Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good starter
Simple to follow, clear explanations, and full size patterns included for practice. It's refreshing to find a sewing technique that won't cost a fortune; the fabric is cotton twill or duck, thread is white crochet cotton, perle cotton or coton a broder, all are suitable and go a long way, so not too costly.
The book contains stitch instructions, thread, needles etc...
Published on 12 Oct. 2009 by Elle B Reader

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The book is easy to read and the instructions are clear
I gave 2 stars because I have already started with Crewel embroidery. For this reason, there was not much new. The book is easy to read and the instructions are clear.

Kind regards,
Maria
Published 11 months ago by Maria Kondor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good starter, 12 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Mountmellick Embroidery (Paperback)
Simple to follow, clear explanations, and full size patterns included for practice. It's refreshing to find a sewing technique that won't cost a fortune; the fabric is cotton twill or duck, thread is white crochet cotton, perle cotton or coton a broder, all are suitable and go a long way, so not too costly.
The book contains stitch instructions, thread, needles etc and patterns for Dog Roses and Blackberries,as on the cover. Another pattern is Poppies Corn and Daisies there's also a passion flower and a harp as well as others. The book is inexpensive and can provide hours of contented stitching. Excellent value well worth a look in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy peasy guide., 23 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Mountmellick Embroidery (Paperback)
This is a good book to start with if you have never done Mountmellick before like me. It is a slim book but contains all the information needed to do this embroidery. Clear diagrams showing the different stitches used and what threads and material to buy. At the back are some patterns to copy out and practice on.
Would recommend this as a beginners book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mountmellick embroidery, 26 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Mountmellick Embroidery (Paperback)
Lovely book simple easy to follow designs and good instructions .You can take the book as a series of exercise and work through them as you wish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mountmellick Embroidery, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Mountmellick Embroidery (Paperback)
I did a recent workshop in Mountmellick and have found this book to be really clear and helpful with the stitches. A good style of embroidery to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mountmellick embroidery, 6 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Mountmellick Embroidery (Paperback)
Doing a course on Mountmellick in the new year with Pat Trott,, so an excellent choice of reading. Her instructions are so clear and precise that it is possible to learn from the book. But much better in person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mountmellick EmbroideryAgood and, 19 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Mountmellick Embroidery (Paperback)
A good book with pictures and details for a beginners guide to Mountmellick Embroidery,with projects to make and give more items that you can be used with the embroidery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 14 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Mountmellick Embroidery (Paperback)
Fabulous book, informative and has clear instructions. I am researching white work in all cultures and this book gives a wonderful history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 31 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Mountmellick Embroidery (Paperback)
Just what the doctor (or teacher) ordered for our whitework in the New Year. Can't wait to get started with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mountmellick --- from what to oh yes !, 18 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Mountmellick Embroidery (Paperback)
3 months ago I had never heard of yhis type of embroidery ,but I ordered it on a whim .
The book was excellent for embroidery nervous like me bu my annoyingly competent twin sister would like it too if she could get her nimble hands on the book--no way I am going to do this well first.
I found the chapter on materials very useful and i am about to start on my first project after a few few practice shots on the decaptively easy new stitches which are clearly explained .
well looking at to start an interesting new kind of embroidery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars but this is far and away the best one. Beautiful clear patterns, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Mountmellick Embroidery (Paperback)
I have a fair few books on this subject, but this is far and away the best one. Beautiful clear patterns, which you can put straight onto a light box and trace off. Superb explanation of the specific Whitework stitches used in this genre and lovely pictures.

I also use it for Redwork and it works well for that too.

If you are going to start this type of sewing, buy this. A totally brilliant book which I adore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginner's Guide to Mountmellick Embroidery
Beginner's Guide to Mountmellick Embroidery by Pat Trott (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2002)
£8.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews