Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 June 2010
This is a lovely little book about afternoon tea. It contains many really good classic recipes for sandwiches and cakes, jams and scones to go with tea as well as information about different kinds of tea and how to prepare the perfect pot. In addition there are lots of tea trivia and references to literature; my personal favorite is the glorified cucumber sandwich in Oscar Wilde's "The Importance of Being Ernest". Finally as the book is one of the Ritz London book series, it describes how afternoon tea is served at the Ritz and the history of that elegant institution. A great cookbook to have, for anyone who enjoys drinking tea.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2001
This little Victorian-style book in peach, black and white has lots of stories about the history of the afternoon tea as well as all the traditional recipes. Stories about the origins of the afternoon tea are illustrated with passages from Dickens to Oscar Wilde. There are chapters on 'winter teas', 'summer teas' and chapters on 'foreign cakes and wicked cakes'. There is a wealth of recipes as well as a description of how a to cook them. This is an ideal little book for an experienced cook who has been searching for a particular traditional recipe, this book is sure to have it.
0Comment|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the perfect book, for ANYONE who has ever savored a PERFECT CUP OF TEA, in sumptuous surroundings... this includes putting a special cloth on the kitchen table, and bringing out the best china, JUST BECAUSE !!! The English not only brought Tea from the East to Europe, they also managed to bring some of the ceremony with it. There is something very comforting in a ceremony. You might want to read this, whilst sipping a hot cup of tea !!! This book is a good read, as well as an elegant guide to this timeless ceremony. It is SO good, in fact, that I am going to buy ANOTHER as a CHRISTMAS GIFT !!!
Submitted with the greatest pleasure, by Michelle Williams
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
There are some nice little recipes in the book, some quirky bits of odd information, but I was just disappointed that there were no colour photos of the finished recipes.
It is an interesting little book, just a slight let down imo, the sleeve is awash with colour, but on opening the book it is a disappointment to find just pencil line drawings.
I like the look of recipes though.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2012
I was a bit disappointed. Expecting a book with the standard of such a grand hotel, but inside very dull, no photos, poor drawings and graphics. I love afternoon tea, and was looking for inspiration to extend or renew my afternoon tea selection, what a miss!
Wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Expensive for what it is.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2010
Bought for someone to go along with a gift voucher for tea at the ritz- was much cheaper at amazon than to buy on the ritz website. Delicious looking book with great recipies. Arrived on time and in good condition
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
i was lucky enough to 'Take Tea' at the Ritz in London a couple of years back, and the experience was exquisite. This little book has classic recipes for sandwiches, cakes, jams, and scones as well as loads of information about the different kinds of tea and how to make the perfect pot. If you ever get the chance, go for the real deal at the London Ritz, but in the meantime, enjoy this little treat.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
I love this book, great receipes for either light lunch or afternoon tea. It also gives you good knowledge about most of the teas we use everyday, where the are originated from and how to brew them. Very fast delivery, book arrived quicker than time stated by company. Have recommend it and will continueing doing so. I give it ten stars which in my opinion it deserve.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
Had a wonderful day last week with family I cooked several items and made rose tea very one was impressed and wanted to see the book I am sure they will want one
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
This is an absolutely charming little book. With the history of taking tea, and recipes for traditional scones and other such yummy things, it made the perfect birthday present for a dear friend of mine. I even managed to find an antique 3 piece tea set to go with it! It would make a lovely gift for anyone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)