Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snort out loud (SOL)
Very, very funny. Just the right antidote when politicians get too full of themselves. Had several SOL moments which was unfortunate as I was in a public place and looked a bit mad! The section about the unfortunate mispronunciation of Jeremy Hunt's name and any reference to Sir Peter Tapsell were especially dangerous SOL moments.
Published on 9 Nov. 2012 by The LArk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not What I expected
A friend recommended this book as she said it was very funny. Might be my sense of humour but I thought the book was boring.
Published on 24 Dec. 2012 by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snort out loud (SOL), 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very, very funny. Just the right antidote when politicians get too full of themselves. Had several SOL moments which was unfortunate as I was in a public place and looked a bit mad! The section about the unfortunate mispronunciation of Jeremy Hunt's name and any reference to Sir Peter Tapsell were especially dangerous SOL moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books of this type I have read!, 26 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. M. C. Lewis "Martyn Lewis" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Send up the Clowns: Parliamentary Sketches 2007-11 (Paperback)
Given to me last Xmas this has kept me in stitches all year. Very good read for short bursts. Every chapter is different but linked. Can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sketch writing, 1 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Send up the Clowns: Parliamentary Sketches 2007-11 (Paperback)
This was my first read of Simon Hoggart's sketch writing and I will look out for his pieces in future. This is a book for the loo or the bath as they are short and sweet sketches and not taxing. It was great to review the last 4 years in parliament through this, with lots of 'oh yes, I remember that' moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas Pressie, 9 Jan. 2012
By 
Jennifer Snedden (Callander UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Send up the Clowns: Parliamentary Sketches 2007-11 (Paperback)
Very funny and entertaining book. Thoroughly recommend. Made a long flight more bearable. Have therefore ordered his other books for my husband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent simply first class, 13 Jan. 2013
This is one of the best political reviews you can buy. Balanced but with a wells weary eye on what our political elite really mean. I can't recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another way of looking at the House of Commons, 12 Aug. 2014
By 
G. Colville (Hertford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It made me laugh out loud on several occasions as Simon Hoggart pokes fun at the antics of the great and good in the House of Commons. He writes very well and uses some wonderfully expressive phrases to portray his thoughts. I gave up reading newspapers years ago and this book almost makes me want to start reading 'The Guardian' again to see some more parliamentary sketches. I recommend this book for its humour and insights into the goings-on in Parliament.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing writing, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant collection of articles and so perceptive and funny. Sorry to hear Simon has joined the sketch writers in heaven far too early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Funny Description of the House of Fun, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Send up the Clowns: Parliamentary Sketches 2007-11 (Paperback)
Simon is the best Sketch Writer and his descriptions of Mike Fab, the Blonde Wig Wearer , is hilarious as are his writings on Sir Peter Tapsell. The thought of the Hansard writers putting away their lap-tops and turning to illuminated manuscripts for the wise words of Sir Peter made me laugh out loud, as David Cameron would say to Rebekah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a good laugh!, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Send up the Clowns: Parliamentary Sketches 2007-11 (Paperback)
Simon Hoggart has a unique style of writing and an uncanny ability to pick out salient characteristics of his "victims". His sketches are very, very funny and will make you laugh out loud! Recommended for both "lefties" and dyed-in-the-wool Tories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simon Hoggart has a way with words., 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simon Hoggart spent years watching politicians perform in Parliament.
His humorous insight into their ways is well worth reading.
You can hear his own distinctive voice on every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Send up the Clowns: Parliamentary Sketches 2007-11
Send up the Clowns: Parliamentary Sketches 2007-11 by Simon Hoggart (Paperback - 29 Sept. 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews