Customer Reviews


537 Reviews
5 star:
 (414)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable and inspiring
Retold by his father, "Heaven is for Real" is the true story of Colton Burpo’s trip to heaven and back. When he was four, Colton had to undergo an emergency appendectomy. Overjoyed at his miraculous survival, his family never could have expected what emerged in the following months. They were astounded at what Colton recalled from his hospital stay: angels singing...
Published 13 months ago by blessed

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not the best
HEAVEN IS ALL AROUND US is a much better story a much better account of Heaven available on amazon books
Published 12 months ago by PHILIP GRIMMER


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable and inspiring, 24 Mar. 2014
Retold by his father, "Heaven is for Real" is the true story of Colton Burpo’s trip to heaven and back. When he was four, Colton had to undergo an emergency appendectomy. Overjoyed at his miraculous survival, his family never could have expected what emerged in the following months. They were astounded at what Colton recalled from his hospital stay: angels singing to him, sitting in Jesus’ lap, seeing his great-grandfather whom he’d never met and meeting the sister he never knew he had because his mother miscarried before he was born.

Bonus material in this special movie edition of "Heaven is for Real" includes a new introduction, photos from the movie set, updates from Colton and his father Todd on recent events, as well as interviews with the movie’s filmmakers and actors. The movie, starring Greg Kinnear as Todd Burpo, premieres on 16th April. You can watch the trailer here: [...]

I had this book on my radar from the time it was first published but for some reason never got round to reading it. I am so glad I didn’t pass up the chance to read the newly released movie edition of "Heaven is for Real". It is a truly remarkable and inspiring story. I have no doubt that it is a true story. Colton’s father Todd is a pastor. He was as surprised as anyone would be when his son began recalling his experiences of heaven. Colton knew things that no four-year-old would know. Todd began testing his son’s memories of heaven against the Bible and found that his Colton’s recollections held up to Biblical truths.

"Heaven is for Real" will forever change the way you think of eternity. If you have lost a loved one, you will find comfort in Colton’s experiences. Do not pass up the chance to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 134 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heaven is for Real, 20 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back (Paperback)
This e-book was provided to me for free courtesy of the BookSneeze programme.

I have to say that I wasn't sure whether I was going to like Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo with Lynn Vincent. It's the story of Burpo's son's visions of heaven in the context of a life-threatening episode of appendicitis when he was only four years old. And I wasn't sure I was going to like it because unfortunately this genre tends to attract rather colourful stories of unlikely visions, many of which can't be substantiated in Scripture or which seem to have led to pride or even subtle twisting of faith in the writer.

So it was to my great delight to find that this book is, in some ways, different. Burpo, a pastor, tells how the story of his son's visions came out only over time and in small parts. As he and his wife began to realise that something had happened to their son, they began to ask him questions about the experience; and so it is that we have in this book the details of some of what Colton Burpo saw. Most importantly for me, Todd Burpo - as a pastor who loves his Bible - was keen to test how the things his son claimed to have seen measured up with Scripture and would even try to trick his son with questions to see whether his son would affirm things about his experience of heaven which the Scriptures expressly deny!

As someone who has a healthy - even extreme? - tendency towards cynicism regarding this genre, I found this book incredibly faith-enhancing in fact. There were a handful of things which Colton claims to have seen that I don't think can be substantiated from Scriptural accounts of heaven and which sound a little far-fetched. But then...nor does Scripture expressly deny those things either! It is because of this fact that I would not give this book to a new believer unless I was prepared to sit with them and do a detailed Bible study to help them test its content; I still maintain that believers are to test carefully against Scripture anything which purports to be revelation and worry that some new believers might get very excited about this book and not necessarily follow on to reading the Scriptural accounts of heaven.

Yet, truth be told, what this book did for me was to reignite an excitement. Excitement that heaven - this dimension of reality so wonderful that you'd think it could only belong in a fairytale - heaven is for real! Excitement that actually the life of faith is all about Jesus, how much he loves us and how he longs for us to enter into relationship with him. And, as I was brought to a place of childlike wonder and love for Jesus, I remembered his own words that the kingdom of heaven was open to those who would come as children. Todd Burpo's book invited me to come as a child and marvel at all the wonders which will be our inheritance. If you are longing to stand and stare at the joys of heaven, the face of Jesus, this book might just reignite your heart for Jesus, your longing for heaven and your passion for the Scriptures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Questions & answers regarding heaven, death and the after life, 28 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back (Paperback)
I have to say I was pretty sceptical about this book "heaven is for real" by Todd Burpo and I have read critiscm regarding this book before I opened the first page which probably did not help. When I started to read this book,I was overwhelmed by the accounts of this four year old's visit to heaven and by what he had encountered there in such a short space of time. This book answers questions regarding heaven, death and the after-life in short clear answers from a little boy who gives his account of his visit over a period of a few years.

I am a new Christian and I have found this book very difficult to put down and have read it over a couple of days and I just found it so enthralling and I have found it hard to put this book down. I would recommend this book to anyone and even to an unbelievers eyes, this book would be very difficult not to love let alone find it hard to question Jesus etc.

I am so looking forward to heaven and to seeing Jesus and God but I am so looking forward to experiencing a closer walk with Jesus in my own life whilst I am here on this earth.

This is a book through a child's eyes and an account that is so accurate and true that who could find this hard not to believe and yes, scripture backs up this little boy's experiences whilst in hospital. Whether this little boy actually died, we dont really know.

If you havent read this book, I would highly recommend it and trust me this will bring you close to Jesus, God and The Holy Spirit without a shadow of a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A divine revelation!, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back (Paperback)
This is fantastic - the best bit - and what proves it's true, (and always brings tears to my eyes), is when he said 'mum, in heaven, this little girl would not stop hugging me saying 'I died in your mummy's tummy!'. The lad had no idea his mother had a stillbirth before he was born. The wonders of this, are that the girl recognised Colton without previously seeing him, and that it shows that stillbirth children go straight to heaven. It also implies that aborted children also go directly to heaven. What a wonderful 'silver lining'! To those of us, like myself, who have a genuine love for children, (children are one of God's richest blessings for all of us to enjoy), heaven will be wonderful, because it will be filled with millions of happy children! :-).
Another joyful thing, was when he met his dad's granddad, who'd died before he was born. His dad showed him a photo of his granddad shortly before he died, but Colton said 'dad, no-one's old in heaven'. When they showed him a picture of the granddad aged 29, Colton said, 'yes, that's him'. Presumably all adults will be about 33 years old for all time (the age of Jesus at His crucifixion). The granddad had spent most of his life not believing in Jesus, but had asked Jesus into His life in prayer, shortly before his death.
So my message to everyone is - believe, ask Jesus into your heart, then you'll live in heaven in 100% joy forever!
This book is now being shown as a film; look out for it, and take everyone with you to see it :-)
God Bless you
Geoff Franklin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo, 4 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back (Paperback)
This is MUST read!! I read it in two hours, so it's an easy read. It's a true story of a three year old boy who has an out of body experience and goes to heaven and back. Absolutely astounding, and essential reading for anyone who is curious about heaven. He's three so he says what he sees. Definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not the best, 26 April 2014
HEAVEN IS ALL AROUND US is a much better story a much better account of Heaven available on amazon books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding. You've got to read it!, 15 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book really does it. With this small boy who has only little information about scriptures, comes back from his 'three minutes' is heaven with knowledge of it that matches the Bible entirely.

As his family discovers his illness, it is late and the change of survival is minimal. But with the help of prayer and friends they get through it. In Colton's time in heaven, he speaks to Jesus, sits on Gods lap and sees his little sister who was never born (which his parents never mentioned to him!).

Heaven really is for real so give your life to christ can be transformed: forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Heaven is for Real, 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back (Paperback)
I saw the film loosely based on the book which made me want to find out more, Colton,s father Todd and his mother had lost their baby girl through miscarriage in 1998, In 2002 Todd had broken his leg and then developed kidney stones, in the same year he finds a lump in his chest and is diagnosed as having hyperplasia, the family were just beginning to recover from this financially when Colton, nearly 4yrs old goes down with summer flu in 2003, the following day his fever breaks and he seems to be ok
A few days later the family decide to go to the Denver Butterfly Pavilion to celebrate Colton's recovery, that night Colton becomes very ill vomiting frequently, with his sister Cassie having a milder form, in Nebraska the doctor says Colton does not have appendicitus, Todd and Sonja are not convinced and take their son to another hospital in North Platte, he has a ruptured appendix and an abcess, the operation goes well and in a few days he is allowed to leave but as they were leaving they were called back and they have found two more abcesses in his stomach and will need another operation, Cassie was fine after her initial sickness, the doctor informs them they have done all they can and would like to transfer him to a children's hospital, with the snowy weather that wasn't possible but soon Colton is making an amazing recovery and almost back to himself, after seventeen days they finally return to their home town of Imperial
Its now 2003 and the family are on a trip to see a new born nephew nephew in South Dakota, on passing the hospital Colton was in he was asked if he would like to go back there, Colton states that that is where the angels sang to him and where he sat in the lap of Jesus, he also said his daddy was praying for him and his mum was in another part of the hospital on the phone, when asked how he could no this he said he was out of his body looking down on them
On returning again to Imperial Colton said John the Baptiste is the cousin of Jesus and a nice man and that Jesus had a rainbow coloured horse, he says he died during sugery but there is no record of this, during the years after Colton came up with the following observations, many things he could not of known at the age of 4yrs
Jesus had a beard and wore a purple robe, he wore a gold crown and had red marks on his hands and feet
Everyone had wings except for Jesus who seemed to float
He saw his grandpa Pop in heaven, he was very nice, but when shown a picture he didn't know him but when shown a younger picture he picked him out straight away, Colton said he stayed with his Grandpa whilst there, Grandad had died many years before Colton was born
Colton told his mother he had two sisters but Sonja explained that he only had one, Colton said it was the sister mummy lost in her tummy, he had no way of knowing this, he said she didn't have a name but God had adopted her
Colton said that Jesus sat on a beautiful throne with Jesus on his right and Gabriel on his left and that it is never dark in heaven, nobody is old and nobody wears glasses
After watching The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe at the cinema Colton tells his father that the angels have swords to fight Satan
He speaks of a final war between good and evil, everybody must fight but good will win
In Lithuania a 12yrs old very talented girl tells of visiting heaven many times since she was 4yrs, she is a very good artist and paints on this subject, Colton sees a picture Of Jesus she has painted and confirms that is a true likeness of Jesus

When I was young I went to Sunday school and was brought up as a christian, since having a family of my own a long time ago, I am retired now, I am still not sure what to believe, I have often been tempted to return to the church but have felt unwelcome, I have decided to leave this story with an open mind, if this could be true I would not feel so frightened about dying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Heaven according to Colton, 24 May 2014
This review is from: Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back (Paperback)
"Heaven is for Real" is a New York Times bestseller, with over 8 million copies sold. It's the 24th most sold book through Amazon as of this writing, and the Kindle edition is the second most popular work in the category Religion and Spiritality. It has a whopping 9,114 customer reviews. About a month ago, the motion picture version was released. And according to the author, Nebraska pastor Todd Burpo, it's all a true story!

"Heaven is for Real" revolves around Todd's son, three-year old Colton, who had a near-death experience (NDE) following an emergency operation. Colton was taken to Heaven, where he got to see Jesus, God and Gabriel, sit next to the Holy Spirit (the boy describes him as "something blue"), and meet both deceased relatives and an unknown sister. Colton saw animals in heaven, including a harmless lion. He also saw the Devil, swords in the hands of the angels, and says there will be a war in Heaven soon, during which most of Earth will perish... (These darker statements are somewhat downplayed, though.)

The heavily Christian character of Colton's NDE is hardly surprising, given his Christian upbringing in the "Bible Belt". More interesting to non-Christian NDE researchers are statements suggesting that the experience might in some sense be "objective". Thus, Colton saw what his parents were doing at the hospital ward while he was sedated (a classical out-of-body or OOB scenario). He knew that his mother had a miscarriage, something his parents hadn't told him. Colton's vision of Jesus is seemingly confirmed by a similar vision by Akiane Kramarik, a 19-year old (sic) Christian painter and mystic in Idaho.

People who believe in the reality of NDEs and OOB's will get struck by the book's Christian exclusivism. Todd Burpo attempts to prove his son's experiences by Biblical proof-texts, the term "near-death experience" is - as far as I can see - never used at all, and little Colton's experiences at one point convince an inclusivist-oriented person to become a more strict Christian (the babysitter Ali). Todd and Ali are innocently unaware of the fact that, of course, these kinds of miracles happen in other religious traditions, as well...

I admit that I found Howard Storm's "My Descent into Death" (another Christian NDE book) more interesting, but as cultural studies, I suppose I could give "Heaven is for Real" three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Death. Questions about. And what happens after...Heaven is for Real, 11 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back (Paperback)
Have you ever wondered about what happens when you die?
Is there/can there really be life after death?
What is heaven like?

These are not questions that are easy to answer.

So reading `Heaven is for REAL' (my emphasis) - was a long-held ambition. Ever since I had heard about Colton Burpo's near-death experience as a 4 year old boy, I wanted to hear the whole story. This book does what it says on the tin.

The story unfolds just as it happened to Colton and his family. After Colton didn't die - the medical records state so quite clearly - he started to talk about his experience in heaven. He didn't sit down and relate a wonderful, out-of-his-imagination typical four year old's story. Instead, far more convincingly, small pieces of information kept cropping up in conversation: in four year old language. Colton had met `Jesus' cousin' (he didn't remember his name). Jesus had told Colton to be `nice'. Jesus had `markers' on him - discussion showed these to be the marks on Jesus' hands and feet which, to a four year old, looked as if someone had drawn with felt tip marker pens. In heaven, Colton met his great-grandfather and unborn sister - who had died before Colton was born. Colton couldn't recognize the Jesus he had met in any pictorial representation of Jesus - until he saw a picture painted by another little girl who had had a similar experience. As his father Todd carefully examines Colton's experiences in the light of Biblical knowledge, he is amazed at the accuracy of everything Colton relates.

Sometimes there can be a degree of scepticism about accounts such as these. Yet Colton's experience rings true on every page. Read it. You will be drawn into Colton's world - and that's a wonderful place to be.

Life. `Death'. And some answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews