Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, well laid out and very informative!!
I wanted as much information as possible to help with a complete rewire but thought I'd start with a book that gave me the basic information in an easy to read book. This book gave me both!! Clear diagrams, photographs and explanations is helping me through a complete rewire of the whole house including additional external circuits for my workshop. Everything i need to...
Published on 23 Mar 2002 by Kingsley Starling

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to domestic wiring
This book is fine for the diyer who wants to improve his/her electrical system. good explanation and clear diagrams. the only bad thing about the book is the lack of a basic introduction to testing. No mention of the industry standard "megger" test. Ok for the smaller project but for things like rewires call a qualified sparky.
Published on 16 May 2001 by MR J M Southern


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, well laid out and very informative!!, 23 Mar 2002
By 
Kingsley Starling "Konsultancy" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Which?" Book of Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
I wanted as much information as possible to help with a complete rewire but thought I'd start with a book that gave me the basic information in an easy to read book. This book gave me both!! Clear diagrams, photographs and explanations is helping me through a complete rewire of the whole house including additional external circuits for my workshop. Everything i need to know before calling out the Electricity board to test and connect me up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electric wiring ciruits clearly explained., 11 July 2003
This review is from: "Which?" Book of Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
This is a very well writen book, for those wishing to re-wire, add to exsisting or just understand home electical circuits.
It covers, in easy to understand terms, the whole gambit of elecrical instillations.
I'm sure those interested in or about to under go electrical work, will find this book invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tackle a complete rewire with this book, 28 Feb 2001
By 
This review is from: "Which?" Book of Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
Perfect for DIY geeks.
I managed to rewire a complete house using this book as a guide. The only problem is some small changes have been made to the regulations (like using red sleeving for all lighting connections, not just red insulating tape) and it's not too clear on sizes required for earthing. However, my install was approved by an electrician with little hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good all round informative book for the layman, 1 April 2002
This review is from: "Which?" Book of Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
I found the book to be very informative and easy to understand. It gave me the confidence to carry out some of my own wiring projects ie house to garage power connection, shaver socket in the bathroom and additional lighting.
The book is very well illustated and has a wealth of useful tips. Above all the book is upto date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book for the first time home Electrician, 4 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: "Which?" Book of Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
I found the Which book of wiring and lighting to be very informative, with easy to follow pictures and diagrams:
It was well laid out and dispelled any fears about a subject that is actually easier to get to grips with than most imagine, just remember to turn the power off at the mains!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Clear & Concise for the 'beginner', 29 Jun 2003
By 
Mr. M. Armstrong "sparkiemark16" (Gutersloh, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Which?" Book of Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
Very informative, good detailed descriptions and photographs for anybody wishing to 'dabble' in domestic DIY mains wiring. Alterations to any circuits 'should' be carried out in-line with the current IEE wiring regulations. If in doubt, and to be on the safe side, consult a qualified electrician before commencing any electrical work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book for D.I.Y'er, 9 Feb 2009
By 
Square Ball (Middle England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book for a keen (but novice) DIYer. The book contains step-by-step written instruction, with some wiring diagrams and clear, helpful pictures of electrical installations to ensure you are doing things the right way. Each job is broken down and explained in full, from extra sockets, shaver powerpoints in bathrooms, electric shower installs to a complete home rewire. My only (slight) criticism would be that the book needs an update, it doesn't contain the lastest legislation which came into effect in January 2005. Overall though, it's worthy of the 5 stars - and has encouraged me to purchase other Which? titles for other projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to domestic wiring, 16 May 2001
This review is from: "Which?" Book of Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
This book is fine for the diyer who wants to improve his/her electrical system. good explanation and clear diagrams. the only bad thing about the book is the lack of a basic introduction to testing. No mention of the industry standard "megger" test. Ok for the smaller project but for things like rewires call a qualified sparky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this is still one of the best guides to DIY wiring in the home being packed ..., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was unable to find an up-to-date version of this. Although written in the nineties and not complying with the latest regs, this is still one of the best guides to DIY wiring in the home being packed with practical advice and examples. You just need to interpret it in the light of the latest regs. If an updated version did become available then I would buy it and award it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book., 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as i have been updating my house, i found this book very with my improvements, and would recomend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Which?" Book of Wiring and Lighting
"Which?" Book of Wiring and Lighting by Mike Lawrence (Paperback - 27 April 2000)
Used & New from: £0.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews