Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passionate polemic
This passionate polemic by Oriana Fallaci grew out of an article she wrote for an Italian newspaper after the events of 9/11. She afterwards expanded the piece in order to say everything she wanted to get off her chest. In her own words, she was trying to open the eyes of those who do not want to see, unplug the ears of those who do not want to hear and ignite the...
Published on 30 Jun 2005 by Pieter Uys

versus
41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rage and the Bile
This extraordinary outburst by Fallacci is the latest in a long line of "revenge-writings" where she flushes out her critics in order to knock them flat. Nothing she writes could possibly be termed "politically correct". In her mind there is no doubt that there exists a state of war between the world of Islam and the West; not a war of religion, but a war where a religion...
Published on 14 Jan 2003 by Factotum


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passionate polemic, 30 Jun 2005
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
This passionate polemic by Oriana Fallaci grew out of an article she wrote for an Italian newspaper after the events of 9/11. She afterwards expanded the piece in order to say everything she wanted to get off her chest. In her own words, she was trying to open the eyes of those who do not want to see, unplug the ears of those who do not want to hear and ignite the thoughts of those who refuse to think.

In her introductory dedication, Fallaci explains that the English text is her own translation and there may be oddities in the style and vocabulary, but that she wanted it to be like that because she wishes to retain complete responsibility for every word, period and comma in this book. I found her language quite charming, an Italianate version of English brimming with rage and anger.

In the Preface, she talks about inter alia New York as a place of refuge for Italian expatriates, her family background, the struggle against fascism, the process of writing the newspaper article that eventually evolved into this book, and much more besides.

The main text starts out with her feelings right after she saw the attack on the Twin Towers on TV and what followed. She also discusses the various reactions from around the globe, the heroism of the fire-fighters and America's unity in the face of adversity.

Fallaci really lays into the politically correct, the followers of multiculturalism and the apologists for terrorism. While not blind to the faults of the West, she vigorously defends Western culture, even Christianity, although she claims to be an atheist.

Talking extensively about her travels in the Middle East, Fallaci relates a humorous incident about the time she interviewed the Ayatollah Khomeini in Iran, and a sad encounter with Ali Bhutto, a former Pakistani prime minister. Her outrage at the destruction of the Bamiyan Buddha statues in Afghanistan is palpable. She also gives a moving account of her meeting with the Dalai Lama in Dharamsala in 1968.

Fallaci doesn't mince words as she talks about the growing numbers of culturally non-integrated minorities in her native Italy and the problems arising from that situation. It would appear that she despairs for the future of Europe, lashing out at certain European leaders and the political elites. She calls the EU the suicide of Europe.

I think The Rage And The Pride must be the most politically incorrect book that I have ever read. It is brutally honest, emotional and perhaps a bit over the top in one or two places where it might make some readers' hair stand on end. But it is a rivetting read, one very special woman's testament to the dangers facing the West, and an eloquent defence of our culture.

Those who appreciate this book may also appreciate Eurabia by Bat Ye'or, Unholy Alliance by David Horowitz, The New Anti-Semitism by Phyllis Chesler, Castle Of Lies by Christopher Booker, Menace in Europe by Claire Berlinski and Fallaci's final book, The Force of Reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way to go Oriana, 1 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
Ih Her The Rage and Pride Oriana Fallci shows herself to be one of the bravest women in the Western World ... her first-hand testimony of the ingratidue of muslim immigrants in Italy is absolutely eye-opening, urinuating and deffacating on religious symbols is hardly a sign of respect to your host nation (I wish they would show the same disdain when accepting Welfare benefits from their Infidel hosts)... one wonders how long before we witness the same behaviour in the UK...
We have recently just had "UK you will pay, 7/7 is on its way" by burga-clad "pious" muslim women on the streets of London... showing their contempt for the families of the July 7 atrocities...
Oriana is one of the most politically UNCorrect writers in the world... we need such a heroine in the UK..
Do read this book and admire this wonderful woman...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wake up call.. a must read, 27 Feb 2005
By 
Mr. B. M. Abel "bearliners" (Langley, Berks, Angleterre) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
That book is by far the best text I ve read about the muslim invasion, and its ghastly effects on our culture,.
I definitely agree with the author's point of view and, could not have said it better myself.. this is a must read for all free spirited, open minded westeners caring about our freedoms, our democracy and our values and a wake up call for all others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rant and Bile, 5 April 2007
By 
A. J. Rabet "Rabs" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
Is this book as good as many reviewers think or just the ravings of an aged lunatic as others imply?

In my view it is a bit of a curate's egg being a strange hybrid. Yes it is difficult to follow being a literal translation by the author herself of the original Italian rather than the work of a professional translator. In my view this adds to its force as Fallaci was a very erudite person with a wonderful command of both Italian and English.

She can appear racist at times but this is because of her unbridled anger as what she perceives of the Western World's weakness and self-loathing. She intended it to be rude to serve as a wake up call and as a call to arms. In such circumstances I believe one is justified in not flirting around the edges of a problem but confronting it head on. She has done this wonderfully and the book should be read by all and we must not forget what is encapsulated within namely if we capitulate to totalitarianism we will eventually be enslaved.

A marvellous read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passion and Subjectivity., 3 April 2008
By 
Lance Grundy (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
This book, while not exactly a `rant', is certainly a harsh polemic against Islam. Fired up by the 9/11 attacks and the continuing encroachment of what she saw as an alien culture in her beloved Italy, La Fallaci sat down and wrote a hostile critique of Islam for an Italian newspaper. The article met with widespread support and, encouraged, she expanded the article to book length and published it as "The Rage and the Pride." Both her rage and her pride come across strongly in her highly subjective writing and her arguments are far less reasoned than in her second book "The Force of Reason."

Such passionate and politically incorrect writing is becoming a rarity these days and Oriana Fallaci is to be congratulated for her courage. The brutal honesty she displays in this book though cost her dear. Faced with arrest in Europe for inciting hatred she was forced to spend the twilight years of her life in exile in the United States returning to Italy only to die in her home town of Florence - cheating her detractors of the show trial they so craved.

Although the book's literary merits are slim, it deserves to be read for its passion and brutal honesty. It is a call to arms from someone concerned their civilisation is being destroyed and who feels duty bound to try and wake up her compatriots before it is too late. In her own words... "There are moments in life when keeping silent becomes a fault, and speaking an obligation. A civic duty, a moral challenge, a categorical imperative from which we cannot escape."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 4 May 2005
By 
Francesco Maria Egro (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
Oriana Fallacci is an amazing writer. We have to open our eyes and see what is going on... I would recommend it to anyone, islamic people as well because I can assure it will change the way you see things. Thank you Oriana Fallacci
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Important Book for the last 100 years ! The Final Wake-Up Call for the West, 22 Nov 2006
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
This book has been called one of the two Most Important Books in the last 100 years. The other one? The Force of Reason, by the same author. This is the final wake-up call to all the people living in the West. Everyone lives in the West should read it now before it is too late. The book told us the history that even our Western societies do not dare to tell us for the last 100 years, we have been cheated by our own governments, our own media, our own politicians. You should buy at least 20 copies of this book and give them away to the politicians, the MPs, the newspaper editors, the journalists, your friends and your children. If you are a millionaire, buy 10,000 of them and give them away. Do it today, or you will truly regret. If you do not do this now, your children will be put into prison or be killed for doing the same thing when they grow up. Different from any other books in the last 100 years, this book tells us the truth that we do not know, the biggest danger that threatens the West, our wellbeing, our democracy, and the lives and death for our children, all because the greatest negligence the West has made. This book is truly the Final Wake-Up Call for the Western civilization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rage and the Bile, 14 Jan 2003
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
This extraordinary outburst by Fallacci is the latest in a long line of "revenge-writings" where she flushes out her critics in order to knock them flat. Nothing she writes could possibly be termed "politically correct". In her mind there is no doubt that there exists a state of war between the world of Islam and the West; not a war of religion, but a war where a religion is pitted against a way of life. Our liberalism is the chink in our armour that is being exploited by cynical clerics who are attempting to undermine the foundations of our society.
No-one is spared the lashing of her pen: the Islamists, the British, the French, to a lesser extent the Americans and, above all, the Italians. It is a courageous diatribe, right or wrong, and gives the impression that it was written in one long session and at break-neck speed. "Know thine enemy" could be a sub-title, and one that could be interpreted in both directions.
This is not a manual of international diplomacy nor an even-handed exposé of politics in the M.East. It is a wake-up call from someone who believes our society, along with our lives, to be threatened and who is fighting her perceived enemies with all the means at her diposal. To be read as one would walk through a minefield: tread carefully and you'll emerge from the other side with a good deal of satisfaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening, should be a wakeup call, 20 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
Oriana's stance and hard position towards Islam has often been labelled as "intolerance, hatred, religious racism". It is in fact the decent astonished reaction to an 'invasion' that the muslim world has started in the '70s, exploiting the weakness of the western decadent culture. Have you read 1984 from G.Orwell? Well, it appears that the muslim world and some blind philo-muslim european weak mind are doing the same with our culture: rewrite it. It was not the romano-greek world, not the christian scholars, not Leonardo Da Vinci,Galileo, Leibniz, Descartes, Newton, Hobbes, Spinoza, Hegel, Kant, and the list would continue for pages, to build our humanist, secular, free society and culture, no! It was some unknown muslim, thanks to the openness of Islam. We owe our civilisation to Islam! So, we should not only welcome muslim immigrants, give them the right of vote, the right to enter our governments, but we should allow them to crap on our history, our monuments, our roots. We should abolish Christmas, as this may offend muslims, but we should allow burqa and other outrageous clothes that offend not just my beliefs, but the dignity of all women and all decent men. Read this book carefully, and read the next from Oriana ("the force of the reason", published in Italy in march 2004), and then wakeup! Tolerance is only due to tolerant ideas. Understanding should not be extended to who does not want to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alas - only too true!, 11 Aug 2014
By 
Roger Clark (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rage and Pride (Hardcover)
I bought this book soon after the 9/11 attacks. I was shocked by its vehemence. Could this be true? I asked myself. I read Fallaci's other book "The Force of Reason". Again I was shocked by its tone. Again I asked was it true?

Sadly after years of reading more temperate books, studying the Islamic threat, following the news and examining what Muslims say and do I have come to the conclusion that what Fallaci wrote was true.

As Fallaci makes clear militant Islam is a threat to all mankind as it was in centuries past. No amount of bluster will disguise that fact. Muslims are locked into a belief system that guarantees endless strife. They have been at war with each other ever since Islam was invented 1400 years ago. It's the longest-running sectarian war in history. And when they're not fighting one another Muslims are fighting everyone else. There's something wrong with their religion, but the religious zealots are too irrational to examine its faults.

Edward Said denounced this book when it first came out. He would! But can anyone truthfully argue that Islam means peace? Look at its history. Look at what it's doing right now all over the world. The West is under attack. The threat to democracy, free speech and human rights is real. The clash of civilisations is happening.

I wish I could condemn Oriana Fallaci and say she got it wrong. I wish I could say Islam is no threat to anyone. But that is impossible. Fallaci's language may be intemperate, but she got her facts right. That's what's so shocking about her books. People need to heed her warnings.

We will be lucky if we escape a third world war. Millions of Muslims want one. They should try thinking instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rage and Pride
The Rage and Pride by Oriana Fallaci (Hardcover - 22 Nov 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews