Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Systematic Theology
This book is a real acquisition for my bookcase. It is very systematic (see title) and very complete. Sometimes after Sunday service I consult this book to deepen my insight in a special topic. But this is also a book of strong opinions. If you do not agree you will be irritated. If you notice the nuances you will judge it as a goldmine.
Published on 6 July 2009 by N. A. Broer

versus
8 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title
One reviewer here has called this book `the greatest single volume systematic theology book available'. This it was never likely to be. It probably does deserve a couple of stars because of the amount of work and various references pointing to other works, but as a work in itself it is not very useful. It lacks rigor and tends to be a devotional book. It might be useful...
Published on 12 Oct 2011 by Mr. P. G. Mccarthy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Systematic Theology, 6 July 2009
By 
N. A. Broer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Systematic theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine (Hardcover)
This book is a real acquisition for my bookcase. It is very systematic (see title) and very complete. Sometimes after Sunday service I consult this book to deepen my insight in a special topic. But this is also a book of strong opinions. If you do not agree you will be irritated. If you notice the nuances you will judge it as a goldmine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly presented and generous, 13 Feb 2009
This review is from: Systematic theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine (Hardcover)
Grudem has managed to write a systematic theology which is easily readable without compromising on content, that expresses the authors opinion and reasons without being dogmatic (while presenting fairly alternative views) and which is both practical and scholarly. In short, the author has achieved what every good systematic theology should aim for. The writer comes from a reformed perspective, and his material relating to the charismatic gifts is welcome in a modern theology, marking it out from the alternatives. Like many others have found, I suspect this will become my first point of reference for reviewing theological debates and standpoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and thought provoking, 30 Aug 2008
This review is from: Systematic theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine (Hardcover)
I bought Grudems Systematic Theology in my second year of Theology in Leeds University. While I was there I found Grudems book a great resource to counter many of the arguments of the Liberal and Secular Theologians. What is also signicant is that Grudem does not merly set out what the Bible teaches in regard to theology but rather he presents to the reader the living God. Hence, one comes away not just being more informed about doctrine but he gets you to consider carefully the God who is self revealing and makes the point that, without knowing the God of the Bible all theology is as straw. So I cannot recommend this book enough and now that I have completed my degree in theology it remains a book of great value. You really get your money's worth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Textbook, 2 Sep 2008
By 
R. I. Mcneish - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Systematic theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine (Hardcover)
A reasonably detailed study, but presented in an easily understood format. Grudem examines all the key doctrines, considering different viewpoints and forming well reasoned conclusions, which he supports with numerous scripture references. A must have item for the bookshelf of clergy and laypeople who wish to gain an understanding of the main theology issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Systematic Theology for the Christian today., 28 April 2008
This review is from: Systematic theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine (Hardcover)
An excellent textbook of evangelical theology. Wayne Grudem explains the doctrines of the Christian faith in a way that is highly readable and comprehensible. Complicated, technical terms are kept down to a minimum, and the author writes in a way that is relevant for people today.
He begins each chapter with a definition of the doctrine that is being considered. He then goes on to open up the doctrine in a clear and structured fashion, showing how it finds its place in Scripture. There are then questions for personal application within the church today. Each chapter then ends with a relevant hymn, which is suitable for meditation or worship.
Many will find themselves not agreeing with Grudem on a number of points. For instance, Grudem leans towards views such as believers baptism and classic pre-millennialism. Further, his views on the baptism of the Holy Spirit may be at odds with the views of a number of Christians of a Reformed persuasion. Nevertheless, as I read, I found Grudem to be very fair and gracious in dealing with viewpoints, which he himself was not personally in agreement with. Many Christians could learn from this attitude.
At the end of the book, there are a number of appendices, consisting of historic Christian confessions (e.g. The Thirty-Nine Articles, The Westminster Confession of Faith), Scripture memory passages, relevant bibliography for extended reading and contemporary worship songs. Here we have a valuable resource book for Christians in the twenty-first century. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise Theology, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systematic theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine (Hardcover)
There are dozens of books on theology, some so esoteric they are hard to understand.
This book gets to the root of the question, in simple Anglo-Saxon, in as concise a manner as appropriate.
Grudem, whilst giving his own view, also allows other interpretations.

This book is ideal for ordinary Christians, for Theological students, and for Lay Ministers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well presented, honest, fair and hard to dispute, 26 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Systematic theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine (Hardcover)
Grundem has written a Christian masterpiece. An extremely honest, heart/soul searching address of Christian theological issues. His honest approach and fair representation of the various views on subjects gives you confidence that this writer is doing all he can to help the reader through the confusing labyrinth of theology. He presents his arguments fairly, concisely and in an easy manner. He gives equal attention to opposing views too - incredibly unbiased. A must for the serious reader who wants to search the richness of God's Word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Outstanding Book., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systematic theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine (Hardcover)
A well presented book that will last for years and not outdate quickly. A highly commendable book for any serious student and searcher of the truth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book as an overview, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systematic theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine (Hardcover)
Very useful introductory book. It is thick but the subjects were arranged in systematic (well, it should, seeing its name!) order, and the topics were well categorised, I thought. Overall, I found it to be a good and useful biblical based book on Christian doctrine and one which I have found very helpful on many occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Systematic Theology, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systematic theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine (Hardcover)
I find this tome useful and very informative on the whole spectrum of Biblical Theology: coming from an Evangelical perspective. However, the text and headings are rather difficult to follow. The glossary at the end of the book, could be more simply laid out, and definitions of Theological Terms, need to be simplified. Overall, value for money and covers a vast area of Theology in one volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Systematic theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Systematic theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine by Wayne Grudem (Hardcover - 3 Nov 1994)
44.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews