Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK
AS WE ARE COMING AROUND AGAIN TO REMEMBERANCE SUNDAY I SUGGEST YOU READ THIS ACCOUNT OF HIS POW YEARS AND YOU WILL THEN SEE WHY ITS SO IMPORTANT TO KEEP THE MEMORIES ALIVE
THEY FOUGHT SO WE COULD BE FREE
EXCELLENT BOOK
Published 11 months ago by R. Reeves

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars average reading
spends to much time telling how the officers were treated my father died on the railway and books ive read tells how the ratings was treated dissapointed
Published 3 months ago by Brian Wadeson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK, 2 Nov 2013
By 
R. Reeves "roysie" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
AS WE ARE COMING AROUND AGAIN TO REMEMBERANCE SUNDAY I SUGGEST YOU READ THIS ACCOUNT OF HIS POW YEARS AND YOU WILL THEN SEE WHY ITS SO IMPORTANT TO KEEP THE MEMORIES ALIVE
THEY FOUGHT SO WE COULD BE FREE
EXCELLENT BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK, 10 Feb 2014
By 
George Watson (Sevenares Udny Ellon UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
MY DAD WAS A PRISONER OF WAR ON THE RAILROAD AND ALL THE STORIES WRITTEN ARE TRUE - NO ONE THAT WAS NOT THERE COULD UNDERSTAND THE HORRORS AND BRUTALITY ENDURED - WELL WRITTEN FROM THE HEART
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a much better story than the railway man. a really graphic account of hell on the burma railway at the hands of the japanese
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and Insightful, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a person whose great uncle was in the same regiment and died at 23 during the building of the railway it has allowed me to get a better and more complete understanding of what Allied pow`s went through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating insight, 6 July 2014
This is the first book I have ever read about a Japanese pow. It was a captivating read and I hav learnt a lot about this particular period of time. Many lessons can be learnt from this atrocity and I pray it never happens again. Thankyou to the author for sharing his experiance as well as his honesty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Railway of Hell, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book for anyone who likes true stories and mans ability to survive the horrors of captivity under brutal regimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How these men survived such brutal conditions is humbling.....I would love to know that the men who survived lived a long and happy life - they certainly deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very clear account of the privations suffered by the ..., 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very clear account of the privations suffered by the POWs at the hands of their Japanese captors and of the strength and courage needed to face them. I knew these men were brave - I now understand how how very brave they were. A well written book that must leave much to the imagination at times for fear of utter revulsion. I was near to tears on occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very true story of f young men surviving against huge odds, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing story of ordinary men withstanding hell on earth and living or dying by pure chance. These things happened. I know because my father was there. I once asked him if he thought he would die and he told me he had deep faith that he would survive. The sad part nobody believed the soldiers to begin with when they told their horrific tale. The author, like my father, knew that if they lost hope they were more likely not to survive. If you doubt our freedom, or do not believe that ordinary men cannot be heroes then read this book. Humour and friends kept them going.
I cried reading this book as the reality was they were not men but very young men.
My father hated the Japs until the day he died and do you know something so do I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book., 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an excellent read. I'm approx. half way through. If time allowed, i would've read it in one sitting. The unbelievable treatment, and torture of the brave troops is barbaric, and brutal. How they managed to survive years in such conditions, we'll never know. Diseases, malnutrition, next to no medical treatments, vicious guards beating , and murdering soldiers. It's truly amazing any men survived. Even at their worst times, a soldier would make a joke, then there would be laughing. How it was possible to keep their spirits up and carry on, only they knew, as we will never comprehend what they went through. Wow. A definite must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Railway of Hell: A Japanese POW's Account of War, Capture and Forced Labour
Used & New from: £5.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews