Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars13
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2004
It says that it's for beginners, but it's really for people who've completed a 'beginners' course, because all the clues are in German. If you're not good at crosswords in English, there's no reason that you'll be good at them in German just because they're "Easy". A ridiculous number of words in the clues aren't in my pocket dictionary because of the verb endings, which wouldn't be a problem if I wasn't a beginner & had got to grips with grammer already.
Titles include:
Vornamen, Der Kalender, Das Klassenzimmer, Mahlzeiten, Weihnachten, und Geographie.
Very much aimed at people studying German at school, and therefore doesn't test you on your skills of getting served at a resturant, but instead tests you on what cows eat. Still, it's good practice all the same.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
Bought this to entertain an adult intermediate group and it's about right for them if the puzzles are selected appropriately. On a quick look through after receipt I discovered two errors, one in spelling (which of course affects the crossword!) and another in grammar - not a good example for students. Haven't had time yet to go through with a fine tooth comb, as I suspect there may be more mistakes, but I shall be very circumspect in which puzzles I use!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2012
This is a fun way to help learners (probably best if improver/intermediate level) to practice the language and improve vocabulary. Well recommended. (A pity that it seems to be the only one of its kind as far as I can see from searching Amazon and the internet, although their are some websites with similar crossword puzzles and other wordgames. )
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
This is a great way to make language learning an enjoyable mission! I m a German native speaker and the book is for my American husband. But even I m trying to solve the questions, some of them can be a bit hard though for non natives, but I guess that is the whole point?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Has some good puzzles and students really liked a different way to learn/reinforce vocab learning. You do need to photo copy the famous German names list though as they are inserted quite randomly into the puzzles.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
Crosswords are a useful way to learn vocabulary. But these puzzles are not very good as crosswords - too many words connect in only one place. Most of the clues are timeless, but some are far out of date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Have been looking for a crossword book for Kid's but got this, out of date and much too hard, I hoped it would help with my learning German but to be honest it is put away because it is too date
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
speedy delivery - interesting and useful puzzles ,over a range of designated topics.Useful learning tool ,but often difficult to solve based on clues given -wish there were more available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
This book offered enough challenges to be satisfying and at the same time it was not demoralising. I should like it to have been longer however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
Superb idea for a Christmas pressent for someone studying German.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)