Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spanish a la Cartoon
`Spanish a la Cartoon' is an excellent book for those new to reading Spanish. This book presents simple written Spanish in a fun format. Each page has a single cartoon (not a cartoon strip) like the kind found in newspapers with a Spanish dialogue or phrase underneath. There is then a key word section that translates the main words into English, before the complete...
Published on 16 April 2009 by Spider Monkey

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not hilarious, not brilliantly helpful for learners
As another viewer has mentioned, these cartoons are not very clearly printed, making it difficult to photocopy them. The Spanish is sometimes from Latin America, which is fine in itself, but which doesn't sit well with the peninsular Spanish I am teaching. Some of the punchlines rely on understanding a word which my students would never be exposed to. As a school teacher...
Published 1 month ago by maharGharaS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spanish a la Cartoon, 16 April 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish a la Cartoon : 101 Hilarious Cartoons for Understanding Spanish Language and Culture (Paperback)
`Spanish a la Cartoon' is an excellent book for those new to reading Spanish. This book presents simple written Spanish in a fun format. Each page has a single cartoon (not a cartoon strip) like the kind found in newspapers with a Spanish dialogue or phrase underneath. There is then a key word section that translates the main words into English, before the complete phrase is translated into everyday English at the bottom. The cartoons are usually quite humorous and are a great visual way to start reading Spanish. There is also a Spanish-English glossary at the back. If you like this I'd recommend `Oxford Spanish Cartoon-Strip' which follows a similar format but is slightly more advanced due to the strip aspect and a bit more of a narrative to follow.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good size book to take with you everywhere, 25 Jan 2011
This review is from: Spanish a la Cartoon : 101 Hilarious Cartoons for Understanding Spanish Language and Culture (Paperback)
I'm Spanish and bought this book for my partner who is Scottish. The book has a very good size, not too big and light, so it's ideal to take with you wherever you want. I enjoy reading the cartoons myself :) and I like the fact that there're cartoons from very well known writers, from all different Spanish speaking countries.
I would recommend it if you already know some basics. Good for beginers or intermediate students who want to read something and have fun too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not hilarious, not brilliantly helpful for learners, 17 Feb 2014
By 
maharGharaS (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish a la Cartoon : 101 Hilarious Cartoons for Understanding Spanish Language and Culture (Paperback)
As another viewer has mentioned, these cartoons are not very clearly printed, making it difficult to photocopy them. The Spanish is sometimes from Latin America, which is fine in itself, but which doesn't sit well with the peninsular Spanish I am teaching. Some of the punchlines rely on understanding a word which my students would never be exposed to. As a school teacher of GCSE and A level Spanish, I didn't find this book particularly helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spanish Cartoons, 4 Jan 2014
By 
H. D. Morton-abbott (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish a la Cartoon : 101 Hilarious Cartoons for Understanding Spanish Language and Culture (Paperback)
A gift for my mum to share and have a few laughs along the way. Very rare to find these things for a Spanish native so a great gift - the gift of laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present., 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish a la Cartoon : 101 Hilarious Cartoons for Understanding Spanish Language and Culture (Paperback)
Bought for a fellow student of our spanish group. He enjoyed this book very much and read some of it to the class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting extension to my Spanish lessons, 28 Jan 2011
By 
Dave C (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish a la Cartoon : 101 Hilarious Cartoons for Understanding Spanish Language and Culture (Paperback)
The cartoons provide a framework to hang some explanations of Spanish language and culture. I read the book cover to cover for relaxation and enjoyed it very much. Without the cartoons, this would have been the world's driest text book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny!, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. M. C. De Lopez "sunny smile" (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spanish a la Cartoon : 101 Hilarious Cartoons for Understanding Spanish Language and Culture (Paperback)
I love this book, it's really funny and it covers a broad spectrum of authors and countries. I was recommended it by a colleague to use with top sets and A level students, and I would strongly recommend it to others myself! It is particularly good to illustrate topics covered in A level,as a reading comprehension or a way to explain/understand culture. The explanations and translations are accurate and helpful. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 16 July 2009
By 
Mr. C. James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spanish a la Cartoon : 101 Hilarious Cartoons for Understanding Spanish Language and Culture (Paperback)
The jokes are dreadful , mostly silly , or just dull .
The pictures are not very clearly reproduced .
And there's not that much actual Spanish in the whole book .
Main problem is that a simple joke doesn't necessarily mean 'simple Spanish ' .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7da40fc)

This product

Spanish a la Cartoon : 101 Hilarious Cartoons for Understanding Spanish Language and Culture
Ģ4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews