Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much harder than in the paper
There's not much to say about a crossword book really. It's full of crosswords, much in the style of those found in the G2, and all the answers are in the back. But, the level of the crosswords seems to be much higher than that found in the G2 on a weekday. While I normally complete two or three a week in the paper, I didn't complete a crossword from this book until I got...
Published on 21 Aug. 2009 by Ian Shine

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little hard
I bought this book for my mother who does the Guardian quick crossword every day so it seemed the ideal Christmas stocking filler. However she has hardly touched it as it is just that bit too difficult for her and does not seem to reflect the quick crosswords printed in the daily paper. In this case I would therefore say the book was a little disappointing and has been...
Published on 7 Feb. 2012 by jammybee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much harder than in the paper, 21 Aug. 2009
By 
Ian Shine (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guardian Crosswords: Quick Two (Paperback)
There's not much to say about a crossword book really. It's full of crosswords, much in the style of those found in the G2, and all the answers are in the back. But, the level of the crosswords seems to be much higher than that found in the G2 on a weekday. While I normally complete two or three a week in the paper, I didn't complete a crossword from this book until I got to number 43, which was a little frustrating. However, I suppose this means I can keep going back to old crosswords and the book will last longer than an easier crossword book.
In terms of practicality, the book is strong, doesn't bend or crease easily, and the paper is easy to write on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little hard, 7 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Guardian Crosswords: Quick Two (Paperback)
I bought this book for my mother who does the Guardian quick crossword every day so it seemed the ideal Christmas stocking filler. However she has hardly touched it as it is just that bit too difficult for her and does not seem to reflect the quick crosswords printed in the daily paper. In this case I would therefore say the book was a little disappointing and has been left on the bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars what it says, 27 Oct. 2011
By 
Helen Falconer "goldfish" (Aylesbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guardian Crosswords: Quick Two (Paperback)
This arrived quickly and is exactly what you would expect - a selection of concise crosswords in a similar style to the ones in the Guardian paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't like it at all, 15 Nov. 2014
By 
Ian F. Duncan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guardian Crosswords: Quick Two (Paperback)
Not at all in the style of the daily Guardian crossword. Didn't like it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good challenge, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guardian Crosswords: Quick Two (Paperback)
Just right for me. Hard but not too hard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too easy for some!!, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guardian Crosswords: Quick Two (Paperback)
Can't finish any of them!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GUARDIAN CROSSWORDS QUICK 2, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guardian Crosswords: Quick Two (Paperback)
FRANKLY I DON'T HAVE THE MIND FOR "CRYPTIC" CLUES CONSEQUENTLY I ALWAYS BUY "QUICK" CROSSWORDS. I WASN'T AT ALL AMUSED TO COME ACROSS "CRYPTIC ONLY" CLUES AT PAGE 126 OF VOLUME 2 OF GUARDIAN "QUICK" CROSSWORDS,. THERE WAS NO MENTION OF IT ON THE COVER. I HAVE REALLY STRUGGLED BUT THAT PART OF THE BOOK IS WASTED ON ME AND I AM NOW OUT OF A BOOK AND I HATE WHEN THAT HAPPENS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guardian Crosswords: Quick Two
Guardian Crosswords: Quick Two by Hugh Stephenson (Paperback - 11 July 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews