Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes heat treatment a lot easier
I bought this book as i needed something to use in the workshop and that could fit in my tool box. The information within the book is very helpful and set out clearly. Also the picture and diagrams aid with the practical use of the book.
One thing though is that the book gets quite scientific in parts, this is not a criticism, although personally speaking i did not...
Published on 9 Mar 2009 by S. Evans

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ferrous metals only.
The title does not mention this publication covers aspects of "iron" heat treatment only. A few words regarding copper would have been a +. Overall OK though.
Published 6 days ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes heat treatment a lot easier, 9 Mar 2009
By 
S. Evans (Mid Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hardening, Tempering and Heat Treatment (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
I bought this book as i needed something to use in the workshop and that could fit in my tool box. The information within the book is very helpful and set out clearly. Also the picture and diagrams aid with the practical use of the book.
One thing though is that the book gets quite scientific in parts, this is not a criticism, although personally speaking i did not need it to get so in-depth. But i have learnt alittle more about metals and thier treatments.
So i would recommend it to anyone interested and beginning to work with metals. This will cover the basics of heat treatments very well and will also give some scientific background, to back up practical knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource for metalworkers, 27 Jun 2010
This review is from: Hardening, Tempering and Heat Treatment (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
As a metalworker (primarily a blacksmith) with a need and interest in the metallurgy behind the processes i'm covering, this is an invaluable resource tool, covering everything it states in the title.

Very approachable, linking up the visuals of what is occurring, right through to the changes at the atomic level of the different metals.

Diagrams, photographs (including colour) and sketches are well placed to aid a clear understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardening and Tempering, 30 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardening, Tempering and Heat Treatment (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
To the normal high standard of the Workshop Practice series.
This is a must for anyone starting out and should also be on everyones shelf for reference, unless you can remember everything!
Covers every aspect of the topic in an easy to understand style, that is typical of this great master.
Having been involved with engineering for 40 years I found that after reading the chapter on Tempering there was a method so easy I can't understad why it's not common practice. Has worked for me with 100% success. In fact there's something to learn in every chapter.
Recommended without condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good balance of theory and practical, 31 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. A. Clark "Workshopshed" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hardening, Tempering and Heat Treatment (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
It's not too clear in the title but this book is specifically about treating steel, it does cover other materials briefly.
I had a basic understanding heat treatments before this book but did not understand why the steel changed when you heated and cooled it. The book starts with a nice history of working iron into steel and the different types of steel. It follows with lots of scientific detail as to what is happening in the metal when it is treated. For people with no background in science this might be a little hard going. However, the science is balanced with lots of practical details of how to do all of the different heat treatment of steel and when not to attempt this. The book is clearly written with good digrams and images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful information, 18 Aug 2010
By 
J. C. Laughton "Jon Laughton" (Olney, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardening, Tempering and Heat Treatment (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
I find this series of books a little hit and miss, but this one (being written by "Tubal Cain") is a definite hit. Lots of useful information, a little metallurgical background, and a clear and informal presentation. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardening, Tempering and Heat Treatment (Workshop Practice), 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: Hardening, Tempering and Heat Treatment (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
a great and well made book and is a god send for anybody who is hardening or tempering or if they are just interested in metal work and the uses of diffrent metals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book, 6 July 2008
By 
ReviewMan "Large" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hardening, Tempering and Heat Treatment (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
Tubal Cain covers all that he states that he will cover: and he does it with ease. One caveat: current legislation would suggest that unless you have electrical qualifications then it is best not to try and build some of the electrical equipment proposed in the book. Tubal intimates that perhaps we have gone too far in that respect, but from my youth I can recall that employers had little regard for health and safety issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VG, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardening, Tempering and Heat Treatment (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
good book , though quite technical. will be a great book to keep for reference in this important metalwork skill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hardening Tempering and Heat Treatment, 8 Mar 2009
By 
M. Brown "MalBrown" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hardening, Tempering and Heat Treatment (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
The book is a mine of information on the techniques, but is let down by use of imperial terminology and units. One wonders when the units are 30 years out of date, maybe the techniques are too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardening, Tempering and Heat Treatment (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
very usefull
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hardening, Tempering and Heat Treatment (Workshop Practice)
Hardening, Tempering and Heat Treatment (Workshop Practice) by Tubal Cain (Paperback - 31 Jan 1998)
£6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews