Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars18
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2013
Boughtas a Christmas present for my mum who by the way is 88. She thinks it is fantastic and certainly tests her brain power.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
first class collection of crosswords from old to contemporary (nearly) .seem to me to be arranged in increasing difficulty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2010
Purely personally I see no point in crosswords that include words of which few have heard. Some of the clues have some wit and use a lot of ambiguity but what destroys it for me is that once you know how many obscure terms are sprinkled in, you can 'give up' on difficult ones when you could possibly have solved them. Primarily it is between you and the puzzle so having to resort to abstruse research works to find answers is like asking someone else to solve it for you; you might as well look at the solution in the back of the book! No problem with a dictionery if all you are doing is checking spelling or precise meaning etc. but beyond that step forward university challengers! Having said all that, Bunthorne's ingenuity is evident throughout this book.
44 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
I love it because it will give me hours of entertainment when I feel like doing a crossword and can't find a newspaper
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
My dad loves puzzles and these were no exception, made a good present and kept him going for hours So can't be bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
This wee book is absolutely fine for mental exercise, and I expect to order another in the series in due course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
Breakfast will never be the same. Certainly keeps the old brain ticking over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)