Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2004
This is an excellent book written with the home machinist firmly in mind. It makes an excellent primer for anyone new to the lathe and also contains many usefull tips that will mean it is refered to time and again. The author clearly describes various methods of working and gives real examples of hoe to overcome problems that are likely to be encounterded by amateur machinists. This book was highly recomended to me, and having read it I am happy to recomend it.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
An excellent overview, well suited to those just starting as well as a useful reference and memory-jogger for the more experienced engineer.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
The book arrived promptly and well packaged, with correct postage pre-paid. The explanations and examples are well done for even the novice, me, to understand. I've just bought a hobby mini-lathe and this explained all that I could achieve with the standard equipment. It also guided me as to what additional equipment I needed, 4 jaw chuck, face plate, fixed 3 point steady. It also included information to ensue my set-up was correct and tips on how to check and correct.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
A comprehensive guide to workholding. Clear explanations though some of the photographs are dark. Tubal Cain has an engaging style which makes the technical aspects more accessible than in other books in this series. A good supplement to basic guides and easy for a beginner to understand.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
very helpfull ,very usefull,.ten out of ten what more can i say,it contains very usefull information,read before putting into practice
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Anything by Tom Walshaw aka Tubal Cain is worth reading. Especially so, for his no nonsense, common sense approach.
For any newcomer, being able to hold a job securely and safely in the Lathe is a vital skill that needs to be learnt. I would recommend this wee book to anyone getting a lathe for the first time. You will learn a lot, you will also see just how versatile a lathe can be...when holding jobs that are possible a bit out of the ordinary.

Only negative is that the photos are starting to get quite dark, with each subsequent re-printing. This is something that the Publishers should take on board.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
have purchased others in the series and found them of excellent help and a very good source of reference indeed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
Great little book for both beginner and as a refresher for the seasoned lathe operator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
very usefull
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
excellent from a true expert
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)