Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best books for touring Loos battlefield
For those who have toured the battlefields of the Ypres Salient and the Somme, and wants a different large-scale WW1 battle to visit and get their teeth into, the Battle of Loos is a good choice. Remarkably little has changed in the 98 years since what was at the time Britain's largest battle ever. It is still flat, dotted with nineteenth century slag heaps but mostly...
Published 14 months ago by Willyum R

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much too soon.
The writer clearly has a great knowledge of the sbject but the information comes thick and fast and is not the most reader friendly. Perhaps better for the reader with some prior knowledge.
Published 15 months ago by R. REED


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best books for touring Loos battlefield, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loos 1915: The Northern Battle and Hohenzollern Redoubt (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
For those who have toured the battlefields of the Ypres Salient and the Somme, and wants a different large-scale WW1 battle to visit and get their teeth into, the Battle of Loos is a good choice. Remarkably little has changed in the 98 years since what was at the time Britain's largest battle ever. It is still flat, dotted with nineteenth century slag heaps but mostly farmland.

I have just returned from five days of battlefield touring with my brother, which included two days walking the Loos battlefield where our grandfather fought in 1915. Andrew Rawson's two books in the Battlefield Europe series (this for the northern half of the battlefield, and the other, Hill 70, which covers the southern half) were indispensable to us in understanding this complex battle. Rawson divides the battlefield up into sectors, each a minor battle in itself, gives a detailed description of what happened and supplies detailed walks that enable the reader to understand each phase of the battle, and in particular suggests good places to park (very useful since these are not always that obvious on some very fast roads), and paths that give the best views and access to various features, without trampling on farmers crops or causing a nuisance to others.

A section at the end on the local war cemeteries is particularly useful allowing one to find which cemetery relates to the dead of which phase of the battle, and where to find famous graves such as V.C. winners etc..

For anyone touring this battlefield, or with a serious interest in the Battle of Loos, this book and its companion are indispensable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars family history, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Sheila (Dundee, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loos 1915: The Northern Battle and Hohenzollern Redoubt (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
Bought this book to research an aspect of family history and to try and get a picture of the Battle of Loos, which it does very ably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loos, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loos 1915: The Northern Battle and Hohenzollern Redoubt (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
Yes, very good book and most helpful about the battle in which a relation (by marriage) was killed. We needed to find out more as we are visiting the battlefields in 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too much too soon., 13 May 2013
By 
R. REED (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loos 1915: The Northern Battle and Hohenzollern Redoubt (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
The writer clearly has a great knowledge of the sbject but the information comes thick and fast and is not the most reader friendly. Perhaps better for the reader with some prior knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Title from Battleground Europe, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loos 1915: The Northern Battle and Hohenzollern Redoubt (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
Regular readers of the Battleground Europe titles will find this up to their usual excellent standard. Lots of maps and photographs accompany the knowledgable text so it serves as both a history and a guidebook. The Battle of Loos is an interesting subject covering as it does the early part of the war. It was the first major action of the new volunteer army raised by Lord Kitchener and the mistakes made started the legend of British incompetence in the Great War that still continues today. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good basis for making a start, 18 Sep 2011
By 
C. Nation "chrisnation" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loos 1915: The Northern Battle and Hohenzollern Redoubt (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
Monday week, 26th Sept 2011, is the 96th anniversary of the battle of Loos. I've just last week been on a 3 day tour of the scene of the battle, lead and presented by a senior member of The International Guild of Battlefield Guides [I'm a ranker in the Guild myself]. I had not read anything on Loos before and chose to read this book before leaving for France.

The battle of Loos was a chaotic affair. The ground over which it was fought was much smaller in extent than battles like the Somme or Ypres III. This did not result in any less complication of strategy and tactics. In fact, because French decided to impose on Haigh the introduction of battalions of Kitchener's Army in most unsuitable circumstances, the events that followed means that a description of the battle becomes extremely confusing, mirroring the confusion of the troops in action.

This book is eminently useful in introducing the reader to the battle of Loos. There are good maps and diagrams, the text is clearly written and the events described in a sensibly ordered manner, given the mess and muddle on the ground.

I have to admit that my head was spinning by the time I finished and I wrote to the leader of our trip to tell him I was glad he was presenting the tour, not me.

But the battle of Loos was an important one and this book deserves a place on any bookshelf dedicated to the Great War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Loos 1915: The Northern Battle and Hohenzollern Redoubt (Battleground Europe)
8.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews