Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of a let down!
Beautiful book - glossy and glamorous. But - for anyone who is thinking of buying this book - I did not find it as good as past editions - one or two properties omitted that should have been included (National Trust) - and when I checked previous editions, they were included. So I felt let down by my shiny new book! We still have the old ones - thank goodness - we might...
Published 9 months ago by Ecobag

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Immensely disappointing
We used to buy Hudson's several years ago and it was always excellent, providing comprehensive coverage of all the main properties across the whole country. It was an invaluable source of information, especially on holidays. Having just moved to e new part of the country, we bought it again for the first time in several years, but the 2014 edition is a huge...
Published 15 months ago by DrB


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Immensely disappointing, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses & Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2014 (Paperback)
We used to buy Hudson's several years ago and it was always excellent, providing comprehensive coverage of all the main properties across the whole country. It was an invaluable source of information, especially on holidays. Having just moved to e new part of the country, we bought it again for the first time in several years, but the 2014 edition is a huge disappointment. The first half dozen (major) properties I tried to look up were all missing. There are only proper details for 12 properties across the whole of Wiltshire, and fifteen for the whole of Cornwall. What used to be an outstanding publication, in a class of its own, has become a sad waste of money. This is such a shame...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What used to be a great book gets less and less, 21 Mar. 2014
By 
MR MARK W HOYES (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses & Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2014 (Paperback)
I've been buying this book for quite a few years now and have considered it invaluable in finding places of interest to visit on our trips, unfortunately however, particularly over the last couple of years the number of properties it contains appears to be getting less and less, culminating in this year's purchase which is very disappointing. We have consigned it to the bookshelf and now use The National Trust, English Heritage and HHA free apps. Will not be buying again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Houses featured, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses & Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2014 (Paperback)
The Guide tends to concentrate more on corporate openings than general opening to the public.
There are many properties that are open to the public that are not included in the guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just acceptable, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses & Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2014 (Paperback)
We have the 2004edition. It is much better. There are more houses and gardens described in detail. This is much less useful. I'm glad we kept the older one for comparison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of a let down!, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses & Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2014 (Paperback)
Beautiful book - glossy and glamorous. But - for anyone who is thinking of buying this book - I did not find it as good as past editions - one or two properties omitted that should have been included (National Trust) - and when I checked previous editions, they were included. So I felt let down by my shiny new book! We still have the old ones - thank goodness - we might need them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hudson for 2014, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses & Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2014 (Paperback)
This edition did not live upto previous ones, it not include as many properties open to the public, and instead has added a number of churches looked after by the churches conservation trust. the book itself is much slimmer.
I now think that this size is not worth the price!
Had I known I would have kept last years and not bought this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book with details of hundreds of Houses, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses & Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2014 (Paperback)
Excellent book with details of hundreds of Houses, Gardens and Museums throughout Britain.
A very useful accompaniment for our membership of both the National Trust for Scotland and the Historic Houses Association.
It enables us to do some homework as we plan numerous trips away in our touring caravan to all corners of Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses & Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2014 (Paperback)
This is an amazing book, so full of information for a Historic house addict.
I use it for reference when I am reading historic novels, as so many of the places are mentioned.
it's wonderful to look at the places these famous people lived in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slimmed down version, 16 Oct. 2014
By 
G. M. Young - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses & Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2014 (Paperback)
I was disappointed that the National Trust Properties were not included except as a list without details. The beauty of Hudsons was its complete listing of properties which was useful if you were not members of those societies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with content, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses & Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2014 (Paperback)
Disappointed with content. Didn't seem to be as much info as in previous edition which this one replaced .Have retained the old one and using it together bwith new edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hudson's Historic Houses & Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2014
£16.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews