Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
Dr. Christine Smith (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
My teacher recommended this book to complement our textbook. It has really helped me to make progress. As with all languages,Swedish has its different grammatical stuctures and these are clearly and comprehensively explained.pointing out in great detail how the Swedish form differs fom Engish. I have not seen a Swedish textbook which does this.Another strength is that at the same time Engish grammar is explained fully. For example,no assumptions are made,say about the reader,understanding what an "adverbial clause" is,in the first place. This is paticularly helpful for readers,who have not already learnt another foreign language,where these general concepts of grammar are already very familiar.

Christine Smith...London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swedish Language, 8 April 2010
By 
Ragnar - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
This book is very clearly written. If you already know about grammar you may wish to skip the explanations, but if you don't you will find them useful. One particular strength of this book is that it allows for forgetting and artfully sneaks in revision as it goes along.

One problem will always be pronunciation, where a book without a CD will be at a disadvantage compared to a book which includes one. So, though the authors do what they can, supplementing this book with listening to Swedish language would be advised.

There may be better books on this subject, though I find that hard to believe. I'm sure there won't be a better one for the asking price.

(There is an error on page 104, where the wrong word is given for 'that' singular.
Don't get hung up on it like I did!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unravelling the mysteries of Swedish, 16 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
Learning the local language is a necessity for any immigrant (of which I am one) wishing to integrate. Despite taking formal lessons in Swedish at a local college and possessing a plethora of various textbooks to assist in making sense of up to twenty different conjugations of verbs, I still felt that I needed a little more help. Essentials of Swedish Grammar (A Practical Guide To The Mastery Of Swedish) by Åke Viberg, Kerstin Ballardini and Sune Stjärnlöf simplifies the learning process to such a degree that my understanding of this erudite and somewhat intangible language has stepped up a few gears since purchasing it. The book is a joy to read and easy to assimilate and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to any serious student of Swedish, especially those who are feeling strangled whilst attempting to make sense of the esoteric vowel sounds of this ancient tongue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book., 25 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
I would highly recommend this book. It explains grammatical points very clearly, even for someone who has little knowledge of grammar. Gives good examples and compares Swedish to how English is used, so you can see the differences and similarities. Great to have a book in English when lessons are in Swedish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but very in depth, 10 Jan. 2010
By 
E. Dada - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
The book is good and points out all of the major rules for learning Swedish. The book focuses on comparisons between English & Swedish which is very good. It is however more in depth than some other books out there, writing about areas of language that you don't need to know. In my view this could have been left out. Other than that it is a good book, I would have just liked it to stick to teaching more, instead of background knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 14 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
A very well presented book, has been very useful in aiding my swedish, well put together and sold at a great price. I don't regret the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content - no fluff, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
This little book is a gold mine for people starting out learning Swedish grammar. It treats the reader as intelligent, but assumes no prior grammatical knowledge, starting right from the beginning with a short explanation as to why grammar is essential for communication in a language, before proceeding to present the material very clearly in a logical sequence.

Plenty of language courses begin with a set verb phrase, and strings of nouns to accompany it (eg. 'I would like...' and a list of drinks you might like to order, or 'I am...' and a list of jobs or nationalities), so I enjoyed all of the verb morphology coming first - everything from the present tense up to passive constructions and rather knotty modal verbs - so that you could build a huge number of sentences straight away.

All of the examples are translated into English alongside or underneath, so it's even possible to start to develop a reading knowledge of the language just from reading these.

Obviously the learner will also need a collection of exercises to work through the rules presented, as well as recordings for oral/aural work, and of course some vocabulary lists. But the book does exactly what it proposes to do, in an unglamorous but effective way, and I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Covers alot, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
This book is a gift for my boyfriend who's trying to learn Swedish. He hasn't gotten it get but I have read bits and pieces myself so here comes my review of it.

This book is essential for learning Swedish. It covers pretty much all the grammatical issues that you might have + a few more in a very easy-to-understand set-up.

I would recommend this book to people who already know a little bit of Swedish. It's not that total beginners won't understand it, just it'll probably be a little bit confusing with all the swedish words that will probably look like gibberish.

If you were planning on using this book to learn pronounciation, then look another way. You can not learn how to pronounce Swedish words by reading them, that's something you have to learn by listening. The sounds are simply too different from English.

If you're looking to take that next step in your journey to learn swedish, then this is the book for you. If you're just starting out, then either learn a bit more and buy it later, or just buy it now. If it's too confusing you can always pick it up again when you've progressed a bit.

Either way, this book comes highly recommended, and that's from a native Swede.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought due to good references, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
My partner is learning Swedish at the moment and has an intermediate level Swedish already. I got this book for him as a tool to deepen his knowledge and understanding for Swedish grammar. I based my decision to buy this particular book on previous reviews here on Amazon. He has found this book very helpful in perfecting his grammar skills and vocabulary, with help from me (I am a native Swede). However, if you are not familiar with basic grammar terms and what they mean, it may appear more complicated than it needs to be, in the descriptive parts. Therefore I think this book is more useful to people who already has some knowledge in the Swedish language and wants to deepen their understanding, as there are some very useful examples and sentences with every explanation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A handy, concise and good source for learning Swedish!, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Swedish Grammar: A Practical Guide to the Mastery of Swedish (Verbs and Essentials of Grammar Series) (Paperback)
You don't need any prior knowledge of Swedish to understand the content. It is all written in English. Although not the comprehensive type, it is still an exellent reference for anyone to start off learning the language. Most of the Swedish basics are there. I highly recommend this one for beginners. After getting a basic grasp of the language, you should then proceed to get yourself a comprehensive one if you want to further your Swedish. "Swedish: A Comprehensive Grammar, 3rd Edition" by Philip Holmes and Ian Hinchliffe is definitely the next one you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews