Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review of 'The encyclopedia of oil painting techniques' by Jeremy Dalton
I am a beginner with oil painting and am enjoying it immensely but I need time to explore techniques at my own pace. This book is just what I need as it is full of practical advice with plenty of illustrations and examples. An inspiring book.
Published on 24 May 2009 by Mrs. Mary Dudfield

versus
38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy both!
As stated in my review of Marylin Scott's the Oil painter's bible these two books have, pretty much, identicle content, even the exercises are the same! This has more text than the "Bible" but is more awkward to use because of the binding. Have one but not both!
Published on 30 Jan 2008 by F. J. Cole


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy both!, 30 Jan 2008
By 
F. J. Cole (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Oil Painting Techniques: A Unique Step-by-step Visual Directory of All the Key Oil Painting Techniques (Paperback)
As stated in my review of Marylin Scott's the Oil painter's bible these two books have, pretty much, identicle content, even the exercises are the same! This has more text than the "Bible" but is more awkward to use because of the binding. Have one but not both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cursory more than encyclopedic, 1 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Oil Painting Techniques: A Unique Step-by-step Visual Directory of All the Key Oil Painting Techniques (Paperback)
If you are hoping for an exhaustive book on the mechanics of oil painting look elsewhere. It's not as encyclopedic as the title would suggest. Only 63 pages of this 192 page book are devoted to technique, with the rest wasted on galleries of so-so paintings (some skilled but as they are stand-alone examples of particular styles you will probably find most irrelevant, and none instructive).

Take the page on mediums, for example; the author mentions binders, mediums (one paragraph), diluents and varnishes but provides very little information on the nature of each. He even states that "...if the basic linseed oil-turpentine mixtures do not suit your needs, the only course is to experiment with other mediums... all manufacturers provide information on their products..." so basically forego this book in favour of manufacturer's leaflets! Hardly encyclopedic. I would have liked a summary of these other mediums; as an example, clove oil gets no mention, and what's the difference between linseed and poppy oil? If anyone has encountered the minefield of trying to decide what canvas to buy, this book provided no help at all. Canvas or linen, optimum weight, texture... none of those are really addressed, only advising trial and error.

It's a cursory romp through the bare bones of oil painting, possibly useful for the absolute beginner, but won't satisfy anyone looking for in-depth knowledge. As the author suggests, go to the manufacturer's leaflets. Even a monkey can apply paint to a canvas and do you really need to know the name of the technique? It might open your eyes to other ways to apply the paint but so would experimentation, for which no book is required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful book, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Oil Painting Techniques: A Unique Step-by-step Visual Directory of All the Key Oil Painting Techniques (Paperback)
As someone else has mentioned, there are only 63 pages devoted to the actual 'how to' of techniques.
The rest oft the book is full of pictures of paintings, some of them are the worst that I have ever seen in print.
The terrible art is from the following artists, Jeremy Galton, Glenn Scouller, Olwen Tarrant (the worst)Arthur Maderson and Susan Wilson.
There are some good paintings but they don't justify the price of this book. Don't judge this book by it's cover, the cover promises much more than the contents deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 28 Jun 2012
By 
T. Denniss (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Oil Painting Techniques: A Unique Step-by-step Visual Directory of All the Key Oil Painting Techniques (Paperback)
I ordered this together with the Oil Painter's Bible from the same supplier (the publisher)and as other reviewers have mentioned the content is virtually the same but each book is listed as being by a different author. This is a recent trend in book-selling which is becoming more common since it began with the publication of Sarum,a book that was released with 2 different covers thereby misleading the public into buying 2 copies of the same book, thinking they were different novels. At least these books are laid out differently and although the wording and illustrations are the same the items appear in a different order and are under different headings! The book itself would be worth 4 stars but in view of what I have said I can only give it 1 which reflects the percentage of new content in its pages. This was a marketplace purchase and is, of course, no reflection on Amazon's service which in my experience has always been first class!
You may notice that not only are the books the same I haven't wasted time writing a new review - they are both virtually the same. If the publishers can get away with it, why not me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review of 'The encyclopedia of oil painting techniques' by Jeremy Dalton, 24 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Oil Painting Techniques: A Unique Step-by-step Visual Directory of All the Key Oil Painting Techniques (Paperback)
I am a beginner with oil painting and am enjoying it immensely but I need time to explore techniques at my own pace. This book is just what I need as it is full of practical advice with plenty of illustrations and examples. An inspiring book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Encycolpedia of Oil Painting Techniques, 20 May 2011
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Oil Painting Techniques: A Unique Step-by-step Visual Directory of All the Key Oil Painting Techniques (Paperback)
A disappointing 'text book' that doesn't meet expectations, particulary for the individual new to oil painting and wanting to learn about techniques etc.

The layout is a well-used one by this publisher, going back to the late 1980s, but unfortunately they haven't moved with the times to up-date the layout and, more importantly the content. Most aspects are only superficially covered, with some techniques missing completely, and the limited range of examples by other artists lack the diversity and breadth that is possible with this most wide-spread of painting mediums (from abstract to super-realism). Even the fact that the book is in full colour doesn't help!

Recommended only as a last resort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly What It Says It Is, 4 Aug 2010
By 
SE STEVENSON (Verreries de Moussans, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Oil Painting Techniques: A Unique Step-by-step Visual Directory of All the Key Oil Painting Techniques (Paperback)
Personally I have the hard back version but hey! bring down the prices I say ! It's true this is exactly what the title states - remember, it is aimed at the OIL painter but; it does deliver practically everything you - the oil painter - could wish for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars using oil paints, 30 July 2010
By 
Mr. Paul Hart (Sutton. Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Oil Painting Techniques: A Unique Step-by-step Visual Directory of All the Key Oil Painting Techniques (Paperback)
This is a great book for explaining ways of achieving a specific result and translating the technical terms used by artists, very helpful by having lots of pictures to guide you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Oil Painting Techniques: A Unique Step-by-step Visual Directory of All the Key Oil Painting Techniques (Paperback)
Good information helps perfect painting skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Oil Painting Techniques: A Unique Step-by-step Visual Directory of All the Key Oil Painting Techniques (Paperback)
It is a beautiful book and worth the read. Has some lovely illustrations happy that I purchased this book as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews