Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series : Gordius
This book is for genuine crossword enthusiasts and, as such, the clues are challenging which is great. They are also extremely well constructed and are a delight to get your teeth into. I thoroughly recommend this for anyone who loves crosswords.
Published on 12 Nov. 2007 by Mr. P. D. Roberts

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's a "good" crossword?
Purely personally I see no point in crosswords that include words of which few have heard. Some of the clues have some wit and use a lot of ambiguity but what destroys it for me is that once you know how many obscure terms are sprinkled in, you can 'give up' on difficult ones when you could possibly have solved them. Primarily it is between you and the puzzle so having to...
Published on 9 May 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series : Gordius, 12 Nov. 2007
By 
Mr. P. D. Roberts "puzzle haven" (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is for genuine crossword enthusiasts and, as such, the clues are challenging which is great. They are also extremely well constructed and are a delight to get your teeth into. I thoroughly recommend this for anyone who loves crosswords.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gentle but testing, 14 Jan. 2009
By 
R. J. Hobson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series: Rufus (Paperback)
As a devotee of the Guardian's cryptic crossword for nearly 20 years, I find their weekly selection nearly always runs the gamut between gently engaging and fiendishly impenetrable. Sitting nearer to the gentle side of the equation is Rufus. In my experience, he's reasonably faithful to the classic Ximenean rules and is rarely so obscure that you have to go running to Google or the dictionary. Perfect for enthusiasts who want an enjoyable romp rather than a teeth-grinding hour of agony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard and clever clues, 25 Jun. 2009
By 
D. Smith (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series: Rufus (Paperback)
I've worked through the puzzles by Rufus and Gordius. Both compilers have provided some clever and amusing clues which can provide hours, in fact days, of entertainment. I preferred those by Rufus. They are a little easier and often witty. Some of those by Gordius have obscure solutions -- rare words, place names and so on -- which it seems to me require rather specialist knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series: Rufus (Paperback)
He's one of the easier Guardian setters but still has you thinking! I'll order more titles - pity they're not currently doing Araucaria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like this collection, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series: Rufus (Paperback)
I was very pleased to find this collection. I always used to enjoy doing crosswords set by Rufus when they appeared in the Times Educational Supplement and was very sorry when they stopped including it. This collection has the solutions in the back if you want to check.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She was very happy with it and plenty in there to keep her ..., 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series: Rufus (Paperback)
Bought this for my Mum for a little extra Christmas present as she's an avid Guardian cryptic crossword fan. She was very happy with it and plenty in there to keep her occupied for a good long while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Deal!, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
R. Williams (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great crossword book. Absolutely as new at unbelievable price - also delivered very quickly. I would definitely recommend Orbitingbooks and will use them again when the occasion arises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars keeps your brain working., 18 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a fan of cryptic crosswords, this , little book will keep your synapses working for a very long time.
A great little book for dark winter evenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crossword book, 17 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Boughtas a Christmas present for my mum who by the way is 88. She thinks it is fantastic and certainly tests her brain power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's a "good" crossword?, 9 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purely personally I see no point in crosswords that include words of which few have heard. Some of the clues have some wit and use a lot of ambiguity but what destroys it for me is that once you know how many obscure terms are sprinkled in, you can 'give up' on difficult ones when you could possibly have solved them. Primarily it is between you and the puzzle so having to resort to abstruse research works to find answers is like asking someone else to solve it for you; you might as well look at the solution in the back of the book! No problem with a dictionery if all you are doing is checking spelling or precise meaning etc. but beyond that step forward university challengers! Having said all that, Bunthorne's ingenuity is evident throughout this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series: Rufus
The "Guardian" Cryptic Crosswords Setters Series: Rufus by Hugh Stephenson ed (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews