Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars16
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£18.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
on 23 August 2001
Haywood and Nahmad's "A New Arabic Grammar of the Written Language" is a fully comprehensive and utterly indispensable grammar for the English or American student of Modern Standard Arabic.
It's size may be off-putting for some people, but really it oughtn't to be. It's a reference book, and as such is supposed only to be dipped into in order to consult the pertinent points required for one's use.
If it were any less voluminous it would not be as useful. I suppose this goes without saying: as with most reference books, the more content, generally the more worthwhile they are, but with "A New Arabic Grammar" it really holds true. It's impossible to try and learn a language without a good grammar and this is certainly the best grammar that's currently around. Believe me - I've looked!
A wealth of explicatory notes, with practice exercises interlaced between the different grammatical features examined and explored, means that Arabic grammar is dealt with in its entirety and in a really engaging way.
You don't just have to read and try and absorb. Haywood and Nahmad have designed it so that you practise the language as you go along; gradually progressing in difficulty, which means that you're more likely to be able to retain what you have learnt. This quasi-"interactive" approach is brilliant for both teacher and student.
This may seem daunting - a huge tome covering all of Arabic grammar, how couldn't it scare you? Don't be daunted. Truly, it's a treasure and for anyone who is really serious about getting to grips with Arabic, it's a fundamental text.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 24 December 2007
The best Arabic grammar book available in the English medium and better than many Arabic ones too. For serious students, not tourists. Lesssons build upon one another. The only criticism is that the answer book for end-of-chapter tests comes separately.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 30 November 2005
This book is hard work, but probably the best available for any serious western student. The book has is a simple structure with plenty of questions at the end of each section.

Remember to get the key for the book as the answers are not published in this book.

This book is also really good
Arabic: An Essential Grammar
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on 29 September 2003
For those fed up learning a language my memorizing touristy phrases, or these new 'wonderfully crap' methods then check out this book. What appealed to me about Hayward & Nahamd was its grammar orientated approach to understanding Arabic. The book's approach reminded me my schooldays of learning Latin: declining nouns, conjugating verbs and translating texts. It is worth noting that it was the Arabs who pioneered the most to the dicipline of understanding grammar, building on the preliminary work of the ancient Greeks; resulting in the classically famous books of Arabic grammar as Al-Ajroomiyyah, Qatr an-Nadr and the Al-Affiyyah.
If you want to learn Arabic, or any other language for that matter, do it properly instead of pithy little books/courses that seems to eminate from certain institutions.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 15 June 2009
A great book for the studetn serious about Arabic. Has all the essential grammar and more, and helps you improve through practical exercises. The format and style is consistent and the texts explored cover a wide variety so finish the book feeling you have covered alot. Plus it is excellent for building one's vocabulary up. Buy it and the key or get a teacher to check the answers over with you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 31 July 2009
I learnt written Arabic from this book - and am probably showing my age....

The positive points are:
1) It is very thorough. When learning written Arabic in particular, it is important to remember it is a highly grammatical language. You need to know the grammar inside and out. Whilst it maybe more "relevant" to learn some phrases first and picking up the grammar as you go, at the end of the day you will have a better understanding and foundation learning this way.
2) It is very clear with good choices of examples. Each chapter focuses on a particular grammatical point.
3) It is methodical, as in point one it doesn't take short cuts but at a cost of taking a while to allow the student to write even vaguely life-like sentences. Think of it as a long-term investment!!

So at the end of this course, you will have an extremely sound foundation in both the grammar and vocab. That said the bad points are:

1) The vocab is a bit funky. I would suggest it is slightly more geared to people studying classical arabic. Certainly the vocab would not be as helpful reading current events coverage in arabic.
2) There is no audio material. I am in two minds whether this is important or not. Fact is that no one speaks MSA and certainly no one speaks like the exercises in this book. On the other hand, getting used to the sounds and being able to listen to the exercises would help memorise the vocab.

In summary, I think it is one of the better textbooks out there. If you are serious then i would recommend it and its answer key. I would also suggest you always try to translate english into arabic, ie do the first sections from the english translations in the key to recreate the original sentences and then do the second set of exercises. If you can do english to arabic then you almost certainly can do arabic to english. The other thing is to try and be regular as it builds on itself. Good luck to all students, Arabic is a beautiful and fascinating language.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 18 October 2007
This was our standard textbook back in the 70s, when I started learning Arabic (from the greatest teacher of the language, Pierre Cachia). It compared wonderfully well with Wright (brilliant in its own way as a reference text for the really obscure stuff, but not much use for teaching/learning) and still compares well with any more recent grammar I've seen. You can't pick up Arabic without a solid knowledge of the grammar (which can be much enhanced by studying the classical Arab grammarians, who have a totally different take on the language). Much recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Arabic grammar is not for the faint-hearted, but this work is a useful tool in coming to terms with it. Examples are given both in Arabic and phonetic scripts, helping the non-native speaker improve their pronunciation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
This book was recommended to me by my teacher and I found it very useful especially the way it is structured. I would recommend it to anyone interested in learning Arabic and has good grasp of English language.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
An excellent book on Arabic Grammar. It is the standard book used for most university courses. Can get quite technical.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Arabic Through the Qur'an (Islamic Texts Society)
Arabic Through the Qur'an (Islamic Texts Society) by Alan Jones (Paperback - 29 Sept. 2005)

Mastering Arabic Grammar (Palgrave Master Series (Languages))
Mastering Arabic Grammar (Palgrave Master Series (Languages)) by Jane Wightwick (Paperback - 21 April 2005)

Key to a New Arabic Grammar
Key to a New Arabic Grammar by H. M. Nahmad (Paperback - 1 Jan. 1990)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
Have A Gift For Words? Get your Master of Arts in English!
Study Arabic Online and Completely for Free. Over 50 million users!