Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars As much writting as recipies - one for the foodies and not the cooks
This book is huge! And well worth the purchase price - it is a TOME!. It is a facinating read, and I bought it intending to read it as opposed to cook from it which is exactly what I am doing. It contains just as much food writting as it does recipies and the history and the story of the author is perhaps one of the most interesting parts of the book. I think for a...
Published 3 months ago by Miss S. M. Summers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 0
The book is an excellent read but the lack of an index makes recipes to hard to find so I don't think it will get much use.
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars As much writting as recipies - one for the foodies and not the cooks, 4 Sep 2014
By 
Miss S. M. Summers (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great American Cookbook: 500 Recipes: Favorite Foods from Every State (Hardcover)
This book is huge! And well worth the purchase price - it is a TOME!. It is a facinating read, and I bought it intending to read it as opposed to cook from it which is exactly what I am doing. It contains just as much food writting as it does recipies and the history and the story of the author is perhaps one of the most interesting parts of the book. I think for a modern American centred cookery book I will be keeping Martha Stewarts American Cooking on my wish list - but this is an excellent book for those of us that view cook books as 'literature' and 'reference' as well as just stuff to get recipies from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cookbook: 500 Recipes: Favorite Foods from Every State (Hardcover)
Lots of great recipes, clearly written but its all in black and white with no colour pictures which was disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 14 Jun 2014
By 
m.k (basingstoke) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cookbook: 500 Recipes: Favorite Foods from Every State (Hardcover)
Loads of great recipees and ideas. Ingreadients all available in uk.
Food that will blow you away. Tried loads already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 0, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is an excellent read but the lack of an index makes recipes to hard to find so I don't think it will get much use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting!, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cookbook: 500 Recipes: Favorite Foods from Every State (Hardcover)
Interesting book to read for the culinary history, as well as the cookery recipes. Many are a snapshot of the time that it was written, but also a good overview of the variety of American cuisine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good for American foodies
Really enjoyed it good recipes and really clear instructions with a handy conversion chart at the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In love with this book!, 27 Aug 2013
By 
Helly "Yippeee!!" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cookbook: 500 Recipes: Favorite Foods from Every State (Hardcover)
There is a huge range of interesting recipes! The recipes are separated by area of the US and there are stories from gathering the recipes dotted throughout the book.

The hardback version includes an index; it's very easy to find the recipe you're looking for.

It's a really lovely book in both content and appearance. I'm totally thrilled with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not one for the gourmets, but fascinating - simple, hearty food, 14 April 2013
By 
Captain Incognito (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cookbook: 500 Recipes: Favorite Foods from Every State (Hardcover)
I own rather too many cookbooks but don't often cook from them - quite a large number are ones from many years ago, different cuisines, etc and are fascinating to me in a curio way rather than as ones to actually use when looking for something to eat for lunch (hell, that's what Google's for these days). This is definitely one of the curio books. The food is basic and there are some really odd combinations used, but the recipes are sound. I've cooked the cornbreads and biscuits for a southern BBQ party I held and they went down very quickly. The baked beans were a bit bland and I did end up quadrupling the spices used. This is not diet food at all - half cups of maple syrup here and sticks of butter here - which means it couldn't be part of my daily repertoire but it's fun to play with.

In response to the previous reviewer, I can only wonder whether there have been different prints. My copy has an index, though the state by state layout isn't the most intuitive for browsing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cookbook: 500 Recipes: Favorite Foods from Every State (Hardcover)
I was a bit nervous about this book due to the negative review regarding the index...but it does have one!! It is a very interesting book with some very good recipes, a great book for anyone interested in American cookery.
It's a monster of a book, well researched I feel and a great one to dip in and out of...good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous book, 17 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic value for money! Huge book loads of recipes. Really pleased with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great American Cookbook: 500 Recipes: Favorite Foods from Every State
The Great American Cookbook: 500 Recipes: Favorite Foods from Every State by Clementine Paddleford (Hardcover - 11 Oct 2011)
£21.25
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews