Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHRISTMAS SEASON AT THE RITZ
This is a lovely festive little book about Christmas. The first chapter; "Christmas at the Ritz", describes with detail how the Christmas season is celebrated at the London Ritz, from the week before Christmas until Boxing Day. The traditional and lavish celebrations described, make one dream of a perfect Christmas and provide excellent ideas for new family...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by Eleni

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Small and Disappointing
Fortunately I paid little for this book. I was expecting a nice book full of pictures and recipes, instead it is more of a history of Christmas, with a few very 'olde tyme' recipes and black and white sketches. I was hoping for tips and tricks and secrets of the Ritz's Christmas preparations, but was sorely disappointed.
Published 13 months ago by Andy Mccoll


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHRISTMAS SEASON AT THE RITZ, 4 Aug 2010
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The London Ritz Book Of Christmas (Hardcover)
This is a lovely festive little book about Christmas. The first chapter; "Christmas at the Ritz", describes with detail how the Christmas season is celebrated at the London Ritz, from the week before Christmas until Boxing Day. The traditional and lavish celebrations described, make one dream of a perfect Christmas and provide excellent ideas for new family traditions.

The second chapter; "The Customs of Christmas Past", presents Christmas customs from around the world. Traditions are presented, like carolling, Christmas trees, house decorations, and the sending of cards, with their origins and how they were incorporated into British Christmas celebrations.

The third chapter; "The Twelve Days of Christmas", deals with the celebrations of the days after Christmas from Boxing Day to the Twelfth Night. There are detailed descriptions of the festivities, poems, trivia and lovely traditional recipes like "Glazed Ham" and "Celeriac and Stilton Soup".

The next few chapters; "Christmas Diners", "The Food of Old England", "Festive Cakes and Biscuits", and "Yuletide Cocktails", provide recipes for the above categories. The excellent recipes, among others, the "Roast Turkey with Chestnut and Sausagemeat Stuffing", the traditional "Mince Pies", the "Roast Goose with Prune Stuffing", the "Twelfth Night Cake" and the wines, cocktails and canapés served at the Ritz ,are great and accompanied by lovely Christmas stories, poems and trivia.

Wonderful addition to this book are the home made gift ideas from the last chapter; "Stocking Fillers". Various preserves and truffles can be beautiful and special Christmas gifts for loved ones.

In total, a very well written and festive book about the "Art & Traditions of Christmas", that provides excellent ideas about cooking, decorating, and celebrating during the Christmas season. In addition, as the book is very pretty it is an excellent stocking filler which will be greatly appreciated by anyone who enjoys Christmas. The book can be beautifully paired with another lovely little book from the Ritz London book series; The London Ritz Book of Afternoon Tea: The Art and Pleasures of Taking Tea.

Have a very Happy Christmas!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Small and Disappointing, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Ritz Book Of Christmas (Hardcover)
Fortunately I paid little for this book. I was expecting a nice book full of pictures and recipes, instead it is more of a history of Christmas, with a few very 'olde tyme' recipes and black and white sketches. I was hoping for tips and tricks and secrets of the Ritz's Christmas preparations, but was sorely disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant stocking filler, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Ritz Book Of Christmas (Hardcover)
After visiting the Ritz for champagne and Christmas tea I bought this for my daughter as a memento. She is very pleased with it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars victorian christmas, 3 Oct 2010
By 
P. Nimmo "Joris" (Crewe England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Ritz Book Of Christmas (Hardcover)
an excellant book to remind you of the christmas's we used to have with snow coal fires and wooden toyes and an orange in your stocking.Lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book of ideas, 17 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Ritz Book Of Christmas (Hardcover)
This is a small book, but the ideas of what they do at Christmas in the Ritz make good reading, and inspiration abounds for your own festiveties
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the London Ritz Book of Christmas, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Ritz Book Of Christmas (Hardcover)
I would recommend it to friends.
(I don't remember the other 2 questions because they have disappeared.
I am 77 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that good, 7 Jan 2011
By 
G. Mills "Pipkins Pal" (Swansea Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Ritz Book Of Christmas (Hardcover)
I purchased this as I already had the London Ritz Book of Afternoon Tea. Although the Christmas book is interesting to a degree I would say it is not as good as the AFternoon Tea book which has more recipes and interesting articles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The London Ritz Book Of Christmas
The London Ritz Book Of Christmas by Jennie Reekie (Hardcover - 19 Oct 1989)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews