Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puritan prayers, 16 Mar. 2007
By 
G. J. Weeks (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The late author was known to me as a lecturer at All Nations Christian College . His lectures were not memorable but his book is. This is a book I have read more than once. I recommend it as a devotional guide for Christian prayer. Puritans were usually against set forms of prayer. The prayers here are more according to Puritan theology than to their practice. A young Christian may have to study to understand them. The language is thee and thou but this is an excellent collection of reformed, Calvinistic spirituality. In language, Bennett is not Cranmer but he has given us a great aid to devotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good thinking read, 3 Jun. 2008
By 
R. Edwards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions (Leather Bound)
Although the language is not contemporary it really causes you to evaluate the depth of meaning in each line. Dont be put off it is really worth grappling with and is a great enabler for both public and private meditation and worship
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely recommend, 30 Nov. 2009
By 
I. Roxas (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions (Leather Bound)
As R. Edwards previously said, don't be put off by the Old English. Once you get over the initial shock you'll find the prayers rich and meaningful - seriously good meditation material. I find the book very helpful as I want to improve in my prayer life. Just the way these Puritans express themselves in prayer, showing depth of biblical understanding and applying God's truths to everyday life, it's really inspiring. If you want to be a 'prayer warrior' and shake the gates of heaven, as it were, this is NOT a manual. Nevertheless, there's much to learn from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential purchase for the prayerful believer, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions (Leather Bound)
‘The Valley of Vision’ is a devotional book produced by the evangelical and reformed publisher ‘Banner of Truth’. In this book you will find a gold mine of prayerful writings by the likes of John Bunyan, Richard Baxter and Charles Spurgeon.

This is a great introduction to the puritans and the way they write. There is a deep honesty in the prayers of contrition that we would expect to hear from someone truly convicted of their sin. One entry titled ‘Purification’ contains the following words: ‘Lord Jesus, I sin – Grant that I may never cease grieving because of it….Deliver me Attachment from things unclean…that with self-loathing, deep contrition, earnest heart searching, I may come to thee, cast myself on thee, trust in thee, cry to thee and be delivered by thee.’

In this book are collections of prayers and thoughts titled: ‘God the all’, ‘Divine Mercies’, ‘Praise and Thanksgiving’ and ‘Fullness in Christ’. There is truly a ‘song for every season’.

‘The Valley of Vision’ has been one of the best purchases I have ever made and it has assisted my prayers and how I bring my sins and worries to the Lord. I pray that it will do the same for you.
Soli Deo Gloria
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Valley of Vision, 30 Aug. 2010
I'm very impressed with this book and am using some of the prayers from time to time in devotions with my family, selecting on themes which are in line with what we are looking at. In this respect the organisation is prayer subject matter most helpful. I heartily recommend this fine book as a spur, but not a replacement, to one's devotional prayer life, both solely and with family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions (Leather Bound)
This is an excellent book. It is a collection of prayers of people who are in the Puritan frame of mind.

Occasionally, it is difficult to know exactly what is meant but after a little thought they reveal their treasures. An excellent stimulus to prayer and meditation.

The quality of the book binding etc is that usually found in Bibles and the Book of Common Prayer.

Only one complaint: I wish that the authors of each prayer had been identified
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep and inspiring, 9 Aug. 2011
By 
J. Tindall (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions (Leather Bound)
I had the paperback copy of this for many years until it fell apart. This new binding is attractive and robust. The contents are rich and encouraging. The prayers are uplifting and inspiring as they are full of sound doctrine couched in devotional language. I find that there is an engaging quality about this material that never fails to lift my heart in adoration of the Triune God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prayers and devotions, 10 Dec. 2011
This is a good book although the language used is old and in places difficult to wade through. However if you take the time and effort the experience can be rewarding, to stretch your prayer experience on you road to Jesus. Some of the devotions are stunningly beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions (Leather Bound)
Great inspiration to kick start your praying. The language is quite archaic (though not too bad) so you have to get passed the 'thee's and 'thine's, but then there are lots of wonderful truths, expressed in vivid ways that help to soften the heart and fuel prayer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure, 25 May 2010
By 
This review is from: The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions (Leather Bound)
This little book is quality in it's presentation only bettered by the quality of the words within. It is more than deserving of its leather binding
I must be careful and not make this book sound like it is scripture, so impressed have I been with the depth of the content.
The meditations bring the Christian to many neglected corners of faith. The prayers explore the heights of God's grace and love, the width of His justice and the depths of the human heart.
I am in a dilema with this book. It is so good, I want to spend more time in it but it is rich food and is not intended to be devoured in large chunks. Each meditation contains enough thought to be revisited time and time again.
With clear type-face, this book is now an established friend.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions
The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions by Arthur Bennett (Leather Bound - 19 Aug. 2002)
£19.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews