Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 13 Nov 2009
By 
Dr. Christine Smith (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
My teacher recommended this book to complement our textbook. It has really helped me to make progress. As with all languages,Swedish has its different grammatical stuctures and these are clearly and comprehensively explained.pointing out in great detail how the Swedish form differs fom Engish. I have not seen a Swedish textbook which does this.Another strength is that at the same time Engish grammar is explained fully. For example,no assumptions are made,say about the reader,understanding what an "adverbial clause" is,in the first place. This is paticularly helpful for readers,who have not already learnt another foreign language,where these general concepts of grammar are already very familiar.

Christine Smith...London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swedish Language, 8 April 2010
By 
Ragnar - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
This book is very clearly written. If you already know about grammar you may wish to skip the explanations, but if you don't you will find them useful. One particular strength of this book is that it allows for forgetting and artfully sneaks in revision as it goes along.

One problem will always be pronunciation, where a book without a CD will be at a disadvantage compared to a book which includes one. So, though the authors do what they can, supplementing this book with listening to Swedish language would be advised.

There may be better books on this subject, though I find that hard to believe. I'm sure there won't be a better one for the asking price.

(There is an error on page 104, where the wrong word is given for 'that' singular.
Don't get hung up on it like I did!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unravelling the mysteries of Swedish, 16 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
Learning the local language is a necessity for any immigrant (of which I am one) wishing to integrate. Despite taking formal lessons in Swedish at a local college and possessing a plethora of various textbooks to assist in making sense of up to twenty different conjugations of verbs, I still felt that I needed a little more help. Essentials of Swedish Grammar (A Practical Guide To The Mastery Of Swedish) by Åke Viberg, Kerstin Ballardini and Sune Stjärnlöf simplifies the learning process to such a degree that my understanding of this erudite and somewhat intangible language has stepped up a few gears since purchasing it. The book is a joy to read and easy to assimilate and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to any serious student of Swedish, especially those who are feeling strangled whilst attempting to make sense of the esoteric vowel sounds of this ancient tongue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 14 Jan 2012
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
A very well presented book, has been very useful in aiding my swedish, well put together and sold at a great price. I don't regret the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book., 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
I would highly recommend this book. It explains grammatical points very clearly, even for someone who has little knowledge of grammar. Gives good examples and compares Swedish to how English is used, so you can see the differences and similarities. Great to have a book in English when lessons are in Swedish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but very in depth, 10 Jan 2010
By 
E. Dada - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
The book is good and points out all of the major rules for learning Swedish. The book focuses on comparisons between English & Swedish which is very good. It is however more in depth than some other books out there, writing about areas of language that you don't need to know. In my view this could have been left out. Other than that it is a good book, I would have just liked it to stick to teaching more, instead of background knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Grammar Summary, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
A must have book for anyone willing to learn Swedish. All the rules are explained properly, even providing some hints to learn faster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Developing Swedish for beginners, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
Good book, clearly explained essential of Swedish grammar and verbs. If you want to improve your language abilities- that's the way to do it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content - no fluff, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
This little book is a gold mine for people starting out learning Swedish grammar. It treats the reader as intelligent, but assumes no prior grammatical knowledge, starting right from the beginning with a short explanation as to why grammar is essential for communication in a language, before proceeding to present the material very clearly in a logical sequence.

Plenty of language courses begin with a set verb phrase, and strings of nouns to accompany it (eg. 'I would like...' and a list of drinks you might like to order, or 'I am...' and a list of jobs or nationalities), so I enjoyed all of the verb morphology coming first - everything from the present tense up to passive constructions and rather knotty modal verbs - so that you could build a huge number of sentences straight away.

All of the examples are translated into English alongside or underneath, so it's even possible to start to develop a reading knowledge of the language just from reading these.

Obviously the learner will also need a collection of exercises to work through the rules presented, as well as recordings for oral/aural work, and of course some vocabulary lists. But the book does exactly what it proposes to do, in an unglamorous but effective way, and I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of information, 20 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
Simply put, it's a very good book for explaining the basic rules of the Swedish language and it arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews