Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars13
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£13.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2000
Sadly, this appears to be the only book by Oliveira still in print and available in english - (if anyone knows different, please let me know). Certainly one that I would not now be without - the only thing to complain about is ... it is too short! Not a "how to" book, a "think about it" book - one to re-read when everything is going wrong, to re-inspire you. Well worth adding to your collection if you're interested in dressage as an art and an education rather than just a means to a prize. That may sound a bit pious, but I make no apology!
0Comment|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2009
"Reflections." This is the important word. He thought long & hard about his horsemanship,reflecting on how to continually improve. This is what helps creates a great horseman or horsewoman. The ability to think through & improve, to use brain, not braun. I see non thinking riders everywhere & it's very sad. Read this book carefully, slowly & several times. Pick it up when you've lost inspiration & it will help. He has cooked down his art into carefully made, succinct points & they are all worth their weight in gold. E.g. "Supposing a horse is frightened of a certain object & refuses to pass it, turning away violently. Is it punishment that is going to reassure him? I think not. All gentle ways are good, giving confidence & showing that there is nothing to fear." If you think about this, you will know what to do. (natural horsemanship did not invent kindness & thinking like a horse...)
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2010
A fantastic, insightful read. Not knowing too much about this "great one" it was fantastic to read his thoughts on horsemanship and the art of riding.
It was amazing to think this man had such a will with the nature of horses and could get them to do things great horsemen of today can only can dream of.
This Master is so right with his treatment and respect of the horse and I personally think they should make this book even more indepth and everyone who rides should be given a copy to read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2010
What a wonderful book! This is a must for people who want to pursue knowledge of Classical Dressage. Nuno Oliveira was a master who based and developed his own technique of classical riding from age old equestrian works dating as far back as 1438 by King Duarte. It soon becomes a bible within your own personal library. We need more of Nuno's books translating, so we can benefit from his life's work, brilliant.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
Succinct, yet great in it's impact. This small book of 'reflections' is just that ...a collection of Nuno Oliveira's thoughts on how horses respond to thoughtful, gentle and sensitive cues from their riders. This book has become my inspiration, and is light years away from some of the more mechanical and heavy handed approaches of certain moderm dressage 'experts'.

Nuno is a believer that one should strive to read, meditate AND ride in order to become a worthy partner for such a noble animal as a horse. This book is beautiful, although if one is concerned solely with chasing dressage ribbons then some of the more 'mechanical' modern trainers might suit one better. One has only to view historical footage of Nuno riding, to appreciate how softly and willingly his horses work with him.

Nuno is indeed a true artist and a lover of the horse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Master Oliviera's reflections are delightful, thoughtful and full of compassion for the horse. I do not think any owner should be without it personally.

In this day where equestrianism has forgotten about the living animal we ask to bear us, where we treat them as machines, here is the voice of humanity, reason and understanding. It will make you think about your relationship with your horse. I have read it feeling guilty at times for when I lost patience with my horse but I don't have the same problems since I started following the master's way.

Equestrianism is an art, not a sport.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
This little book should be compulsory reading for all aspiring dressage riders whatever their level. A reminder of what we should be trying to achieve without gadgets and force, very inspiring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
This is a lovely book full of thoughts and reflections. Not a training manual, it is exactly what it says on the cover. A pleasure to pick up any time, any where.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
A very fine little book with reflections on fine riding Do not expect an instruction book. The book is quickly read, but best when re-read and digested slowly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
An nteresting book to dip into, for the "little gems". Not much interest for beginners, no instructional material is included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)