Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Old punk, not that weak modern ****, 21 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk: An Aesthetic (Hardcover)
If, like me, you know that punk didn't start with CBGB's and move over to London, then this is the book for you. The writing is minimal but accurate and unbiased and the images and iconography is the best I've ever come across. There's tons of evidence that punk was a global phenomenon brewing slowly from the 1950s and pretty much a feature on the overground 'underground' scene by 1970, even the band "Suicide" have a gig flyer "Punk Music By Suicide" December 13, 1970, and where does Richard "I invented punk" Hell make his first appearance - page 124, and then he's quickly by-passed as he's looking quite suave actually, (we all know he nicked his best ideas from the Cleveland scene anyway).
I love this book there are photos, artworks, covers of zerox'd magazines and underground press flyers (a miracle they survived), tons of pre-punk punk-iconography, rare record covers (The Bees form 1966), Vivian Westwood pre-punk (Jerry Lee Lewis) zipper t-shirt. Modern punk only gets a passing mention at the end of the book, just as it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Oct 2012
This review is from: Punk: An Aesthetic (Hardcover)
This is an excellent publication. Minimal text, maximum imagery. It is extremely inspiring on the inside and on the outside it is a beautiful artifact.
A great cross-section of art works from the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must buyyy!!1, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk: An Aesthetic (Hardcover)
Really great book ..the pictures, all the flyers, posters and things they collected for this book are amazing. Even if you
aren't a big fan of punk music.. its still a great book.. some of the imagery from the posters and fanzines are soo cool. It's really inspiring.
Really glad i bought this!!!
emma :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vive La Punk, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk: An Aesthetic (Hardcover)
A great book that clearly shows how both punk music and art collided. Mainly visual and little text which is how it should be. It made me dig out my battered old 7" singles again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best so far, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk: An Aesthetic (Hardcover)
This is a really gorgeous book -very high quality stock and easily the best of it's kind so far.Others (Punk Press,Loud Flash,even The Art of Punk) only provide illustrations of the entirely ordinary.This is in a different class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 4 Nov 2012
This review is from: Punk: An Aesthetic (Hardcover)
Want original punk YouTube phil symonds punk,lov story,and city Indians book.
From 77 to 82 me and the wife had time of our life's
I was going to reply to the troll,then I remembered the ignore button!
As my mate Adam used to say ,when he wasn't singing Lou with jorden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful content, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk: An Aesthetic (Hardcover)
In one word, this book is perfect. I recommend it to whoever interested in punk culture aesthetics: it's full of images and useful content. Very inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Punk: An Aesthetic
Punk: An Aesthetic by Johan Kugelberg (Hardcover - 15 Sep 2012)
£35.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews