Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
The book opens with an essay by William Feaver; personal and enlightening it makes fascinating reading; the writer has clearly known the artist for some time. Feaver conveys a clear picture of the artist, his background and training, and his approach to his work. Also included are four conversations between Fever and Lucian Freud: November 1992 (appeared The Observer...
Published on 2 April 2008 by Benjamin

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good book but...
This is one of the most ambitious books about this great painter. But I am sorry to say that many of the reproductions are very bad.
Published 15 months ago by Thomas E


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 2 April 2008
By 
Benjamin (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lucian Freud (Hardcover)
The book opens with an essay by William Feaver; personal and enlightening it makes fascinating reading; the writer has clearly known the artist for some time. Feaver conveys a clear picture of the artist, his background and training, and his approach to his work. Also included are four conversations between Fever and Lucian Freud: November 1992 (appeared The Observer December 1992), April 1998 (The Observer May 1998), November 2001 (on John Constable) and February 2007. The book concludes with a List of Illustrations, fairly brief Chronology and a Bibliography.

This book is illustrated throughout in full-colour including the black and white drawings but not the etchings, which alone are reproduced in black and white half-tone. There are 362 illustrations in the Plates section with many more pictures accompanying the essay.

This large format book comes in a very substantial slip-case. The outstanding feature of the book however is the reproduction of the paintings; mostly full-page in size, with many bleed images and several double-page spreads. The work is arranged chronologically with the earliest dating from 1939 up to 2006; almost entirely portraits, figures or groups, there is the occasional still life and a few scenes. An impressive and beautiful book superbly illustrated, it is to be highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lucian Freud, william feaver 2007, 26 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. R. Kitson (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lucian Freud (Hardcover)
This is a comprehensive study of the work of Lucian Freud spanning his entire career to date. Although other volumes have been published, none since the large Bruce Bernard retrospective have been quite as vast an account as this one. The Bernard book is also quite hard to find these days and you could be expected to pay upwards of 100 for a good copy.

I have studied the Bernard book and this one by Feaver is easily as good and is even longer due to the simple fact that Freud has made many more works since the Bernard book was published in 1996.

If you don't own a Freud book then this is a great one to buy. If you do you may be disapointed at the amount of images you will already have seen. However, that is the only reason I have given this book 4 stars and not 5. There are conversations between Freud and Feaver within and an essay by Feaver gets the book off to a good start. I have read more challenging essays on Freud in other publications but this book seems to point more at the work than be a critical study and this essay by Feaver is a great read.

I own many books on Freud and I wasn't disapointed with this one as the work from his early and middle career is covered in greater detail than in previous books. The images I had not seen more than made up for the fact that I had seen many of the others. The attractive slip case sealed the deal as I am a sucker for good presentation!

Now in his 85th year Freud is still making work and this publication by Feaver brings us right up to date on the career of one of Britains most celebrated figurative artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book Freud, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Lucian Freud (Hardcover)
precious is the book of this great painter. the images are amazing and very good quality, as it should be all art book, merit and appreciation to the editorial, very very good, really worth it. It covers all of his work, until recent years, including many works not seen in other books that I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost excellent, 17 Feb 2012
This review is from: Lucian Freud (Hardcover)
I bought this book in the wake of visiting the Freud exhibition at the Nat.Portrait Gallery (Feb 2012) so have a very clear visual memory of the colour tones used by Lucien Freud. Regrettably, the colour reproduction in this book misses the mark and is not quite in keeping with the paintings themselves. Some, seriously so. This said, it's a great reference book of Freud's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning but heavy!, 8 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucian Freud (Hardcover)
Others have said it far better than me but this really is a stunning book: big, exquisite reproductions of Freud's work and perceptive text. It really is the next best thing to seeing the paintings themselves. The only downside is the book's weight: you're not going to want to sit with this on your lap for long. But that really is the ONLY downside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucian Freud (Hardcover)
I do not want to repeat what has already been said, but I would recommend this book to anyone. Spanning nearly his entire career it is a sturdy book with excellent images. Given the size, thickness and quality it is well worth the money. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucian Freud (Hardcover)
wonderful book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucian Freud (Hardcover)
You get a lot of bang for your buck with this book. Nicely packaged in it's only sturdy slip cover box. This is quite a hefty book and full colour illustrations. It's also quite a read. I am looking forward to going through it page by page. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars William Feaver's 'Lucien Freud', 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucian Freud (Hardcover)
The best and most comprehensive book to date on the British modern master, Lucien Freud. Beautiful reproductions on all of his most important pictures, from early youth to the late monumental Leigh Bowery paintings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lucian Freud, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucian Freud (Hardcover)
A brilliant overview of the work of Lucian Freud. A great pleasure to have and to enjoy again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lucian Freud
Lucian Freud by William Feaver (Hardcover - 25 Sep 2007)
42.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews