Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain's healthiest looking 25 year old
This new edition brings the book's chart coverage up to December 2001. As it's the 25th Anniversary edition, there's a page for every year from 1977-2001, with an interview from a major chart star of the year, a concise summation of the years' events (1989, for example, details Salman Rushdie getting a fatwah and the Berlin Wall coming down)as well as giving us a single...
Published on 25 May 2002 by jonathanmuirhead694

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
find it useful
Published 8 months ago by miss sarah ash


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain's healthiest looking 25 year old, 25 May 2002
This new edition brings the book's chart coverage up to December 2001. As it's the 25th Anniversary edition, there's a page for every year from 1977-2001, with an interview from a major chart star of the year, a concise summation of the years' events (1989, for example, details Salman Rushdie getting a fatwah and the Berlin Wall coming down)as well as giving us a single and album of the year. The sections are well laid out, with attractive typefaces and colour schemes, emphasising, the text - being a good backing band. Interspersing features with the main body of the text means this book can be read many times over, for pure enjoyment, as much as to aid completion of the NME crossword. Other new sections in this edition are "Pop Quiz Top Tips", for pub quizmeisters and bored coffee shop staff and "Statistics 2000" which lovingly details who sold the most in 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The single most useful chart reference book, 24 July 2002
By 
D. M. Farmbrough "Dave Farmbrough" (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This really only applies if you are studying the U.K. charts, but since the late 1970s Guinness have published the definitive encyclopaedia of U.K. Chart hits
This contains a list of all acts to hit the U.K. pop music charts from Al Martino in 1952 to Robbie Williams at the end of the year 2001. The acts are listed alphabetically with chronological lists of each act's hits with number of weeks in the charts and highest chart position. A small amount of additional data is given for some groups, like dates and places of birth, but this is not the purpose of this book and so it is necessarily brief. There is a second section where all the song titles are listed which gives the year, highest position and artist, and this is extremely useful if you can't remember who had a hit with I Only Want To Be With You. A third section gives some chart facts and feats, such as the longest running chart acts, acts with the most hits, etc., and this is interesting and useful for quizzes!
The chart used is that favoured by the BBC, which has changed chart compiler over the years, and strong arguments are made for charts used before the B.B.C. had an official chart on the basis that they must use where possible actual sales data and not record company figures or airplay.
Earlier editions contain better photographs from the likes of Harry Hammond and Dezo Hoffman, but the sheer quantity of chart acts has necessitated the reduction of picture space and the increase in text. There are a few interviews with pop music makers scattered throughout the book, some of which are interesting. The last few editions have been dumbed down in the editorial content, but that doesn't detract from the quality and sheer quantity of the data. This is a must have for any fan of U.K. pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone with an interest in the UK singles charts., 29 May 2001
By A Customer
This publication gets bigger and better with every edition. Having purchased previous editions of this book, I have continually referred to it almost every day and the new book will be no different. The striking red cover and design are both excellent while its presentation and content have been greatly enhanced. It's very addictive reading and congratulations to all those involved for another magnificent production. The fact I get two mentions in the book does not in any way alter the fact this is an essential purchase for any serious music fan and those of us who are extremely "chart crazy",
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a music chart lovers must have., 9 Jan. 2001
By 
djdaffy1227@aol.com (Erie Pennsylvania USA) - See all my reviews
My name is Dan Sheldon, I live in the United States of America. I am a collector of records and CD's. I have many books about the American charts including Joel Witburn's Top Pop Singles 1955-1999. I was very interested in comparing the US charts to those of the UK. Boy did I find a great book to do that. The Guinness British hit Singles 13th edition. I enjoyed all the information in the front of the book such as, awards, feats and top 100 of all time but the part I liked best was the chart information. This is exactly what I was looking for. Every song to hit the British charts since 1952 was listed. The comparison to the US charts was even listed in the book for me. Symbols indicated #1 songs here as well as there. I was very pleased with my purchase. The only thing negative I have to say is that British hit singles was a little bit harder to read then Top Pop singles. Top Pop singles only has one column per page as opposed to British hit singles two columns per page. The highest chart position could have been a little bit bigger as well. All in all a great buy for music fans here in the states as well as in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE book for chart anoraks!, 15 May 2003
By 
Steveweiser (Sydenham, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Guinness World Records: British Hit Singles (16th Edition) (Paperback)
There have been 954 number one singles in the 50 year history of the UK singles chart, and the 16th edition of the Guinness Book of British Hit Singles includes the first 946 of them, from Al Martino's "Here In My Heart" in 1952 to the 2002 Christmas number one, "Sound Of The Underground" by Girls Aloud.
But this book isn't just about #1 singles. In the 50 years of the UK singles chart, many different acts have released many singles, and every single chart entry from the first chart in 1952 to the final chart of 2002 is included in this book, with chart entry date, peak position and weeks on the chart.
And it's not just about that - the book also provides facts about particular songs such as "Rock Around The Clock", "I Will Survive", "Every Breath You Take" and "Bitter Sweet Symphony", as well as select trivia (Top 20 Eurovision winners, Songs named after place names, US #1s that didn't make the UK chart etc) and a review of the year 2002.
If you're a fan of the UK singles chart, I cannot recommend this book enough, as it teaches you everything you need to know about the history of the chart. Useful for pub quizzes too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't be beaten, essential for the serious or curious, 17 May 2001
By A Customer
Superb review of the years, great quotes from the stars, excellent for finding those songs/artists that elude you.Also a unique look at the Eurovision winners! Enjoy dipping in, just one snag - they don't like you taking it to pub quizzes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Better than USA's Joel Whitburn's Top Pop Singles, 27 Aug. 2001
By 
John H. Michael "John Michael" (Colorado Springs, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very nicely put together and easy to read. A lot of information for a book of it's size. Complete listing of all the British hits from 1952-2000. It is amazing considering that the #1 British charts change from publisher to publisher over that span of time. I'll recommend this to all of my friends in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form, 22 May 2000
By A Customer
British Hit Singles has always been revered as the bible of pop music, so the error-strewn state of the 12th Edition caused some concern among music fans. Thankfully, the book is now being published annually and the 13th Edition seems to be much more accurate than its predecessor. It features interesting Top 100 Singles and Artists, as well as an in-depth musical review of 1999. A must-have, particularly to replace that rogue 12th Edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading For Popular Music Fans, 7 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
The Guiness Book Of British Hit Singles 13th edition, shows a marked improvement on the disasterous 12th edition, which was full of incorrect information. Fortunately the latest edition is much better and offers essential reading for popular music fans of all ages. This book features every chart hit of the last century from 1952-1999. Good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bible., 2 Aug. 2003
By 
Ian Wantling (The North West.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guinness World Records: British Hit Singles (16th Edition) (Paperback)
This book is an absolute must. Just by browsing the pages will prod your memory into remembering tracks that you had forgot you had forgotten. On top of this it is an authorative and entertaining piece of referance literature. If you are remotely interested in music from the 1950's right upto date then this is the book you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guinness World Records: British Hit Singles (16th Edition)
Guinness World Records: British Hit Singles (16th Edition) by David Roberts (Editor) (Paperback - 23 May 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews