Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red [1995]
~ While out fly fishing, old man Avery Ludlow hears them walking through the woods towards the river. Three teenagers out for a stroll. Seemingly harmless. He can smell the gun oil, sense that something is not right. A confrontation ensues and Ludlow's dog, Red, is mercilessly gunned down by the leader of the trio. Now he is out for justice, for he can only see the blood...
Published on 16 Nov 2007 by Ghost

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did little for me! Is this really horror?
Well for those of you who do not want to know the story....look away now....and for the rest of you this is the synopsis! Old man fishing with dog, bad boys approach, dog shot, old man seeks out bad boys..gun battle ensues...old man survives but learns he has cancer and will die in the not to distant future...cue music..and fade...I found this poorly written with a tried,...
Published 16 months ago by RT Twinem


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red [1995], 16 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red (Paperback)
~ While out fly fishing, old man Avery Ludlow hears them walking through the woods towards the river. Three teenagers out for a stroll. Seemingly harmless. He can smell the gun oil, sense that something is not right. A confrontation ensues and Ludlow's dog, Red, is mercilessly gunned down by the leader of the trio. Now he is out for justice, for he can only see the blood of his beloved dog. He can only see RED ~

It is very rare that a book this powerful is produced from an author associated with the genre of horror and suspense. But then Jack Ketchum's books are all powerful ~ see The Girl Next Door, Only Child, Right to Life ~ and each contain subject matter both horrific and true to everday life.

'Red' is no exception. Jack convincingly tackles the subject of animal cruelty here, conveying the horror of a crime that occurs all over the world and yet is considered - through the eyes of the authorities, at least - as a minor offence, not being deemed worthy of harsh punishment or equally worthy of man hours. For animals are lesser creatures, right? They don't understand pain and abuse, right? Wrong. And this is what 'Red' is all about. The relentless determination of one old man - who has lost his life-long partner, his wife - to bring the three teenagers to justice, make them understand that what they have done is wrong.

As usual, Jack's writing is sharp and concise, no wasted words, and the result is a slim book of around two hundred pages - two hundred pages of some of the best prose you'll ever encounter. I finished this book in a morning and started reading it again that night. The characters are well written, especially Ludlow. You really feel for the guy throughout the book, but he keeps pushing and pushing, despite the obstacles he encounters. The violence escalates as the novel progresses, this time understandable violence that is born out of justifiable anger. Ludlow has lost everything: his wife, his sons, his past. His dog was all he could call 'family'. Now he is alone once more, left wondering 'why?'.

Tense, violent and ultimately sad, RED will remain with you for a long time.

Matt Lee-Williams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good thriller, 8 Feb 2007
By 
P. N. Hussey "pnh77" (Haywards Heath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red (and bonus novella 'The Traveller') (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a very different book to the last Ketchum novel I read, The Girl Next Door, in the sense that it is less violent and brutal but still a very well written and entertaining book. The brief story moves along at a fast pace, without ever feeling rushed, as the violence in it escalates to the final denouement. The bonus short story, The Passenger, is equally good, giving us a nightmare car journey filled with rape and murder and some very dark comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!, 7 Feb 2007
By 
The Owler (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red (and bonus novella 'The Traveller') (Mass Market Paperback)
A darned good read. The premise of the book follows the action of an old gent who is accosted by a couple of kids whilst fishing. They decide to shoot the guy's trusty old hound 'Red'; just for fun. Our lead finds out who they are, and tries to bring them to justice by informing the authorities. However, this amounts to nothing, so he decides to dish out his own brand of retribution.

Not as bloody or gory as some of Mr Ketchums other novels (see Off Season), this is still an excellent tale. He really gets you rooting for our hero, whilst he constantly faces adversity from the non-repentant teenagers and their families, and reluctant apathy from the authorities. However, being a Jack Ketcum book, you know he will get justice in the end. But at what cost? Brilliant.

The bonus tale 'The Traveller' is also very good, featuring a lot more of the casual, sadistic violence you might expect. Slightly peculiar ending - I wonder if 'safe-houses' like that really exist? Still pretty good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did little for me! Is this really horror?, 8 Mar 2013
By 
RT Twinem "freeloader" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red (Paperback)
Well for those of you who do not want to know the story....look away now....and for the rest of you this is the synopsis! Old man fishing with dog, bad boys approach, dog shot, old man seeks out bad boys..gun battle ensues...old man survives but learns he has cancer and will die in the not to distant future...cue music..and fade...I found this poorly written with a tried, tested and somewhat boring revenge theme with one rather odd exception...about a third of the way through our hero..the old man Ludlow has a meeting with a young impressionable good looking reporter Carrie Donnel who for some inexplicable reason decides she wants to bed Ludlow. (I'm a young verile mid 50's guy, but I don't see many young women trying to jump my bones!! :) I was sure the reporter might have an ulterior ie find out about Ludlow's rather sad past (his murdering son) and then publish publish this story...no way she just fancied jumping into bed with the old man. I just do not know what the purpose of this storyline was just added to the overall poor impression that I had of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red: Ketchum's triumphantly best work, 1 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Red (and bonus novella 'The Traveller') (Mass Market Paperback)
One of Jack Ketchum's best and my personal favorite. After I read the book I told myself it would make a great movie and low and behold they did. Avery Allan Ludlow watches helplessly as his dog, Red, is brutally killed right in front of his eyes. It's the kind of scene that makes your blood boil, especially if you are a dog owner and wonder what you would do under the same circumstances. Despite what has happened, Avery only wants justice and for the teenagers responsible to be punished for what they have done. But the father of the teen who pulled the trigger will protect his son at all costs forcing Avery to fight for what is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red (and bonus novella 'The Traveller')
Red (and bonus novella 'The Traveller') by Jack Ketchum (Mass Market Paperback - Aug 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews