Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pastel techniques
This is a great little book which is part of a series of books on different art techniques. I first borrowed it from the library and found it so useful, I decided to buy it. These books tell you all you need to know on a subject with great illustrations and projects to have a go at - good value for money, and a book you can dip into again and again.
Published on 29 April 2011 by jinks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful
This book was very informative, but I only use pastel pencils, so most of it was about soft pastels,but it was very interesting reading
Published 6 months ago by vicky


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pastel techniques, 29 April 2011
By 
jinks (Weymouth, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Pastel Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Pastel Painting Techniques Plus Guidance on How Best to Use Them (Paperback)
This is a great little book which is part of a series of books on different art techniques. I first borrowed it from the library and found it so useful, I decided to buy it. These books tell you all you need to know on a subject with great illustrations and projects to have a go at - good value for money, and a book you can dip into again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pastel painting, 6 Sep 2011
By 
INGOR (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Pastel Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Pastel Painting Techniques Plus Guidance on How Best to Use Them (Paperback)
Excellent! never tried pastel painting before and was a bit afraid of starting it, but this book makes it very easy and enjoyable. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pastels, 10 Aug 2010
By 
D. J. Harrison (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Pastel Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Pastel Painting Techniques Plus Guidance on How Best to Use Them (Paperback)
this book does exactly what it says on the tin.so to speak
very helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full of many different techniques, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Pastel Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Pastel Painting Techniques Plus Guidance on How Best to Use Them (Paperback)
I received this book as a birthday gift to help me along in my new love of painting with pastels.
It goes over many and various techniques for pastel work with examples of paintings done in the style being discussed by professional artists, so you get a good idea of how that particular technique can be used in different artistic styles and to creating a finished piece. Plenty of pictures and photos.

I personally feel that this book alone is not enough as it's not so much a 'how to' or 'step by step' as some other books are, but an encyclopedia of pastel techniques as the title suggests! However, I have found it valuable and interesting alongside several other pastel books in helping me learn and understand this art medium more thoroughly.
Definately worth buying if you want to understand more of what you can achieve with the various pastels (oil,soft,pencil) out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book and very helpful, 26 May 2013
By 
Doc Barbara "Barbara Daniels" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Pastel Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Pastel Painting Techniques Plus Guidance on How Best to Use Them (Paperback)
This book is beautifully produced and thorough in the ground it covers. All possible pastel techniques with the different types of crayon are described such as gestural drawing and hatching and examples given. There are sections on themes like landscapes and light and some demonstrations of how to build up a picture. As a complete beginner, I would have liked more connection between the methods described and their possibilities in a painting and it seems to me to be a book for someone with some expertise to improve their skills. It would make a lovely present for such a person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art book, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Pastel Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Pastel Painting Techniques Plus Guidance on How Best to Use Them (Paperback)
It was what I really needed as I just started to use this medium.
It answered all my questions. Just Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 23 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Pastel Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Pastel Painting Techniques Plus Guidance on How Best to Use Them (Paperback)
As a beginner this book really improved my pastel techniques. It has helpful demonstrations and tips, and brilliant examples of so many various artists works, it also shows you how to mix pastels with other media such as watercolour and gouache.

I also found it a source of inspiration for some of my compositions. It has given me a lot of joy.

My boyfriend bought it me as a valentines gift after I had added it as a favourite and I can't fault it. Brownie points all around. XD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting and very usefull, 4 Dec 2001
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Pastel Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Pastel Painting Techniques Plus Guidance on How Best to Use Them (Paperback)
interesting and very usefull
i enjoed every different section 0f the book
its very usefull particulary for those starting workshop in pastels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Pastel Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Pastel Painting Techniques Plus Guidance on How Best to Use Them (Paperback)
Excellent easy to understand an helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful reference..., 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Pastel Techniques: A Unique A-Z Directory of Pastel Painting Techniques Plus Guidance on How Best to Use Them (Paperback)
...the pictures are great, however, if you are looking for a stage by stage project book, this is not the one - it really is an elaborate list of techniques.
Having said that, I find I enjoy reading about the idea and then trying it out for myself. So if you are open to self exploration this is worth having in the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews