Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars22
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2007
A good basic introduction to the biomechanics of correct movement in the horse and the effects of incorrect riding. It is easy to read and well illustrated. A must for those who are unfamiliar with the reasons why we school in the first place, and places emphasis back on taking time to school correctly and stop fiddling with horses heads. Particularly to read if you use draw reins, or hyperflexion...it will hopefully change your mind about the validity of such methods.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2008
An inspirational book! Borrowed a friends book first and was so inspired I bought 3 new books, one for myself , my trainer (not that she needed it!), and a fellow rider. It explains in no uncertain terms the physiological reasons why force does not work with horses , but also explains what we should be aiming to achieve and why. Having said that it puts the subject in straightforward terms which are easy to read and understand. An absolute must for the rider who cares about their horse and sincerely wants to improve.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2009
I think everyone who has anything to do with horses should read this book. If only it could be made compulsory. I'm only half way through the book, but I'm so impressed I'm reviewing it already. It's well written and very well illustrated.
On the cover it states that it is 'written for the good of the horse' and I believe it is.
It belongs in the home of every, owner, trainer, groom, instructor, etc
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
Sadly, I think that the people that really need to read this book never will.

The author covers his subject in detail (but not too much). I found that while was reading the text I had to refer back to some of the sections on anatomy but don't be put off by that - if you ride you need to know! The author's point of view is compelling and the information you gain from reading this book makes your toes curl just thinking about the last last riding club dressage competition you were involved with (let alone the higher level competitions). What are our dressage judges doing rewarding this awful riding and training?

As a novice I had an instructor whose mantra was "the head must be in". It felt instinctively wrong to me then - unkind to the horse and impossibly uncomfortable for me. Kicked instructor into touch. I still have the same horse but have a kind, knowledgeable teacher. Horse is supple and happy but no Totilas. If you love your horse: read this book, assess your training and trainer, ditch if necessary.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2007
An excellent book which is a "Must" read for all serious minded equestrian, especially those involved in the training/coaching of both horse and riders as well as those involved in the upper management of running the sport
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
This is a very important and competent debate about the negative effects modern riding has on the horse's anatomy and welfare. The writer also adresses the involved parties, and how they could contribute to changing the way of jugding the horses' performance. He argues, that this would secure a gentle education of the horse, and make it long-lasting due to the correct way of training the horse to reach self-carriage. If you are a rider, who wants what is best for your horse, you must read this book!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2011
I recommend all riders to read this book. Especially dressage riders. I think it is very important for dressage riders to know how negativley hyperflexion/rollkur and hand-riding affects the horse's body. Many riders are "riding down" their horses without knowing it. If you are a dressage rider and are wondering why your horse is lame, you may find the answer in this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
This book is a "must" for any rider,& certainly for any trainer or instructor.Ive worked with horses for 30 years & am very aware of the way things are going in regards of some training/riding methods & moreover,the lack of critical judging when it comes to competitions.
If Im training a horse that at any point results in tension,my job is to correct & resolve this,not to carry on regardless because "it looks pretty!" Sadly many of our "top" dressage horses are subject to what can only be described as contortions,not classical or "true" in their movements,which are causing all kinds of "headaches" to the poor horse,who,lets face it,does not understand why hes not allowed to move effectively,use his neck as intended,or relax through his back. This book puts the science behind the facts,and is a great illustrative guide to even the "lay person" as to what to look for in terms of "correct,classical" movements resulting in a beautiful symphony between horse & rider,and those methods that result in an awful picture of brutality & exploitation of such a giving animal.
Please for the sake of horses everywhere,buy this book & spread the word,many many animals will thank you for it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2009
For the sake of our horses all riders and trainers should take the time to read this book. This is invaluable reading for a better understanding of the biomechanics of the horse, underlining the importance of CORRECT training!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2009
A fantastic book for all equestrians! Highly recommended, easy to read and understand due to comprehensive illustrations and photos This is a fantastic book which will, hopefully, inspire rolkur riders to kinder,classical methods, and help improve us classical beings further !
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)