Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone wanting to tour the WWII sites of Normandy, 19 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Major and Mrs.Holt's Battlefield Guide to Normandy Landing Beaches (Major & Mrs Holt's Battlefield Guide) (Paperback)
This book is an absolute MUST for anyone with an interest in the Normandy invasion. The map that comes free with the book is comprehensive and useful and the suggested tours are worked out to perfection. The directions are easy to follow, the timing accurate and opening times and entry charges to museums is extremely useful. It can be so frustrating to turn up to a museum in France only to discover it's closed for two hours. With Major and Mrs Holt you need never have this problem again. They also cover other points of interest along the way, ie there are details of the war cemetry and Battle of Normandy museum in Bayeux, but they also give details about the tapestry. We thought we had covered most of the WWII museums before we bought the book but we've hardly scratched the surface. But this is not just a guide book, there is plenty of background information to D-Day, it's leaders, and the various battles themselves. Don't visit Normandy without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Outstanding, 22 Jun 2003
By 
Mr. C. R. Parrott "Raptorman0" (Bolton,, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Major and Mrs.Holt's Battlefield Guide to Normandy Landing Beaches (Major & Mrs Holt's Battlefield Guide) (Paperback)
I write this having returned from a week exploring Normandy, I saw many books while there but none were so comprehensive in there coverage of the memorials, cemetries and bunkers of Normandy. This is an absolutely essential book if you wish to find every small corner and memorial(including those on private land. For one week it was by my side everywhere I went.
The Map is clear and easy to use enabling easy location of all places of interest. If you buy one book, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH MAJ HOLT'S, 13 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Major and Mrs.Holt's Battlefield Guide to Normandy Landing Beaches (Major & Mrs Holt's Battlefield Guide) (Paperback)
If you doing any battlefield tours you will never go far wrong with getting the books by Holt's. informative, factual, easy to understand and packed with hints and tips a must for all budding historians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not leave without it!, 24 April 2009
By 
H. M. Jackson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Major and Mrs.Holt's Battlefield Guide to Normandy Landing Beaches (Major & Mrs Holt's Battlefield Guide) (Paperback)
The first time I attempted to use this book at home I failed miserably but once in Normandy it became my best friend! We would have missed memorials and hidden treasures without it. I cannot put into words how valuable this is for a journey to the beaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 24 Jan 2010
This review is from: Major and Mrs.Holt's Battlefield Guide to Normandy Landing Beaches (Major & Mrs Holt's Battlefield Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent document from the gurus of the French battlefields. Concise and informative and useful for anyone thinking of visiting the battlefields.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable companion for a trip to the d-day beaches., 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Major and Mrs.Holt's Battlefield Guide to Normandy Landing Beaches (Major & Mrs Holt's Battlefield Guide) (Paperback)
I found this book invaluable for the preparation of my visit to Normandy: the d-day beaches and environment. It gives you all museums, bunkers and fortifications, war cemetaries, statues and memorials, location of tanks and other interesting places. Even cross-roads or houses where a particular event took place in those days are mentioned. But the book doesn't merely lists all those sites. It tells the stories about what happened there and accompanies these with a lot of pictures. It tells the things you can see in each museum. What makes the book ideal when preparing a trip is that it gives itenaries you can follow, the travelling time between two places and also the duration of a visit. With the book comes a big detachable folding map that lists every POI with road numbers and so on. Colours are used to distinguish between the type of POI, eg. museums, bunkers, memorials. So, you really can plan your trip in advance and that is exactly what I used this book for. I made a selection of the sites I wanted to see, but in most cases I doubled the visiting duration. E.g. 1 hour for a museum or fortification is -knowing myself- too short. As it turned out, I managed to see in a week (whereas the book forecasted 4 days) almost all that I wanted to. If you want to get most out of your stay in Normandy and not just want to stroll around you should get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide to the area and the Landings, 22 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Major and Mrs.Holt's Battlefield Guide to Normandy Landing Beaches (Major & Mrs Holt's Battlefield Guide) (Paperback)
I found the map you get with this book extremely useful for planning my own tour of the area, showing lots of information in an easily accessible way.

The book itself I used purely for information. It has tours of the area you can follow but I found them too restrictive and preferred to follow my own. However the information is comprehensive and lists everything from museums to simple plaques on the wall.

The area has changed much over the years due to the resurgent interest in D-Day, however most of the major museums and artefacts were in place when this book and map were done, so you will miss out on very little.

I would suggest getting the book well in advance of your trip and reading through it to find the areas that you are interested in, unless you are going for some considerable time you will not be able to fit all the suggested visits in.

Overall well researched and effectively presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ideal companion for a trip to the Normandy beaches, 6 Sep 2010
This review is from: Major and Mrs.Holt's Battlefield Guide to Normandy Landing Beaches (Major & Mrs Holt's Battlefield Guide) (Paperback)
The usual high quality guide from Major and Mrs Holt. Have used their maps before to explore the WW1 battlefields, so it was a logical extension to go for the Normandy equivalent when preparing for a trip later this year. The map and book do not dissappoint, containing lots of detail but in a real easy to use form at a bargain price. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent WW2 sites companion, 22 Aug 2010
This review is from: Major and Mrs.Holt's Battlefield Guide to Normandy Landing Beaches (Major & Mrs Holt's Battlefield Guide) (Paperback)
There is so much to see when visiting Battle of Normandy sites it is difficult to know where to start to make the best of your stay. This guide proved invaluable not only in providing valuable information re historical fact and directions but also in suggesting achievable itineries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holt's Normandy Guide, 6 Jun 2010
By 
Michael Scott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Major and Mrs.Holt's Battlefield Guide to Normandy Landing Beaches (Major & Mrs Holt's Battlefield Guide) (Paperback)
Up to date. On the mark. V helpful. Well worth the money. Both Toni and Valmai Holt are members of the International Guild of Battlefield Guides which reflects in the quality of the production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf383f30)

This product

Only search this product's reviews