Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2014
Jeremy Walker has placed us in his debt with this balanced assessment of the New Calvinism. He writes with an easy style, but also with substance. It is a book that demands re-reading often.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
I found this a most helpful book and very profitable. Jeremy Walker deals with issues presented by New Calvinists is a very sensitive, caring yet firm way. He is critical when he needs to be and points out the weaknesses and highlights the strengths of this movement. A book that every discerning Christian should read
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
A balanced review of the New Calvinism scene,dealing with its dangers,warning of its deceptions without belittling those who promote
it.Wolfs in sheeps clothing need careful handling and Jeremy Walker has I think achieved it
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Although Jeremy Walker claims not to be an expert on the ‘New Calvinism’, his book demonstrates the broad knowledge of a well-qualified guide. He offers some personal reflections on his own observations, writing in the same racy style found on his blog, ‘the Wanderer’ ([...] ). Walker doesn’t attempt a definition of the New Calvinist movement, given the hazy and hotly-debated nature of its outer boundaries, but he explores its spectrum of opinions and identifies several common, if not definitive, characteristics.

This book wouldn’t serve as a great introduction to someone who is completely new to the subject. It assumes a basic familiarity with the New Calvinist conferences, mega-churches, books, websites and ‘big names’. Walker shows us the vast landscape of the movement, pointing out features which we may have spotted before, and seeks to interpret them for us.

There are many high points in the landscape: a focus on the work of Christ and the grace of God; a heart for mission; a biblical view of gender roles; an exploitation of technological and cultural opportunities for the gospel; and a commitment to bible preaching. But there are other parts of the landscape where the traveller should tread with caution. Here Walker lists pragmatism and commercialism (in pursuit of size and influence); an unbalanced view of culture (sometimes becoming submerged rather than engaged); a troubling approach to holiness (opening the door to antinomianism); a potentially dangerous ecumenism; confusion about the cessation of some spiritual gifts; and a triumphalism which can border on arrogance.

Because the movement is so nebulous, he is forced to generalise, and some readers may therefore question some of his assessments. But as I read it dawned on me that the New Calvinism isn’t just the American phenomenon I had previously taken it to be. Walker gives examples of its influence in British evangelical churches, colleges and organisations, and suddenly it felt very close to home. It made sense of some of the words I’ve been hearing or reading more often – like ‘all of life is worship’, ‘we’re not under law but under grace’, ‘engaging with the culture’, and the current buzzword, ‘missional’. While there’s some truth behind each example, there’s also a risk of an unbiblical imbalance, to which this book could serve as a corrective.

Before we panic at the shrill voices of condemnation, or get swept up by the siren voices of unthinking enthusiasm, Walker concludes by pointing us to a better course: to hold onto the full, balanced and rich bible Christianity of the historical confessions, and to concentrate on spiritual growth and service in the context of a biblical local church. Unexciting as it sounds, perhaps the ‘Old Calvinism’ is still the safest ground.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
A very well written book. Jeremy's evaluation of New Calvanism is written with care and fairness. As someone who was saved into New Calvinist Churches, I was grateful for the positive conclusions Jeremy makes about the movement. But as someone who has also witnessed many problems in New Calvanism and need up becoming disillusioned with it, I therefore wholeheartedly agree with his challenges to the movement, and would recommend anyone in the movement read this book, and take heed to his cautions about the movement as a whole. It is not easy to write a book evaluating a movement which has so many nuances, but he does a good job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Jeremy has written a vary well researched book which is essential reading for anyone seriously interested in the New Calvinism.

I warmly recommend it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
I heard the author speak on this topic at my church in the Philippines. Basically the book is a expanded version of the lecture. It is a considered and balanced assessment of the "New Calvinism" movement mentioning well known names eg John Piper. It highlights the dangers of the movement and explains these Biblically but the author also documents the positive aspects of the movement. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
This author gives some timely warnings re a tendency to 'follow the crowd' or 'pander to popularity'. However, he fails to interact with New Covenant Theology adequately and spends no time dealing with John Reisinger or Charles Leiter whose excellent book 'The Law of Christ' deserves a wide readership. Any book of this sought ought to deal properly with 1 Cor 9 and Heb 8, which is not in evidence. Also the presupposition re the 4th commandment is assumed along with the general covenantal stance of the so-called moral law. I would love to see a fuller interaction as changes are needed from all the Bible loving God honouring quarters in certain regards
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)