Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passionate polemic
This passionate polemic by Oriana Fallaci grew out of an article she wrote for an Italian newspaper after the events of 9/11. She afterwards expanded the piece in order to say everything she wanted to get off her chest. In her own words, she was trying to open the eyes of those who do not want to see, unplug the ears of those who do not want to hear and ignite the...
Published on 30 Jun 2005 by Pieter Uys

versus
41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rage and the Bile
This extraordinary outburst by Fallacci is the latest in a long line of "revenge-writings" where she flushes out her critics in order to knock them flat. Nothing she writes could possibly be termed "politically correct". In her mind there is no doubt that there exists a state of war between the world of Islam and the West; not a war of religion, but a war where a religion...
Published on 14 Jan 2003 by Factotum


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passionate polemic, 30 Jun 2005
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
This passionate polemic by Oriana Fallaci grew out of an article she wrote for an Italian newspaper after the events of 9/11. She afterwards expanded the piece in order to say everything she wanted to get off her chest. In her own words, she was trying to open the eyes of those who do not want to see, unplug the ears of those who do not want to hear and ignite the thoughts of those who refuse to think.

In her introductory dedication, Fallaci explains that the English text is her own translation and there may be oddities in the style and vocabulary, but that she wanted it to be like that because she wishes to retain complete responsibility for every word, period and comma in this book. I found her language quite charming, an Italianate version of English brimming with rage and anger.

In the Preface, she talks about inter alia New York as a place of refuge for Italian expatriates, her family background, the struggle against fascism, the process of writing the newspaper article that eventually evolved into this book, and much more besides.

The main text starts out with her feelings right after she saw the attack on the Twin Towers on TV and what followed. She also discusses the various reactions from around the globe, the heroism of the fire-fighters and America's unity in the face of adversity.

Fallaci really lays into the politically correct, the followers of multiculturalism and the apologists for terrorism. While not blind to the faults of the West, she vigorously defends Western culture, even Christianity, although she claims to be an atheist.

Talking extensively about her travels in the Middle East, Fallaci relates a humorous incident about the time she interviewed the Ayatollah Khomeini in Iran, and a sad encounter with Ali Bhutto, a former Pakistani prime minister. Her outrage at the destruction of the Bamiyan Buddha statues in Afghanistan is palpable. She also gives a moving account of her meeting with the Dalai Lama in Dharamsala in 1968.

Fallaci doesn't mince words as she talks about the growing numbers of culturally non-integrated minorities in her native Italy and the problems arising from that situation. It would appear that she despairs for the future of Europe, lashing out at certain European leaders and the political elites. She calls the EU the suicide of Europe.

I think The Rage And The Pride must be the most politically incorrect book that I have ever read. It is brutally honest, emotional and perhaps a bit over the top in one or two places where it might make some readers' hair stand on end. But it is a rivetting read, one very special woman's testament to the dangers facing the West, and an eloquent defence of our culture.

Those who appreciate this book may also appreciate Eurabia by Bat Ye'or, Unholy Alliance by David Horowitz, The New Anti-Semitism by Phyllis Chesler, Castle Of Lies by Christopher Booker, Menace in Europe by Claire Berlinski and Fallaci's final book, The Force of Reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way to go Oriana, 1 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
Ih Her The Rage and Pride Oriana Fallci shows herself to be one of the bravest women in the Western World ... her first-hand testimony of the ingratidue of muslim immigrants in Italy is absolutely eye-opening, urinuating and deffacating on religious symbols is hardly a sign of respect to your host nation (I wish they would show the same disdain when accepting Welfare benefits from their Infidel hosts)... one wonders how long before we witness the same behaviour in the UK...
We have recently just had "UK you will pay, 7/7 is on its way" by burga-clad "pious" muslim women on the streets of London... showing their contempt for the families of the July 7 atrocities...
Oriana is one of the most politically UNCorrect writers in the world... we need such a heroine in the UK..
Do read this book and admire this wonderful woman...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wake up call.. a must read, 27 Feb 2005
By 
Bernard M. Abel "bearliners" (Langley, Berks, Angleterre) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
That book is by far the best text I ve read about the muslim invasion, and its ghastly effects on our culture,.
I definitely agree with the author's point of view and, could not have said it better myself.. this is a must read for all free spirited, open minded westeners caring about our freedoms, our democracy and our values and a wake up call for all others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 4 May 2005
By 
Francesco Maria Egro (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
Oriana Fallacci is an amazing writer. We have to open our eyes and see what is going on... I would recommend it to anyone, islamic people as well because I can assure it will change the way you see things. Thank you Oriana Fallacci
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rant and Bile, 5 April 2007
By 
A. J. Rabet "Rabs" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
Is this book as good as many reviewers think or just the ravings of an aged lunatic as others imply?

In my view it is a bit of a curate's egg being a strange hybrid. Yes it is difficult to follow being a literal translation by the author herself of the original Italian rather than the work of a professional translator. In my view this adds to its force as Fallaci was a very erudite person with a wonderful command of both Italian and English.

She can appear racist at times but this is because of her unbridled anger as what she perceives of the Western World's weakness and self-loathing. She intended it to be rude to serve as a wake up call and as a call to arms. In such circumstances I believe one is justified in not flirting around the edges of a problem but confronting it head on. She has done this wonderfully and the book should be read by all and we must not forget what is encapsulated within namely if we capitulate to totalitarianism we will eventually be enslaved.

A marvellous read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Important Book for the last 100 years ! The Final Wake-Up Call for the West, 22 Nov 2006
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
This book has been called one of the two Most Important Books in the last 100 years. The other one? The Force of Reason, by the same author. This is the final wake-up call to all the people living in the West. Everyone lives in the West should read it now before it is too late. The book told us the history that even our Western societies do not dare to tell us for the last 100 years, we have been cheated by our own governments, our own media, our own politicians. You should buy at least 20 copies of this book and give them away to the politicians, the MPs, the newspaper editors, the journalists, your friends and your children. If you are a millionaire, buy 10,000 of them and give them away. Do it today, or you will truly regret. If you do not do this now, your children will be put into prison or be killed for doing the same thing when they grow up. Different from any other books in the last 100 years, this book tells us the truth that we do not know, the biggest danger that threatens the West, our wellbeing, our democracy, and the lives and death for our children, all because the greatest negligence the West has made. This book is truly the Final Wake-Up Call for the Western civilization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rage and the Bile, 14 Jan 2003
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
This extraordinary outburst by Fallacci is the latest in a long line of "revenge-writings" where she flushes out her critics in order to knock them flat. Nothing she writes could possibly be termed "politically correct". In her mind there is no doubt that there exists a state of war between the world of Islam and the West; not a war of religion, but a war where a religion is pitted against a way of life. Our liberalism is the chink in our armour that is being exploited by cynical clerics who are attempting to undermine the foundations of our society.
No-one is spared the lashing of her pen: the Islamists, the British, the French, to a lesser extent the Americans and, above all, the Italians. It is a courageous diatribe, right or wrong, and gives the impression that it was written in one long session and at break-neck speed. "Know thine enemy" could be a sub-title, and one that could be interpreted in both directions.
This is not a manual of international diplomacy nor an even-handed exposé of politics in the M.East. It is a wake-up call from someone who believes our society, along with our lives, to be threatened and who is fighting her perceived enemies with all the means at her diposal. To be read as one would walk through a minefield: tread carefully and you'll emerge from the other side with a good deal of satisfaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening, should be a wakeup call, 20 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
Oriana's stance and hard position towards Islam has often been labelled as "intolerance, hatred, religious racism". It is in fact the decent astonished reaction to an 'invasion' that the muslim world has started in the '70s, exploiting the weakness of the western decadent culture. Have you read 1984 from G.Orwell? Well, it appears that the muslim world and some blind philo-muslim european weak mind are doing the same with our culture: rewrite it. It was not the romano-greek world, not the christian scholars, not Leonardo Da Vinci,Galileo, Leibniz, Descartes, Newton, Hobbes, Spinoza, Hegel, Kant, and the list would continue for pages, to build our humanist, secular, free society and culture, no! It was some unknown muslim, thanks to the openness of Islam. We owe our civilisation to Islam! So, we should not only welcome muslim immigrants, give them the right of vote, the right to enter our governments, but we should allow them to crap on our history, our monuments, our roots. We should abolish Christmas, as this may offend muslims, but we should allow burqa and other outrageous clothes that offend not just my beliefs, but the dignity of all women and all decent men. Read this book carefully, and read the next from Oriana ("the force of the reason", published in Italy in march 2004), and then wakeup! Tolerance is only due to tolerant ideas. Understanding should not be extended to who does not want to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an important yet ironic rant, 16 Feb 2008
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
While I agree with some of the reviewers who described Fallaci's work as a rant, this book contains some valid points; however, the gross generalizations Fallaci relies on do not help her cause much, and risk, due to their offensive nature, alienating some readers into dismissing her argument altogether, her valid points notwithstanding.

I disagree with Fallaci on describing so many peoples and nations as, more or less, "scum" without any culture. I am turned off by her using single repulsive incidents as sufficient evidence to draw conclusions about entire races and peoples. I disagree with her in putting everyone in the same basket, including countless poor immigrants who escaped from abhorring conditions and are enduring terrible ordeals to seek better lives. The many boat people trying to escape to Europe via Spain and drowning in the process are but one example. Fallaci seems to forget that behind most immigrants there is real and chilling misery, instead she assumes they are all part of some army-in-disguise aiming at annihilating western civilization.

In her book, every immigrant is either a terrorist, an aspiring terrorist, or a criminal. Fallaci generalizes too much, and demonizes just about everyone coming from a Muslim country. While Fallaci is right about the dangers of the militant version of a religion that does not wish to live and let live, but has, as part of its mission statement, the aim of conquering and preferably converting everyone on earth, nevertheless, this does not mean that everyone who comes out of a Muslim country is but a soldier-in-disguise. The truth is more about there being a specific group of fanatics who seek to transform as many immigrants (or children of immigrants) as possible to their own causes, and USE THEM for their own agenda.

Fallaci could have done better identifying the policies (of the Italian government, as well as western governments in general) that were ultimately responsible for this dangerous situation, such as the legal loopholes whereby fascist and like-minded groups could quote their democratic rights to push forth their agenda, and whereby one of the first items on that agenda is the abolition of that very democracy. Identifying specific practises would have been more productive than just spitting fire on everybody, which is the only thing Fallaci did.

The book takes the form of an offensive rant that vilifies entire peoples many of whom have committed no fault but having had the unfortunate destiny of being born under the banner of a religion which is not ready to undergoe any kind of revision of the types that other religions have undergone, and that persecutes anyone who calls for its reform, and punishes anyone who wishes to leave it by execution. Some writer ( I don't remember the name) once said, "Muslims are themselves the first hostages of their religion". Many people from Muslim countries emigrate to the West simply to seek better lives and better education for their children. Assuming that all of them are militia to the "inverse crusade" as she described it, is a gross injustice. However, calling for tougher measures to identify the foul elements among them, those who carry out a systematic plan of recruitment to violent causes inside their host countries and drafting tough laws to send those elements packing, would have been a more helpful way of going about it.

An interesting fact is that, throughout her text, Fallaci repeatedly describes the composition of italians using the word "humus", saying things like "we are a humus of...", not realizing (?) that the word "humus" describes an ARAB dish (and the word itself is neither Italian, nor English, but Arabic!), the very people (along with other non-arab-muslims) that she dedicated most of her pages to denigrating! It is, of course, a superb irony, revealing the fact that cultures have always intermingled and it is impossible to separate what comes from where or whom, that even a staunch opposer of "immigrant invasion" as Fallaci, goes on to use words from "their" language to describe her very different heritage, apparently without being conscious of it.

While Fallaci has plenty of words of admiration for the US, she doesn't seem to realize another irony: what made the US a world superpower is precisely its immigrants, the incalculabe richness of all those races coming together and bringing their individual strengths to enhance the whole. Fallaci, in her anger against the abusive practises of violent elements among immigrants cannot discriminate between what needs to be isolated and dealt with, and, what has always been a feature of humanity: that of moving to better, more promising pastures. Islamic militants do not represent entire races and peoples, assuming that is playing into their hands and buying into their propaganda.

Had she been also interested in real solutions, rather than just a format for ditching her anger, she'd have suggested some new laws that call for integration of immigrants in Europe, similar to those in the US, policies with specific deadlines, whereby immigrants are given the chance to learn the language and prime themselves for integration, otherwise, they'd not get the right to citizenship/permits and would have to leave. Under such conditions, immigrants would have to make the effort to integrate if they want to stay. When no such measures exist, and society is indifferent as to what is going on, naturally, they could wake up one day with a big problem at hand.

While Fallaci is right about the current serious problem in the West (as well as the rest of the world, for that matter) as a result of the rise of militant Islam, with Khomeini at its source as she correctly remarks, her identification of who's behind it is not very accurate, and, as far as any helpful suggestions are concerned, she offered none except an implied "throw-them-all-out" message.

While I do not wish at all to belittle the danger, and do agree that some of the "anti-racism" campaigners have, in their defense of some of the practises of immigrants, contributed to emboldening the extreme elements among them into believing they can turn the countries they sought refuge in into copies of the countries they ran away from, nevertheless, responding by claiming that immigrants are "the enemy" and coining the problem as allowing immigration in the first place, is an approach that, while providing a GREAT format for venting, does not offer real solutions.

Let's hope someone would heed the danger she pointed to BUT would have a REASONABLE, PRACTICAL AND FIRM PLAN for ways to avert the danger, without throwing out the baby with the bathwater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hard and Compelling, 27 July 2010
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
No time for tears or nostalgia, the author espouses and advocates what most of already feel about Islam and Muslims but don't really dare to voice. Is it racist or is it a daring opinion? Can't fault her writing or her impeccable style ( even in translation, and I read Italian). A life cut short too soon, I wonder what she would have made of today's world? A must read book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rage and Pride
The Rage and Pride by Oriana Fallaci (Hardcover - 22 Nov 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews