Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best one volume bible commentary
First published in 1953, the New Bible Commentary has been revised and updated 4 times. It has been and still is, the best one volume Bible commentary available. To cover all 66 books of the bible means that some detail must be sacrificed, but the authors capture the flow of the argument in each book well, and also have time to discuss important and controversial...
Published on 20 Jun 2003 by Gontroppo

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New bible commentary 21st edition
I got a loan of the New bible commentary (third edition) and I really liked it. Very much common day english meaning it was so easy to understand straightaway with lots of references linking to other parts of the bible. I bought the 21st edition thinking I would get the same book with little differences but this book is totally different. The wording is too brief and...
Published on 4 Dec 2009 by M. Berry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best one volume bible commentary, 20 Jun 2003
This review is from: New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition (Hardcover)
First published in 1953, the New Bible Commentary has been revised and updated 4 times. It has been and still is, the best one volume Bible commentary available. To cover all 66 books of the bible means that some detail must be sacrificed, but the authors capture the flow of the argument in each book well, and also have time to discuss important and controversial issues.
Many of the articles are written by people with best-selling full-length commentaries on the books they were assigned. So you get G J Wenham on Genesis and Peter O'Brien on Colossians, for example.
Highly recommended.
If you would like this book at a bargain price, with 17 other helpful books, including the Dictionary of Biblical Imagery, Sinclair Ferguson's New Dictionary of Theology, the New Bible Dictionary and the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology, Amazon also sells the Essential IVP Reference Collection CD ROM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Descriptive commentary from a strong educational source -IVP, 2 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition (Hardcover)
The scholars who have contributed to this sterling commentary are clearly people after the heart of the truth in the Bible. The writings are from various times, and have been updated regularly and revised to keep the style relevant to the modern reader. Although the quotations are from the NIV, the commentary does not glue itself to any particular translation. Rather it seeks to determine the most likely from a number of sources - often explaining how some translations do not offer a meaning as passionate as the original text.
I would recommend this book to ANYONE seeking to learn more about their Bible. It is non denominational, it does not seek to conclude on issues, only to clarify what the writers of the bible appear to mean, by demystifying the problems with reading what can be hard to understand through the veil of translation into English.
This is one book that I have next to my bible 95% of the time, and CONSTANTLY turn to it. Interestingly enough, I find I cannot separate my Bible from it, as when I am reading the commentary it makes clear the woven tapestry that the Bible is, it does this by making one think of OTHER portions than the one that may be under discussion. It is self referential and is therefore confident in that which it describes, and it mirrors the Bible very well in this.
Its a GREAT book that leaves no stone unturned, and completely follows the books of both Old and New Testament.
I would (and did) choose this one over ANY other Bible study book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good overview of the Bible, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. P. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition (Hardcover)
This is a useful basic commentary for the whole Bible, which works through each book systematically, examining and explaining the main themes, the meaning of individual passages and the historical backdrop. It summarises the different interpretions of hotly debated passages and outlines debates over issues such as the dating of Daniel. It also adds its own verdict, dependant on the weight of current evidence and theological consistancy. Its theological slant is towards the more traditional end of the scale, but not without very good reason. Anyone who wants a really in debth guide would be better off buying comentaries for individual books of the Bible, but as a starting point and general overview, this is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Bible Commentry, 28 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition (Hardcover)
New Bible Commentry has proved to be a very useful reference for my bible study at church in our current study in Revelation, and I'm sure it will continue to assist me in future studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must for every Christian searching for more understanding, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition (Hardcover)
this is a great intro commentary - I use it alongside more in depth commentaries as the foundation blocks for my understanding. thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful commentary, 16 May 2014
By 
Helena (North West England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition (Hardcover)
A good, balanced overview of the whole Bible, respecting the text and message. Scholarship and readablilty - accessible to the thinking layperson as well as to church leaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Service, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition (Hardcover)
The Commentary is as described, and in very good condition! There was a problem with its arrival- and the seller was extremely helpful and patient as the problem was not with them but they still assisted as much as they could- thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good help, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition (Hardcover)
This was exactly as described, I bought it purely to help with my studies and it will. Excellent condition, thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bible Commentary for Today, 23 Nov 2011
By 
Rev. John James (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition (Hardcover)
The New Bible Commentary by IVP is wholeheartedly recommended. It is fresh and helpful withour being technical. The reader can enjoy in-depth Bible study and grasp the meaning of scripture in the light of recent scholarship, without being lost in theoretical discussion. A Must have in the study or library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition (Hardcover)
Very good book with a wonderful price very good hard backed book with good lustrations on the front and good printing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition
New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition by D. A. Carson/R. T. France/Alec Motyer/Gordon J. Wenham (eds.) (Hardcover - 29 April 1994)
34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews