Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating art form simply explained.
If you have an interest in knitting, and have ever drooled over those clever, beautiful and extraordinary pieces in freeform exhibitions, then this is the book for you. It takes you from the basics of making a landscape to the use of colour and texture, materials and stitches. I have already had a great deal of fun trying out the techniques and know I will never again...
Published 20 months ago by Sheena

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Old Fashioned
Jan has much to say, but this is tedious and old fashioned.
There is no inspiration here.
As an embroiderer, it gives me nothing.
Published on 23 Sept. 2012 by E. M. Stansbridge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating art form simply explained., 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wool 'n' Magic (Hardcover)
If you have an interest in knitting, and have ever drooled over those clever, beautiful and extraordinary pieces in freeform exhibitions, then this is the book for you. It takes you from the basics of making a landscape to the use of colour and texture, materials and stitches. I have already had a great deal of fun trying out the techniques and know I will never again throw out an odd end of yarn. On the other hand, all my small balls of yarn are neatly arranged on a shelf in plastic sweet jars according to colour, so that just looking at them gives me inspiration. This book has added a new facet to my life, for which I am very grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wool 'n' Magic (Hardcover)
beautiful book! used copy arrived in as new condition and on time. explains in detail how to use free expression in the world of knitting and crochet. a book to dip into whenever the creative juices start flowing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wool 'n' Magic (Hardcover)
I love this book and have used it in my textile artwork using various techniques - some great ideas in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wool 'n' magic, 20 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Wool 'n' Magic (Hardcover)
I am doing a course in textiles at present and this book was one that our teacher selected for reference, I like the ideas, and her techniques are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, 25 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wool 'n' Magic (Hardcover)
Loads of information and the ideas are brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but great ideas!, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wool 'n' Magic (Hardcover)
a little dated in parts, but great ideas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Old Fashioned, 23 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wool 'n' Magic (Hardcover)
Jan has much to say, but this is tedious and old fashioned.
There is no inspiration here.
As an embroiderer, it gives me nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wool 'n' Magic
Wool 'n' Magic by Jan Messent (Hardcover - April 1989)
Used & New from: £0.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews