Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for huge the wire fans
Great interviews and analysis by many. 90 per cent or so pro the wire analysis. Little criticism although is it possible to be critical of the greatest tv show ever?
Published on 24 Dec. 2012 by Chris

versus
30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting in places but lack cohesion and depth
I did enjoy this book but it's fairly lightweight and falls somewhere in between analysis and episode guide, not really succeeding at either.

Aside from a handful of interviews and top 5 lists the book consists of a brief blog post of each episode of the Wire. For the first couple of series these are followed by selected blog comments. The problem is that given...
Published on 12 Jan. 2010 by Mr E


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting in places but lack cohesion and depth, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wire Re-up: The Guardian guide to the greatest TV show ever made (Paperback)
I did enjoy this book but it's fairly lightweight and falls somewhere in between analysis and episode guide, not really succeeding at either.

Aside from a handful of interviews and top 5 lists the book consists of a brief blog post of each episode of the Wire. For the first couple of series these are followed by selected blog comments. The problem is that given the origin of text... blog posts by a lot of different people there is a lack of cohesion and tone from episode to episode. Limited space means that the level of analysis is fairly limited as well. As an episode guide it fails for similar reasons, there's no consistancy and while some entries discuss the episode in question, some will only focus on a specific character or theme.

For a Wire fan it's still a good read though. Anything that helps you relive "The Greatest TV Show Ever Made" can't be that bad!

A final word of warning... the entire thing is very spoiler heavy. Don't read it until you've finished the whole show as the entries for early epsiodes will often include details of events later in the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Wire Re-up... save your money, 23 Feb. 2010
By 
J. E. Cooper "jon_cooper" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wire Re-up: The Guardian guide to the greatest TV show ever made (Paperback)
As a huge fan of The Wire I was genuinely interested to see if The Wire Re-up would offer anything beyond the excellent HBO book which accompanies the series written by Rafael Alvarez. It doesn't.

Made up largely of blog type entries which you can read for free (if you're desperate) on any number of nauseatingly brown nosing web sites, this book seems to focus entirely on people congratulating themselves for getting The Wire.

Ignoring the central themes of each series; the futility of the war on drugs, the death of work, the failings of City Hall etc, the contributors to this book don't get much beyond "Wow... isn't Marlo mean?!" and "If I get what Felicia Pearson is saying, does that mean I'm street?"

Please don't buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for huge the wire fans, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great interviews and analysis by many. 90 per cent or so pro the wire analysis. Little criticism although is it possible to be critical of the greatest tv show ever?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really interesting breakdown of the episodes and the wider themes in The Wire. Keep in mind it is almost essentially just the articles from the Guardian website though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you love the Wire, get this book, 15 May 2011
By 
Steven (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wire Re-up: The Guardian guide to the greatest TV show ever made (Paperback)
I got into the Wire very late, watching all the Series in DVD box set form. As such I missed out on the chance to talk to people about what we were watching as it was happening. This book basically brings that experience to life in what is, in places, a book copied and pasted from the Guardian website.

The people who comment in the book are knowledgeable to a far greater degree and clarified for me a number of details that I didn't know I didn't know!

Basically if you want to fill the hole that you feel when you finish the Wire - this book will keep it alive for a little be longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's addictive!, 7 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. A. L. Whyte (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wire Re-up: The Guardian guide to the greatest TV show ever made (Paperback)
This book is great for any Wire fan, it gives yo that extra detailed fix of the social realism that is The Wire. The section sby the writers on the background to The Wire are really interesting. I would only read this after you've watched all 5 series of the programme as the risk of plot spoiling is high.
Not really a book fo rthe casual Wire viewer (if such a thing exists) and a must for the army of committed Wire fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for The Wire fans!, 9 Feb. 2010
By 
heath (nottingham, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wire Re-up: The Guardian guide to the greatest TV show ever made (Paperback)
If you don't know what all the fuss is over this show, then this book could well spark your interest - it is also for already-addicted-hooked-on-wire fans as it explores and illuminates details - as well as interviews with the writers and actors, there are comments from viewers as each series unfolded.
It's a fascinating read, with helpful references - well done to all the contributors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Wire? You'll love this book., 27 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. M. J. Payne (The North) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wire Re-up: The Guardian guide to the greatest TV show ever made (Paperback)
If you're a fan of the hit TV Series The Wire then this book is a must, I bought it a few days ago and read it in almost one sitting, really brings back the memories of one of my favourite TV Series ever. The two writers seem like big fans themselves and this really adds to the narative. The bonus of interviews with Cast and Crew makes this a 6 Star Rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, 30 Nov. 2009
This review is from: The Wire Re-up: The Guardian guide to the greatest TV show ever made (Paperback)
Although I have only watched the first season of the wire, this book and its blog are an excellent companion.

Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear, 8 May 2010
This review is from: The Wire Re-up: The Guardian guide to the greatest TV show ever made (Paperback)
after seeing this book advertised in the guardian many many times i bought it, regrettably without reading a couple of these reviews first. i have to agree with jon cooper (?) that this book is pointless,awful and not worth buying. it reads like a group of pub bores sitting around a pint and talking about their favourite television programme. if you were unfortunate to be sitting next to them you would move to a different table
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wire Re-up: The Guardian guide to the greatest TV show ever made
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews