Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coats of Arms, ,Andrew Stewart Jamieson
Beautiful book with all illustrations in colour. I don't know how they produced it for the price. All the elements of heraldry are included along with chapters devoted to church heraldry, guilds,royalty ,cities and scottish heraldry .
It explains ,in detail,with illustrations how to blazon a coat of arms which I found particularly interesting - this is clearly set...
Published on 15 Feb 2010 by Rita fleming

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a thin magazine or a pamphlet than a book.
This is a 26 page pamphlet, not a book as I was expecting. Very little information. I was cheap but somehow I still feel hard done by. Not worth the effort of sending it back. I shall avoid these guides in the future.
Published 3 months ago by Featheronawire


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coats of Arms, ,Andrew Stewart Jamieson, 15 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Coats of Arms (Pitkin Guides) (Paperback)
Beautiful book with all illustrations in colour. I don't know how they produced it for the price. All the elements of heraldry are included along with chapters devoted to church heraldry, guilds,royalty ,cities and scottish heraldry .
It explains ,in detail,with illustrations how to blazon a coat of arms which I found particularly interesting - this is clearly set out in front of you with the full achievement on one page marked with identifying arrows , and clear pictures and text illustrating the process of blazoning on the opposite page. Anyone like me who has found it difficult to follow verbal instructions on blazoning will grasp how to do it instantly. Worth buying for this alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The splendour of heraldry, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coats of Arms (Pitkin Guides) (Paperback)
A wonderful beginner's book on the subject, simply bursting with colour and excitement, as well as being fairly informative. perhaps a bigger book with more detail would have been a bonus and worth whatever added price this might has warranted. However, as a superficial introduction it does well to wet the appetite for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coats of Arms (Pitkin Guides) (Paperback)
Lee loves it. Always looking for more on the subject. Hoping others will order and read this book. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More of a thin magazine or a pamphlet than a book., 14 Sep 2014
This review is from: Coats of Arms (Pitkin Guides) (Paperback)
This is a 26 page pamphlet, not a book as I was expecting. Very little information. I was cheap but somehow I still feel hard done by. Not worth the effort of sending it back. I shall avoid these guides in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. B. J. Walker "Bookman" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coats of Arms (Pitkin Guides) (Paperback)
This I found was a very handy little book and a great help with my hobby. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Distinguishing Gules from Sable, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coats of Arms (Pitkin Guides) (Paperback)
Andrew Jamieson's book for Pitkin is an extremely colourful introduction to the art and science of heraldry. All of the book's twenty-eight pages are splashed with colour; as well they should be, given the need to distinguish gules from sable, azure from vert.

This is, of course, merely an introduction to a topic that can prove - and has proved - fascinating but also exacting to its practitioners. I am interested from the view of my own and other families' history and genealogy, rather than wishing to indulge in constructing a modern-day coat-of-arms for myself. Heraldry's continuation into the twenty-first century is, I fear, a sign of decadence and bad priorities: like the monarchy, its presence is just so much flummery, an expensive extravagance.

But, as Jamieson points out in his opening remarks, "From the dawn of civilization, people have adopted and used symbols to explain their existence, beliefs and culture ... As we begin the new millennium, heraldry still flourishes because of its ability to absorb the new, link it with the past and provide continuity with the present."

That's as maybe, but Jamieson certainly introduces the reader in a clear prose style to the basics of the subject and its ability to adopt innumerable permutations. Later he looks at royal heraldry before showing us illustrations of those adopted by modern institutions from cities to department stores. He ends by telling us anyone can aim to adopt a coat-of-arms, but this should only be done properly, of course, and having paid the appropriate fee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coats of Arms (Pitkin Guides)
Coats of Arms (Pitkin Guides) by Andrew Stewart Jamieson (Paperback - 1 Mar 1998)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews