drawn to her choice of paintings. There seemed to be a predominance of impressionistic styles & a lot of red & orange - unless this was an effect of the colour printing.
I preferred Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews