Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Overview of the Action
This is the best easily available account of the siege and battle of Kohima, though it's not quite as thorough as Arthur Swinson's now rare 'Kohima'. Nevertheless, Mr Colvin presents lays out the action in a very readable way, showing how 4th Royal West Kents held the position for two weeks before being relieved by 2nd Division, who then took the battle to the Japanese...
Published on 21 Mar 2007 by Jon Latimer

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Print size
The content and the way the the history of the time is excellent and draws you in the the lives these very special men led.

The print size though is a major problem, far far to small I do not need glasses and regard my eye sight as fine but this style of set is beyond comprehension very poor, only the information and how its told stoped me from discarding the...
Published on 10 Aug 2009 by Mr. G. Tomlin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Overview of the Action, 21 Mar 2007
This review is from: Not Ordinary Men: The Story of the Battle of Kohima (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
This is the best easily available account of the siege and battle of Kohima, though it's not quite as thorough as Arthur Swinson's now rare 'Kohima'. Nevertheless, Mr Colvin presents lays out the action in a very readable way, showing how 4th Royal West Kents held the position for two weeks before being relieved by 2nd Division, who then took the battle to the Japanese. He details the difficulties of life for the soldiers, the constant grind as the Japanese clung desperately to their positions, until finally forced to concede and retreat. The bitterness of the fighting is very well conveyed, in what was undoubtedly an epic struggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of a real struggle, 17 Nov 2009
By 
David Canning - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Not Ordinary Men: The Story of the Battle of Kohima (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
Bought this to learn more about the theatre of war my dad was involved in during WW2 when he was in the RAF. Its a very good description of a very tough battle in which the British and their Commonwealth allies overcame the Japanese in a very tough and ugly battle. There is a lot of military terminology to get used to - but its worth the effort. My respect for those who fought in this rocketed after reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Print size, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. G. Tomlin (Derby UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Not Ordinary Men: The Story of the Battle of Kohima (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
The content and the way the the history of the time is excellent and draws you in the the lives these very special men led.

The print size though is a major problem, far far to small I do not need glasses and regard my eye sight as fine but this style of set is beyond comprehension very poor, only the information and how its told stoped me from discarding the book>
I will certainly in future seek the print size before purchasing any other books from this publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kohima - The Turning Point, 6 Nov 2010
By 
J. Hallam "jhallam" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Ordinary Men: The Story of the Battle of Kohima (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
Most wars and campaigns have pivotal battles or watersheds, and Kohima was the finely balanced pivot point of the battle to save India from Japanese invasion.

The Japanese were on the crest of the wave.
From Malaya they had swept all before them in their westward conquest.
Burma had fallen like a rotten tree, and India yawned before them.
They outnumbered the despised Tommies, and expected to feast well on looted supplies as they claimed another important victory.

For such an important campaign to be almost unknown and virtually uncelebrated by the British population at large is astounding, since Kohima ranks in importance with the role of the battles of Alamein in saving Egypt and the entire Middle East from German invasion, and everybody has heard of the battles of Alamein.

This book provides an overview of the progress of the battle, and offers much more detail than is available in Slim's biography.
The thread runs through the battle linking individual anecdotes of fierce fighting, heroism and suffering through the carnage of the battles for the peaks and ridges, but suffers slightly from the scholarly fetish of including overlong personal histories when introducing new characters.

The quality of the included sketch maps is poor, but sufficient to provide a framework for the battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Colvin's Not Ordinary Men (a review by Thomas W. Johnson), 6 Aug 2010
By 
Thomas W. Johnson (Kailua Kona, Hawaii) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Not Ordinary Men: The Story of the Battle of Kohima (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
Jon Latimer is an accomplished author in his own right (Burma, The Longest War) so if he opines on a subject, the prospective reader should take notice. Not Ordinary Men is an excellent account of the siege at Kohima Ridge from April 5 to April 18, 1944. It is well written, adequately illustrated along with maps and photos of the area. I encourage the serious student of the subject to also track down a copy of Phillip's Springboard to Victory which covers the same subject but from a slightly different perspective. Arthur Campbell's The Siege is also a good source along with Swinson's Kohima. Not Ordinary Men accurately communicates the conditions under which the men fought. It makes effective use of first person naratives along with drawing on third party sources such a Swinson and Slim. I liked the book a lot. I've read it a couple of times and compared it with Phillip's Springboard to Victory. It's not a difficult read and the average reader can dig through it in an afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OMG!, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Ordinary Men: The Story of the Battle of Kohima (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
I bought this for my partner who loves this kind of read!
I don't understand why but there you are - he loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not Ordinary Men: The Story of the Battle of Kohima (Pen & Sword Military Classics)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews