Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource, certainly worth getting once
As a long-time member of both the National Trust and English Heritage, I did wonder how much in this book would be of use to me. The answer was a great deal, as the book contains not only all the National Trust properties, but also all the English Welsh and Scottish Heritage houses and castles, the major cathedrals, all the houses in the Historic Houses Association, and a...
Published on 22 Dec 2009 by Sussex by the Sea

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars won't replace the internet, nice for looking
I enjoyed looking at this book. It is a nice thing tho flick through and very efficient compared to looking all these places up on the internet, you can swiftly see a lot of places and can review them by area. However, unless you are treating this as a laundry list of places to visit you'll still spend a lot of time of the internet. Especially if, like me, you have kids...
Published on 23 Dec 2011 by sam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource, certainly worth getting once, 22 Dec 2009
By 
Sussex by the Sea (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses and Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a long-time member of both the National Trust and English Heritage, I did wonder how much in this book would be of use to me. The answer was a great deal, as the book contains not only all the National Trust properties, but also all the English Welsh and Scottish Heritage houses and castles, the major cathedrals, all the houses in the Historic Houses Association, and a large number of additional houses and gardens.

While some of the information in the book is available online, it is much easier to read all in a single place, with the maps at the end giving the location of every property in the directory. There are 18 pages of maps, though the book could be improved by having even more pages given to the maps, as things get quite crowded in the more populated parts of England. It is the maps that give the book the edge over the internet, as being able to see where the houses are in relation to each other is a great help when planning days out. The properties in the main directory are usefully ordered by county, rather than region, which also helps when looking for several places near each other.

The book contains up to date information for 2010, but the book could last for several years provided the reader remembers to look up the website of each house before visiting. As such it's certainly worth buying this book once, but there's no need to keep buying it each year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful if not overly exciting, 20 Jan 2012
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses and Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is a useful addition to the UK travel library as it provides a concise guide to interesting places to visit. Yes there are many others with some often very personal selections but Hudsons scores by being especially well illustrated with good pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, lovely photos, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Mike J (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses and Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If travelling around the UK visiting historic places is what you enjoy, I'm sure you will make great use of this book. Even if it's not something you have done regularly before, browsing the pages and the many photos in this book, will make you want to jump in the car and spend a day in the country.
It's well organised and you get useful info about each property but fairly basic and limited. Might be as well to follow up your choice on the net before you go.
The photos are very nice and the book is possibly worth buying just for those, they say 1500 photos, some small, some full page, but all nice and well taken, many aerial or elevated shots also.
If you have a National Trust or English Heritage membership you will benefit doubly as many properties seem to be owned by them.
My only criticism is the entries that do not have photos, I found myself all but ignoring them, but if you were looking for something specific, they may be of use.
Book is quite big and heavy with a nice weighty feel to the pages, well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tempting and exciting, a great incentive to get up and go!, 1 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses and Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
About the weight and shape of a telephone directory but there the similarity ends. This sumptuously illustrated definitive guide to our most desirable destinations is an excellent addition to any library. When looking at one's own county there are still reminders of wonderful days out to be had and all information required to make the trip. The photographs are sensational, inspirational and inviting, flicking through it feels like the best of any top class glossy magazine, a very happy way to spend an hour or two from time to time. I am especially pleased to have a copy as I frequently have guests from abroad who I know will find this a truly useful and comprehensive guide to all that is worth seeing here. I don't think that the book will date much either, these places have been standing for centuries and their web sites will show the most up to date info. All points are covered - collected within this "Britain's Heritage - Open to Visitors" beautiful book. Each place has several paragraphs to introduce you properly and a cleverly designed set of symbols and clear details of opening times so trips can be planned with confidence. Hidden away treasures as well as the more obvious candidates will entice and motivate you to spend time enjoying the most satisfying and interesting of days out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 29 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses and Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2010 (Paperback)
Whenever my husband and I are trying to decide what and where to visit, we just browse through this book for ideas. Love visiting older houses and castles. Well used book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars House & Gardens, 8 Oct 2013
By 
John N Ellis (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses and Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2010 (Paperback)
Excellent reference book for driving in the UK, as I now live in New Zealand, my wife thinks this is some sort of bible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Out of date but not a problem, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses and Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2010 (Paperback)
We like Hudson's guide to historic house and gardens. Our library copy was several years older and the News Agents only had a single tatty copy of the 2012 edition for nearly 16. Since the houses don't change that much it was much more cost effective to buy this 2010 edition and it arrived in pristine condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars won't replace the internet, nice for looking, 23 Dec 2011
By 
sam (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses and Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoyed looking at this book. It is a nice thing tho flick through and very efficient compared to looking all these places up on the internet, you can swiftly see a lot of places and can review them by area. However, unless you are treating this as a laundry list of places to visit you'll still spend a lot of time of the internet. Especially if, like me, you have kids and don't want to spend 3 hours in the car driving to a place to find that there is no ice cream and you need a backup plan.

So nice for looking but it has spent more time on the shelf than it's price demands to get value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A tome of knowledge, 11 Nov 2011
By 
Chappers "chappers" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses and Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although the advent of the internet has made paper-based reference materials all-but obsolete, I still like to peruse a thick book such as this as sometimes the simple scanning of pages in a book can bring something to your attention that a structured internet page might otherwise have missed.

I am somewhat surprised to find that this book is paperback as opposed to hardback, but non-the-less it contains a wealth of information on various historic buildings that are open to the public around the UK.

One naturally skips to one's own area first of all, to see what such a book has to say on local points of interest. For me, the pages on Lincolnshire contains all the usual suspects, from the birthplace of Sir Isaac Newton at Woolsthorpe Manor, to the stately seat of Burghley House. I question the complete lack of descriptive narrative and pictures covering Lincoln Cathedral and the complete absence of Lincoln Castle - which considering it's prominence I would have thought it would at least have had a mention. I get the sense that some counties or institutions perhaps have received preferential treatment?

On the whole, this is a great book for browsing an area that you might intend to visit, to casually investigate any places of historical interest in that area. I give this book 4 out of 5 for it's sensible and easy to reference layout. Marked down by not being hardback and for the occasional omission which I can't quite figure out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive with great photos and maps., 21 Oct 2010
By 
debbie8355 "*" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hudson's Historic Houses and Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
2010 is nearly over but I've used this book constantly in the past year. I binned my flimsy ant like National Trust handbook which is virtually unreadable by comparison as all the information I need about NT properties is here, plus all the information about English Heritage and independently owned properties which are open to the public. This large book now lives in our car and it's a great guide of all the notable houses, gardens and castles in the UK so it's a brilliant one stop reference book. If you're on your way somewhere or visting an unfamilar area it gives you a huge choice of places to visit without having to google or cross reference different books or websites. From what I've found so far the biggest properties with the most to do have the biggest write ups so you can also immediately pinpoint the 'top' attraction in a geographic area. The maps are very handy.
The printing and pages are high quality. Perhaps too high quality as I doubt I'll replace this for a few years until it falls apart. Things like opening times, current festivals and events I'd always check online before making a journey anyway - just in case.
A brilliant book and a fantastic present idea. I wouldn't be without mine now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hudson's Historic Houses and Gardens, Castles and Heritage Sites 2010
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews