Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really really useful
This book clarifies all those grammatical things so the language falls into place as you learn it. I've been going to Norwegian classes in Norway and this book fills in those gaps that you struggle on as an English speaker, it has excelled my learning amazingly. Its nicely laid out, very user friendly so you can just pick it up and get absorbed while having a coffee...
Published on 28 Jan 2004 by hannah779

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lazy work, many errors
Far too many errors! Although the vast majority of this book is correct, there are also dozens of actual errors, as well as many instances of unnatural language, ie phrases a native would never use, nor consider to be right, although they might be correct according to some dictionaries. That just isn't good enough for a book this size. If they had bothered to get it proof...
Published on 29 May 2010 by M. Nome


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really really useful, 28 Jan 2004
This review is from: Norwegian Verbs And Essentials of Grammar (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
This book clarifies all those grammatical things so the language falls into place as you learn it. I've been going to Norwegian classes in Norway and this book fills in those gaps that you struggle on as an English speaker, it has excelled my learning amazingly. Its nicely laid out, very user friendly so you can just pick it up and get absorbed while having a coffee without feeling you 'must' study. Good verb listing to help everyday uses. Essential reading if you are an English speaker learning Norwegian!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for beginners, 29 April 2007
By 
David Welsh (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Norwegian Verbs And Essentials of Grammar (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
This is a great grammar for learners of Norwegian. Everything's clearly laid out and accessible. I found the list of the most common mistakes made by English speakers and the tables of strong and irregular verbs at the back particularly useful. Norwegian grammar's not all that complicated really, so this will last you until you're getting to a fairly advanced level, and at that point you'd do well to get a Norwegian grammar in Norwegian. There are few cultures in the world as interested in their own language as the Norwegians, so there are plenty to choose from! I'd recommend Finn-Erik Vinje's "Norsk grammatikk" which is nice and user-friendly, or Kunnskapsforlaget's "Språkvett", which isn't a proper grammar really, but a very useful compendium of articles on the most commonly asked questions about grammar and correct usage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good aid for the Norwegian learner, 19 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Norwegian Verbs And Essentials of Grammar (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
used in conjunction with some other aids (a dictionary is needed, other materials may be beneficial) this book is fantastic for people fairly new to learning norwegian, as i am.

the biggest advantage is the ability to expand on your current (and soon to be) vocabulary using grammatical rules. For instance if you know the word sleep, you can develop sleeps, sleeping and sleepy without the need of learning the variations as new words. This opens up a new confidence in your speaking and you become much more fluid.

The gramatical concepts are divided into easy to understand sections and so are able to be practiced as you go along. Before finishing the book I was writing poetry in Norwegian to hone my skills and it proved very enjoyable.

But it must be stressed this is suited for the learner and is not a stand alone learning tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lazy work, many errors, 29 May 2010
By 
M. Nome (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Norwegian Verbs And Essentials of Grammar (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
Far too many errors! Although the vast majority of this book is correct, there are also dozens of actual errors, as well as many instances of unnatural language, ie phrases a native would never use, nor consider to be right, although they might be correct according to some dictionaries. That just isn't good enough for a book this size. If they had bothered to get it proof read by a native Norwegian, this could have been easily avoided. I bought this book for my non-norwegian girlfriend, and had to spend a couple of hours correcting it before handing it over. I am a Norwegian who writes for a living. See amazon.com for a more comprehensive review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely clever, logical and functional book, 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: Norwegian Verbs And Essentials of Grammar (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
I love this book, it's been written by intelligent people for intelligent people. It does what it says on the tin and it does it very well. It avoids all the drivel, all the embellishments and goes straight to the point.

Rather than going through the usual, stereotypical units, it just gets straight to the grammatical topics (verbs, nouns, adjectives, pronouns etc). It's very easy to consult and to learn from. Good list of verbs conjugations at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful!, 26 July 2009
By 
S. Campbell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Norwegian Verbs And Essentials of Grammar (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
I bought this book after I'd been learning Norwegian (on my own) for about 3 months. Until I got this book I was struggling to find and remember the rules and reasons for word order, adjective conjugation, etc. It all seemed to be quite ramdom. Now I refer to this book all the time as I study to find out why particular words are used and where. The index makes it easy to find the information you want quickly.

Highly recommended to anyone learning Norwegian. It's very helpful and great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not big enough, 13 Jan 2007
This review is from: Norwegian Verbs And Essentials of Grammar (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
I don't think I see the point in this book if you've already got a book like Teach Yourself Norwegian.

It just doesn't contain enough stuff... and what there is is padded out with lots of empty space.

Having said that, it's well set out and an easy read, but it really should be twice as thick and have a lot more packed into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastisk!, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norwegian Verbs And Essentials of Grammar (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
Brilliant book, really explains the intricate workings of Norwegian grammar with many examples. I used this book with a fairly strong grasp of the language anyway but used this as extra revision and refinement for my bergenstest so I'm not sure how useful this book is for beginners.

However the book does cover all sorts of concepts (those that are easy and difficult) and uses many examples to illustrate the points made.

My only real critcism is that it doesn't give a detailed pronunciation guide but then to learn a language you shouldn't just rely on one source or package.

Well worth the money, definitely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but..., 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norwegian Verbs And Essentials of Grammar (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
ok for what it is and does a job but if you wnat to learn a lanuage you will need a proper language course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I Like the grammar but..., 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norwegian Verbs And Essentials of Grammar (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
The book includes important subjects, it is easy to read it and to understand the explaination. However the chapter concerning prepositions should be more complete, sveral prpositions were not included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Norwegian Verbs And Essentials of Grammar (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series)
£8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews