Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars47
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2009
I bought this book as i needed something to use in the workshop and that could fit in my tool box. The information within the book is very helpful and set out clearly. Also the picture and diagrams aid with the practical use of the book.
One thing though is that the book gets quite scientific in parts, this is not a criticism, although personally speaking i did not need it to get so in-depth. But i have learnt alittle more about metals and thier treatments.
So i would recommend it to anyone interested and beginning to work with metals. This will cover the basics of heat treatments very well and will also give some scientific background, to back up practical knowledge.
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2010
As a metalworker (primarily a blacksmith) with a need and interest in the metallurgy behind the processes i'm covering, this is an invaluable resource tool, covering everything it states in the title.

Very approachable, linking up the visuals of what is occurring, right through to the changes at the atomic level of the different metals.

Diagrams, photographs (including colour) and sketches are well placed to aid a clear understanding.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
To the normal high standard of the Workshop Practice series.
This is a must for anyone starting out and should also be on everyones shelf for reference, unless you can remember everything!
Covers every aspect of the topic in an easy to understand style, that is typical of this great master.
Having been involved with engineering for 40 years I found that after reading the chapter on Tempering there was a method so easy I can't understad why it's not common practice. Has worked for me with 100% success. In fact there's something to learn in every chapter.
Recommended without condition.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2008
It's not too clear in the title but this book is specifically about treating steel, it does cover other materials briefly.
I had a basic understanding heat treatments before this book but did not understand why the steel changed when you heated and cooled it. The book starts with a nice history of working iron into steel and the different types of steel. It follows with lots of scientific detail as to what is happening in the metal when it is treated. For people with no background in science this might be a little hard going. However, the science is balanced with lots of practical details of how to do all of the different heat treatment of steel and when not to attempt this. The book is clearly written with good digrams and images.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2010
I find this series of books a little hit and miss, but this one (being written by "Tubal Cain") is a definite hit. Lots of useful information, a little metallurgical background, and a clear and informal presentation. Highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
a great and well made book and is a god send for anybody who is hardening or tempering or if they are just interested in metal work and the uses of diffrent metals
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 July 2008
Tubal Cain covers all that he states that he will cover: and he does it with ease. One caveat: current legislation would suggest that unless you have electrical qualifications then it is best not to try and build some of the electrical equipment proposed in the book. Tubal intimates that perhaps we have gone too far in that respect, but from my youth I can recall that employers had little regard for health and safety issues.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
Although aimed at an audience of amature people in their garages with limited resources, this book gives you all the necessary information for anyone to use plain carbon steels to their full.

Emphasis is on understanding the hardening and tempering process along with precise colour charts. The author has taken such great care to provide the reader with such colour temperature swatches that anyone should be able to produce a spring or two on a gas stove.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
good book , though quite technical. will be a great book to keep for reference in this important metalwork skill
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
The book arrived promptly and well packaged, with correct postage pre-paid. The explanations and examples are well done for even the novice, me, to understand. I've just read the book through, but not yet put into practice any hardening or tempering. I found the explanations for the processes clear and exiting, I'm looking forward to doing the tasks described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)