Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series : Gordius
This book is for genuine crossword enthusiasts and, as such, the clues are challenging which is great. They are also extremely well constructed and are a delight to get your teeth into. I thoroughly recommend this for anyone who loves crosswords.
Published on 12 Nov 2007 by Mr. P. D. Roberts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hours of fun
My dad loves puzzles and these were no exception, made a good present and kept him going for hours So can't be bad
Published 22 months ago by Ssusie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series : Gordius, 12 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. P. D. Roberts "puzzle haven" (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series: Gordius (Paperback)
This book is for genuine crossword enthusiasts and, as such, the clues are challenging which is great. They are also extremely well constructed and are a delight to get your teeth into. I thoroughly recommend this for anyone who loves crosswords.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gentle but testing, 14 Jan 2009
By 
R. J. Hobson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a devotee of the Guardian's cryptic crossword for nearly 20 years, I find their weekly selection nearly always runs the gamut between gently engaging and fiendishly impenetrable. Sitting nearer to the gentle side of the equation is Rufus. In my experience, he's reasonably faithful to the classic Ximenean rules and is rarely so obscure that you have to go running to Google or the dictionary. Perfect for enthusiasts who want an enjoyable romp rather than a teeth-grinding hour of agony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard and clever clues, 25 Jun 2009
By 
D. Smith (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've worked through the puzzles by Rufus and Gordius. Both compilers have provided some clever and amusing clues which can provide hours, in fact days, of entertainment. I preferred those by Rufus. They are a little easier and often witty. Some of those by Gordius have obscure solutions -- rare words, place names and so on -- which it seems to me require rather specialist knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like this collection, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very pleased to find this collection. I always used to enjoy doing crosswords set by Rufus when they appeared in the Times Educational Supplement and was very sorry when they stopped including it. This collection has the solutions in the back if you want to check.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keeping an old brain ticking over !, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This wee book is absolutely fine for mental exercise, and I expect to order another in the series in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Deal!, 20 Oct 2013
By 
R. Williams (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great crossword book. Absolutely as new at unbelievable price - also delivered very quickly. I would definitely recommend Orbitingbooks and will use them again when the occasion arises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars keeps your brain working., 18 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series: Gordius (Paperback)
If you are a fan of cryptic crosswords, this , little book will keep your synapses working for a very long time.
A great little book for dark winter evenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nothing on tele, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series: Gordius (Paperback)
I love it because it will give me hours of entertainment when I feel like doing a crossword and can't find a newspaper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He's one of the easier Guardian setters but still has you thinking! I'll order more titles - pity they're not currently doing Araucaria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crossword book, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Boughtas a Christmas present for my mum who by the way is 88. She thinks it is fantastic and certainly tests her brain power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series: Gordius
The "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series: Gordius by Hugh Stephenson (Paperback - 17 Oct 2007)
6.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews