Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
Viscount Lucas "Luc" Westmore was the last man known to see Lady Sybil alive. Sybil had tried to entrap Luc into marriage and failed. She desperately admitted to being pregnant by a married man and need to wed quickly. Lucas promised to help her find a husband within the next two weeks. However, only two days later Sybil was found dead in the Thames, seemingly by suicide...
Published on 24 Feb 2004 by Detra Fitch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too graphic with the sex scenes
I enjoyed the basic storyline of Bliss and Luc but found the graphic sex scenes were over the top, I am not a prude and I do appreciate he was supposed to be rake and a rogue but could we leave something to the imagination please !!
Published 5 months ago by Jody


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 24 Feb 2004
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Rogue (Mass Market Paperback)
Viscount Lucas "Luc" Westmore was the last man known to see Lady Sybil alive. Sybil had tried to entrap Luc into marriage and failed. She desperately admitted to being pregnant by a married man and need to wed quickly. Lucas promised to help her find a husband within the next two weeks. However, only two days later Sybil was found dead in the Thames, seemingly by suicide. Filled with remorse, Lucas made a vow of celibacy to last for one year. He left London for Cornwall, the small village of St. Ives, and found himself in the middle of smugglers.
Bliss Hartley was the daughter of a squire. Her father was ill and Bliss, along with everyone else in the village, turned to smuggling for money. She only wanted to make enough to take her father to a specialist in London. But there was a traitor within the smugglers ranks.
I must skip much here. The author has placed many surprises in this little village for her readers. To tell any more would give SO MUCH away. Therefore, let us fast forward.
Bliss and Luc marry and return to London. It became obvious that the talk of Lady Sybil's death had not yet ceased. Bliss was faced with trusting her husband, though he still kept a few secrets from her and had bluntly informed her not to expect him to remain faithful to her. Lucas did not believe he was in love with Bliss and kept trying to put distance between them.
***** I did NOT want to see this series end. Each Rogue's story has touched my heart, but this one even more so than the others. Bliss and Lucas are so well matched. I would say that I will miss them, but I know I will be rereading this story again very soon. All three in this series have been placed on my "Keeper" shelf. The author, Connie Mason, has proven that she is a gifted story teller, especially in the Regency era.
Word has it that the author's next release will be in November 2004, titled "THE PIRATE PRINCE". Though it will not be set in London, (Perhaps the author can be persuaded to return to London again in the near future.) I look forward to the next adventure. Highly recommended reading once again! *****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too graphic with the sex scenes, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rogue (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the basic storyline of Bliss and Luc but found the graphic sex scenes were over the top, I am not a prude and I do appreciate he was supposed to be rake and a rogue but could we leave something to the imagination please !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rogue (Kindle Edition)
Loved it loved it loved it 5 stars great characters good storyline fast paced a page turner read all 3 rogue stories great ms mason has done it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Series going down hill!, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rogue (Kindle Edition)
Sadly, this series seems to be deteriorating as it goes on. The writing has become stilted and the characters inconsistent and unbelievable. Luc's reaction to the initial stimulus of Lady Sybil's death in the Prologue, seems OTT and not in keeping with what the reader knows of him from earlier books. Then, having started to revert to type, about halfway through the books, he changes again, as if someone has flipped a switch. There are also unconvincing, if less extreme, variations in the heroine's character.

The other failing that has also got worse as the series progressed is the matter if historical veracity. In the first book, the errors were a bit annoying but not too serious. In the second, the main departure from fact was necessary to the success of the plot, whether it was done knowingly or not. In this book, the errors seem more like carelessness. I've highlighted two below.

Until 1837, when the Marriage Act (1936) came into force, all marriages in England had to be performed in a church, though there were special arrangements for Jews and Quakers. Thus, a civil wedding performed by a magistrate in 1820 would not be legal. Furthermore, the impression that a Special Licence could simply be bought on the spur of the moment from some unstated, but apparently easily and quickly accessible source is completely false.

There is also a scene in which Luc and Ram have both "parked" their carriages, apparently with no-one present to look after their horses. While gentlemen did drive out without a groom or tiger on occasion, if they had to leave the carriage for any reason, it would be necessary to hire someone to hold the horses while they awaited the return of their owner. London in the 1820s was a big city, not a quiet country village, so the idea of simply "parking" a carriage and then walking away is blatantly ridiculous. The risk of valuable horses being stolen, or maybe being startled and causing an accident in their panic, would have simply been too high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rogue (Kindle Edition)
Great book, even better that it was free. Couldn't put it down. Took me all of a day to read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit lack luster, 7 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Last Rogue (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the book overall but felt the characters were under developed and I found it difficult to care about them; which normally isn't a problem for me when i get engrossed in a romance. I'm a huge fan of Sabrina Jeffries and kresley Coles structure and development of stories and didn't feel that this book rated as good. I can see where the author was trying to go but I question the level of passion and devotion put into writing the story that makes it absorbing for the reader; the sex content seemed mechanical at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book well worth the read, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rogue (Kindle Edition)
This book held my interest all the way to the end. It is well written and I got into the story immediately. Couldn't put it down. Well done to the author Connie Mason. Would certainly buy her books again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous read, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rogue (Kindle Edition)
A fabulous read couldn't put it down, if you like to read and be in the story this is the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Last Rogue, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rogue (Kindle Edition)
This was fantastic value for a free book, my only brickbat is that it went on just a tad too much. Other than that a good story, good characters and a good pulp fiction read. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Rogue
The Last Rogue by Connie Mason (Mass Market Paperback - April 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews